PDA

View Full Version : ATI user


Rad-86
11-14-2011, 03:49 AM
I pretty much have same results on any setting.. right now im running the ultra preset with shadows on high, which give me extra 5fps
but nevertheless i still get 20-25fps at a particular angle standing next to the gate watching towards the direction where college of bards is...

Task manager is telling me that overall max processor load is no more than 60%.. all 4 cores are used rather evenly, which im happy for at least

but what bothers me is the gpu... i have default vsync on btw
outside of cities and in dungeons, i get anything from 45fps in bad weather to constant 60 in most cases, while GPUZ says graphic card LOAD is max 90%(avg 70%).. FINE

in cities however the framerate goes down to 20-35(with ultra shadows it can even drop to 15fps... at first i thought theres way too much stuff in cities for my gpu/cpu to handle it all.. but GPUZ shows LOAD at max 50%(avg 35%) ONLY!

catalyst 11.10

Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)
Language: Czech (Regional Setting: Czech)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: P35-DS3
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9400 @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4094MB RAM
Page File: 3064MB used, 5122MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode

Card name: AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x6738)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6738&SUBSYS_174B174B&REV_00
Display Memory: 2803 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1012 MB
Shared Memory: 1791 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Model: SMS24A350H
Monitor Id: SAM07D6
Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)
Output Type: HDMI
Driver Name: aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,at icfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64 .dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a. cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1099 (English)
Driver Version: 8.902.0.0
DDI Version: 11
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 10/12/2011 21:13:00, 867328 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp:
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-2478-11CF-B070-4137BEC2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x6738
SubSys ID: 0x174B174B
Revision ID: 0x0000

Rautapalli
11-14-2011, 04:18 AM
Reading the Bethesda forums it seems like almost everyone is having this problem, NVIDIA users too. I guess it's something Bethesda has to look into.

amirfoox
11-14-2011, 04:38 AM
That's because you have a 6800 series and trying to play on a 1920X1080 resolution.

Even a 6870 might have a bit of a problem on this resolution with all the games' bells and whistles on, let alone if you have a 6850. As you've noticed, shadows will bring what's left of your FPS down.

I also have a 4GB of RAM and an even worse CPU than you ( I7-860 ), but I have a 5870, which is better than the 6870 (although from a previous generation), and even I only play it on a 1680X1050 resolution. Luckily, it goes 100% smooth on max settings.

So basically - try scaling down your resolution and see how it goes.

Rad-86
11-14-2011, 05:16 AM
amirfoox: i have the same fps at 720p... its bad optimization
i7 is not worse than my cpu.. but anyway not really better either - YORKFIELD6M-manufactured aug2008 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Core_2_microprocessors#.22Yorkfield-6M.22_.2845_nm.29)
6800series means.. 6830-6850-6870
i have an overclocked 6870 fyi
you talking about bells and whistles, i dont really think you have anything to say here... sorry

also, having 0 or 8 times antialiasing doesnt have any performance impact... which is really weird, since in other games 2xAA can half your fps
and i checked- it really has nice edges on 4x+fxaa.. yet fps are the same

amirfoox
11-14-2011, 05:27 AM
Without getting into any pi**ing contests (I know that 6800 is 6830-70, sheesh), all I can say is that it's weird. I have very similar specs, yet the game runs superbly on my machine with 8x AA and AF *knock on wood*.

So it's not an optimization issue, but rather something in your drivers or a setting your GPU just doesn't like. Vsync, perhaps?

Rad-86
11-14-2011, 05:34 AM
ney... with vsync off i have the same framerate, only difference is the screen tearing which im not willing to look at... the game is perfectly playable outside and in dungeons, but in towns fps goes down... and it must be related to the low gpu load during town parts that im seeing... i have no idea whether its ati driver or the game itself is somehow broken... maybe both?!
played 30hrs of it already... and im not going to stop playing, its just these fps drops are annoying, at least they dont happen during fights

kitsunestrife
11-14-2011, 05:35 AM
Try setting your CCC to use application setting where available.

amirfoox
11-14-2011, 05:41 AM
Oh, that's right, kitsunestrife! Not bad.

Rad, Are you enabling the AA and AF on the your Catalyst Control Center? Then deactivate those and let the game handle it via its settings. Also, try lowering down your AA mode a notch (try 'box' and go from there) and remove your super-sampling, if you're using it, and check again.

Some games really don't react well to these driver tweaks. One such tweak caused half of the clothes on other characters in my game to appear invisible until I deactivated every driver setting and just let the game handle what it needs.

Tonester0011
11-14-2011, 05:46 AM
I have pretty much the same issue, only i have a 6970 @stock 8gb ram with a 1100T.

I play with the settings the game set for me (maxed) 60fps in dungeons, 60fps outside but when i go into the cities i get <40 then sudden drops <20.

Actually turned AA off, changed ultra to high but still the same :L

amirfoox
11-14-2011, 06:02 AM
Can you post a screenshot (or just type the settings and their values) of your Catalyst Control Center settings?

We have to find the common denomenator here ;)

Rad-86
11-14-2011, 06:09 AM
i have everything on default in my catalyst

Tonester0011: yes AA makes no change in fps, so why not using it

Lunacide
11-14-2011, 06:15 AM
I seem to be getting the exact opposite results of most people. I have a 6850, i5 2500k and 8 gigs of ram. Skyrim runs in Ultra at 1080p at a constant 60+ fps. I did turn off vsync using my graphics drivers though.

madpistol
11-14-2011, 06:53 AM
I seem to be getting the exact opposite results of most people. I have a 6850, i5 2500k and 8 gigs of ram. Skyrim runs in Ultra at 1080p at a constant 60+ fps. I did turn off vsync using my graphics drivers though.

This game likes a fast CPU, and this proves it. My framerates @ ultra drop into the 40-30's in high detail areas, but for the most part, I'm pegged at 60 FPS @ 1920x1200. This is with a 5870, Phenom II X4 965 @ 4Ghz, 4GB DDR3, and Windows 7 64-bit.

The processor plays a very important role in this game. Keep that in mind.

Tonester0011
11-14-2011, 06:56 AM
Most other games i've played AA seems to kill your fps, just assumed this would be no different.

Here's some pictures of the CCC??? (says AMD Vison control centre for me)

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b257/muhammad69/pageone.png
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b257/muhammad69/pagetwo.png

Ridonk
11-14-2011, 06:59 AM
That's because you have a 6800 series and trying to play on a 1920X1080 resolution.

Even a 6870 might have a bit of a problem on this resolution with all the games' bells and whistles on, let alone if you have a 6850. As you've noticed, shadows will bring what's left of your FPS down.

I also have a 4GB of RAM and an even worse CPU than you ( I7-860 ), but I have a 5870, which is better than the 6870 (although from a previous generation), and even I only play it on a 1680X1050 resolution. Luckily, it goes 100% smooth on max settings.

So basically - try scaling down your resolution and see how it goes.

It's not his gfx card causing this problem (unless it is malfunctioning). I have a 5770oc and I'm running this game at 1080p on ultra with only the occasionally FPS drop. Avg is 30-40fps (which is fine with me, considering my card's life).

OP: I would recommend running CCleaner and installing Gamebooster to see if they have any effect on your FPS. Post your results :)

Draetor24
11-14-2011, 07:01 AM
I play on 1920x1080 on a 5870 Mobile chip. My frames can drop to 20-25 in cities or some areas when looking at a certain angle. Otherwise, I average 35-40 in most areas.

Anyway, I don't use AA at all. I find with a high def resolution, AA hurts more than helps, and I'm running 8x AF (this is still important), and High settings.

amirfoox
11-14-2011, 07:02 AM
Hmmm, try removing the 'AMD Optimized' check from Tessellation and check 'Use application settings', instead. Also, remove the 'Enable Surface Format Optimization' check under the Catalyst A.I.

I know this seems like too much, but I think that's what I did when I grew tired from the visual glitches in the game. Please try that and keep us updated.

Edit: good to know you guys run the game so nicely even on that resolution using your hardware. My mistake, then, this actually proves the game is more optimized than I thought.

Rad-86
11-14-2011, 07:33 AM
amirfoox: this is not a dx11, theres no tessellation in the game.. and ive already tried to play with the settings of catalyst AI..

https://twitter.com/#!/CatalystCreator/status/134750239713280001
https://twitter.com/#!/CatalystMaker/status/135008159885574145
...this could help.. thumbs up for tomorrow, i will do the CClean then also

Lavec
11-14-2011, 07:38 AM
ATI HD 5770 x 2, Ultra settings, 1080p, 40-60fps here. I have Catalyst 11.9 CAP 4. Good luck sorting out the issue as it should run fine for you.

Goldendog
11-14-2011, 07:46 AM
I am getting constant 60FPS everywhere. In towns, dungeons, in weather, etc.

ATI 6950 2Gb Crossfire @ 2560x1600
Core I7 Overclocked to 4.6Ghz
8Gb Ram
OCZ Vertex 3 120Gb Solid State Drive

I was getting 30-40 FPS until I turned off all AA and Filtering. Then I decreased the shadows (medium) and water reflections. Left everything else on high.

At 2560x1600, AA isn't necessary as the pixels are small enough that they don't look jagged.

Rad-86
11-14-2011, 07:57 AM
Goldendog: you mad.. superclocked i7 + 2x 6950, you should be able to run this game on ultra with 16aa in any resolution
kinda uncomparable to most of us here...

Dasos
11-14-2011, 08:49 AM
I think it's fairly evident that there's a problem with Bethesda's PC optimization of this game.
I face a similar problem to many of you, huge FPS dips in cities (and some dungeons).
With a PhenomII 965, a 560ti and plenty of RAM, I should be able to max out this game easy. I have to turn shadows to high to get playable frame rates in cities. (Although I am really picky about frames, if they drop below 30 I want to be sick :P)

When people like Goldendog have really high end rigs, and are having the same issues. When the GPU usage in cities is falling, it's clear that something isn't right.

Ridonk
11-14-2011, 05:21 PM
Goldendog: you mad.. superclocked i7 + 2x 6950, you should be able to run this game on ultra with 16aa in any resolution
kinda uncomparable to most of us here...

Actually, 2560x1600 will push even higher end cards. Games like Skyrim that have so much to draw push it even farther.