PDA

View Full Version : Skyrim Textures not loading correctly.


ShaunJ1380
11-12-2011, 10:31 PM
My textures look like complete butt half the time. (I'm running on high but ultra makes no difference)

Screen shots I see from other people look awesome.

Look at this "fur" armor. Does it really look this bad or is my game not loading the textures right? It can't be right. Other peoples screen shots look awesome and detailed. Also, sometimes during a loading screen when it shows a deer or creature it just looks like a glossy detail-less turd.

http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/614968383284712914/2C097843991E2F737CAA5BC4841173A4DCD570D1/

Also, notice the gloves have detail. The rest is just a blob of "fur"

I have tried checking the integrity of the steam files, and I have also deleted the ini files and let the game recreate them. I don't know what else to do?

Chris 2
11-12-2011, 10:45 PM
My textures look like complete butt half the time. (I'm running on high but ultra makes no difference)

Screen shots I see from other people look awesome.

Look at this "fur" armor. Does it really look this bad or is my game not loading the textures right? It can't be right. Other peoples screen shots look awesome and detailed. Also, sometimes during a loading screen when it shows a deer or creature it just looks like a glossy detail-less turd.

http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/61...173A4DCD570D1/

Also, notice the gloves have detail. The rest is just a blob of "fur"

I have tried checking the integrity of the steam files, and I have also deleted the ini files and let the game recreate them. I don't know what else to do?

Can't see your link however do you have object fade and FXAA turn on? If so that is your problem right there. It look so ugly at first until i started to play around with the graphic option.

ShaunJ1380
11-12-2011, 10:55 PM
Sorry messed up the link. Try now.

I don't know if I have those on. I'll check.

I checked. I do not have those turned on.

Chris 2
11-12-2011, 11:08 PM
Sorry messed up the link. Try now.

I don't know if I have those on. I'll check.

I checked. I do not have those turned on.

Not having those turn on is a good thing, let me check your picture and I'll get back to you.

Nope my doesn't look like that at all

Chris 2
11-12-2011, 11:15 PM
here is mine:

http://i42.tinypic.com/s111yo.jpg

ShaunJ1380
11-12-2011, 11:18 PM
I have tried everything I can think of. I think perhaps that it's a mobile radeon issue. I know of 3 others people having the same problem and we all own Alienware m15x laptops with mobile 5850 cards in them.

Chris 2
11-12-2011, 11:19 PM
I have tried everything I can think of. I think perhaps that it's a mobile radeon issue. I know of 3 others people having the same problem and we all own Alienware m15x laptops with mobile 5850 cards in them.

Just curious, did you get my picture? I wasn't sure if I uploaded right. It could be an AMD issue but that pretty whack even for them.

I have a Nvidia 580m (laptop) graphic card if that help. Also did you go into advance setting in your graphic option?

ShaunJ1380
11-12-2011, 11:23 PM
Just curious, did you get my picture? I wasn't sure if I uploaded right. It could be an AMD issue but that pretty whack even for them.

I have a Nvidia 580m (laptop) graphic card if that help. Also did you go into advance setting in your graphic option?

I got your picture. I wish my armor looked like that!

I did go into advanced and I have tried about every possible combination I could think of.

Chris 2
11-12-2011, 11:25 PM
I got your picture. I wish my armor looked like that!

I did go into advanced and I have tried about every possible combination I could think of.

That picture I show you is not as good as my in game because it not display in 1080P and that picture was with the basic FOV to show you up close the armor.

If you need any more screenshot for clarification just let me know. I'll be happy to help.

I can't think of why your graphic is so well craptastic but it could be due to a number of reason so keep on trying. Now that you know the graphic don't look like that, at least it give you some hope.

I hope I was able to help some.

ShaunJ1380
11-12-2011, 11:27 PM
Thanks. I'm reinstalling the game right now. I figured I have tried everything but that. Maybe I'll get lucky.

Chris 2
11-12-2011, 11:31 PM
Thanks. I'm reinstalling the game right now. I figured I have tried everything but that. Maybe I'll get lucky.

Let me know what you find and good luck!

Oh yeah before I forgot to mention make sure your graphic card is up to date with the latest driver.

ShaunJ1380
11-12-2011, 11:32 PM
I tried the latest driver and I rolled back for poops and grins. No luck.

titomagnum
11-12-2011, 11:36 PM
did you check your catalyst control center?, see if you have the catalyst AI turned on and turn it off, and Mipmap Detail Level to quality. Hope it works

n050up4u
11-12-2011, 11:41 PM
im wondering what hardware OP is using in the first place.

ShaunJ1380
11-12-2011, 11:43 PM
im wondering what hardware OP is using in the first place.

I thought I mentioned it but perhaps I didn't

Intel Core i7-820QM Processor
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5850
Memory 8192 MB

It plays BF3 on high fairly well.

ShaunJ1380
11-13-2011, 12:15 AM
did you check your catalyst control center?, see if you have the catalyst AI turned on and turn it off, and Mipmap Detail Level to quality. Hope it works


You rock!!

That fixed it. Thanks. :)

ShaunJ1380
11-13-2011, 12:24 AM
Here is what I look like now. :)

http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/614968439072804923/FFC217492D81D5B7580D9E9991230B6971993310/

KirkyDaTurkey
11-13-2011, 12:53 AM
I thought I mentioned it but perhaps I didn't

Intel Core i7-820QM Processor
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5850
Memory 8192 MB

It plays BF3 on high fairly well.

Yea bro it's an AMD problem. My AMD card isn't even that great and I run BF3 on High/Ultra settings-looks amazing.
Sadly Skyrim is not working the way it is supposed to...why am I finding these graphical problems more frequently lately with PC games? really makes me sad :(

KirkyDaTurkey
11-13-2011, 12:58 AM
I thought I mentioned it but perhaps I didn't

Intel Core i7-820QM Processor
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5850
Memory 8192 MB

It plays BF3 on high fairly well.

I have AMD Radeon HD 6770m and I have the same problem man. BF3 looks amazing, skyrim looks like poop. What I find weird is how whether its on low or ultra settings for me, the game ends up looking the same when I play it. Clearly something is wrong. Hoping AMD will fix this within the next couple days.

Chris 2
11-13-2011, 12:58 AM
Here is what I look like now. :)

http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/614968439072804923/FFC217492D81D5B7580D9E9991230B6971993310/

Awesome mate! That look a lot like my graphic even though I still think it the ugliest graphic of any game recently, sigh.

KirkyDaTurkey
11-13-2011, 12:59 AM
Here is what I look like now. :)

http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/614968439072804923/FFC217492D81D5B7580D9E9991230B6971993310/

what'd you change in the CCC to get it looking like that?

ShaunJ1380
11-13-2011, 09:37 AM
what'd you change in the CCC to get it looking like that?

Look back on page one of the thread. Someone suggested turning Catalyst AI off and mipmapping to quality. That made everything look good.

Awesome mate! That look a lot like my graphic even though I still think it the ugliest graphic of any game recently, sigh.

It seems like they skimped on PC textures all around. Modding community will fix that at least. That's why we are PC gamers! :)

HayzeMT
11-13-2011, 12:47 PM
AFAIK A.I shouldn't affect graphics in any way, it's the mipmapping quality which changes.