PDA

View Full Version : MW3 Blurred Textures Fix


Mother Goose
11-11-2011, 03:05 PM
If your textures seem blurred, make sure you set "Image Quality" in Advanced Video Menu to "Native". Cheers.

Before. (http://i.imgur.com/2yikI.jpg)
After. (http://i.imgur.com/JFgpd.jpg)

Mother Goose
11-11-2011, 03:23 PM
Ping Bar Fix Here (http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2226203)

Nutlink
11-11-2011, 04:04 PM
Thank you! I thought it was just me or something wrong with my rig, but that definitely fixed it. Looks infinitely better now!

juniorkolle
11-11-2011, 04:34 PM
Thank YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mgp
11-11-2011, 05:33 PM
Seriously- this had me perplexed for the first day or 2.

I was starting to believe they(IW) cared that little about the PC version that they just used a console resolution (1024x768 or whatever consoles use) and stretched it out!

Which is exactly what 'extra' under 'image quality' in advanced video options is.

Funny thing is IW games have used 'extra' as the best image quality since cod 2.

Few people would know to use 'Native'

But yeh use Native.....

Grinspoon
11-11-2011, 07:13 PM
Wow, yeah I was totally confused as to why the games graphics looked kind of soft. Didn't know if it was tweaks to the engine or what! I guess this explains it. Thanks!

Brinkman
11-11-2011, 08:18 PM
Life saver!

Mother Goose
11-11-2011, 08:23 PM
Took me a while to figure it out, and the Steam forums were down during MW3 release, annoying bug indeed.

Brinkman
11-11-2011, 08:35 PM
I'm wondering what that setting actually does. I mean it took a blurry game and made it crisp.

Mother Goose
11-11-2011, 08:40 PM
I'm wondering what that setting actually does. I mean it took a blurry game and made it crisp.

Developers have royally goofed up. They took a crisp game and made it blurry.

Mgp
11-12-2011, 12:01 AM
I'm wondering what that setting actually does. I mean it took a blurry game and made it crisp.


This explains it pretty much.



www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,853619/Modern-Warfare-3-PC-Much-better-image-quality-without-console-upscaling/News/

Mother Goose
11-12-2011, 12:36 AM
Great link.

Ojojojoj
11-12-2011, 03:27 AM
I'm wondering what that setting actually does. I mean it took a blurry game and made it crisp.

it makes the game run on your monitors resolution, the resolution setting is just a scam without the Native setting. And the only explanation I have is that they don't want it to look better then the Xbox and that feels really bad.

Freyar
11-12-2011, 03:28 AM
it makes the game run on your monitors resolution, the resolution setting is just a scam without the Native setting. And the only explanation I have is that they don't want it to look better then the Xbox and that feels really bad.

That or it's an internal setting that was left-over from the port.

Maximusya
11-12-2011, 05:21 AM
Oh LAUL! Big Thanks to You, Man! Now the Jeans do look like Jeans - and not like blue material!

I Like Ponies
11-12-2011, 12:57 PM
Good find.

Citizen Goat
11-12-2011, 01:38 PM
Oooh, so that's what native means... +1 rep :)

Maximusya
11-12-2011, 02:00 PM
Rate this thread so that it is easily noticeable

mthe1337one
11-12-2011, 02:29 PM
If only mods, or whoever manages this forum, would sticky this. I, like most people, would NEVER have thought to try out the Native image quality setting until I ran across this thread. Ah well... bumping for great justice.

Brinkman
11-12-2011, 02:39 PM
I played through the whole game without "native" :o

Time to give it another go

GreenHawk84
11-12-2011, 03:43 PM
So my question is what do the other detail levels do? If EXTRA looks like LOW then whats the point? I thought extra was suppose to be even better than anything else? Wierd. Is it broken or not?

I turned it to native and it looks like it should. Thanks for the heads up.

Infinity7
11-12-2011, 03:46 PM
If only mods, or whoever manages this forum, would sticky this. I, like most people, would NEVER have thought to try out the Native image quality setting until I ran across this thread. Ah well... bumping for great justice.

Here's some more tweaks in this other thread:
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2225829

Mgp
11-12-2011, 04:39 PM
If only mods, or whoever manages this forum, would sticky this. I, like most people, would NEVER have thought to try out the Native image quality setting until I ran across this thread. Ah well... bumping for great justice.


So very true since IW have used 'extra' as top image setting since cod 2 anyone, including me, would set their image quality to 'extra' . I did for 2 days and was amazed why everyone was not complaining more about the graphics.

Then I set it to 'Native' and wow what a difference. I am actually sure some of the reviews, gamespy for instance when they said, and I quote:

" I cranked the video settings to max on my mid-range rig, and once I started playing, I actually went back to the options menu to make sure my changes had been saved. They had". unquote.

Makes me think they did not know either lol. It actually looks pretty damn good in it's own like it or not unique cod way. running at max set to native @ 1920x1080.

Mgp
11-12-2011, 06:34 PM
bump. important info.

Mother Goose
11-13-2011, 11:16 AM
Bump.

USSR | shaGuar
11-13-2011, 11:24 AM
awesome man +rep. I was kinda disappointed at graphics but this cleared it up!!!

Harrdy
11-13-2011, 11:26 AM
running at max set to native @ 1920x1080

screenshot would be appreciated :)

Mysteria9
11-13-2011, 11:40 AM
Thanks a million! +Rep for you sir!

seyss
11-15-2011, 12:40 PM
The textures are still blurred. Just stare at any wall and you'll see.

This game is a ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ recompilation from a console with ♥♥♥♥ty textures.

Harrdy
11-15-2011, 12:48 PM
Unfortunately it is true. MW2 was way better in terms of textures/anti-aliasing.

Internal_energy
04-08-2012, 07:43 PM
The contrary!
In my computer, setting Native makes the texture quality better but make them blurry. setting Extra make the texture quality lower than Native, but doesn't result in blurry textures. furthermore, my FPS greatly and unreasonably gets lowered.

Can anyone help me? Please.

Infinity7
04-24-2012, 10:14 AM
If your textures seem blurred, make sure you set "Image Quality" in Advanced Video Menu to "Native". Cheers.

Before. (http://i.imgur.com/2yikI.jpg)
After. (http://i.imgur.com/JFgpd.jpg)

There's something else you can do to make the textures sharper too if you have a NVidia card. Use NVidia Inspector and put Texture Filtering Negative LOD Bias to "Allow" rather than "Clamp" then change Texture Filtering LOD Bias value to "-3.0". Negative values make textures sharper.

>GSXR<mrbusa
04-24-2012, 03:21 PM
its funny how negative lod bias is still relevant in a game released in 2011.
allot of people dont use this feature because inspector has it greyed if you are running vista or 7.

is there even a game out yet that can take full advantage of dx11 runtimes.

i know for a fact that even some of the most popular "supposed highly detailed" dx9 games dont even use all the dx9 api's they could be.

it all comes down to lazy devs and consoles being the number one priority.

Infinity7
04-24-2012, 06:25 PM
its funny how negative lod bias is still relevant in a game released in 2011.
allot of people dont use this feature because inspector has it greyed if you are running vista or 7.

is there even a game out yet that can take full advantage of dx11 runtimes.

i know for a fact that even some of the most popular "supposed highly detailed" dx9 games dont even use all the dx9 api's they could be.

it all comes down to lazy devs and consoles being the number one priority.

Even though it's greyed out the setting still works in Win7.

>GSXR<mrbusa
04-24-2012, 06:56 PM
Even though it's greyed out the setting still works in Win7.
yes i know because it is a dx9 game

Smile286
04-25-2012, 01:51 AM
Funny thing about Negative LOD Bias is... big positive value like 10 or 15 :) You can decrease graphics a lot with this, even some brushes will disappear.