PDA

View Full Version : Questions for Arkham City owners on STEAM


FuuKuy
11-22-2011, 12:38 AM
So finally, how does the game handle achievements? Do you get TWO popups (STEAM achievement and GFWL achievement) when unlocking achievements?

Is there any option to download DLCs using STEAM Store or GFWL marketplace is mandatory?


Thanks.

TimM
11-22-2011, 12:43 AM
You get SEVEN pop ups!

btmowns
11-22-2011, 12:44 AM
dude dont worry about dlc bc the dlc is rip off just challenge maps stupid stuff and i beleave dlc is on gfwl marketplace not steam

peteed1985
11-22-2011, 12:55 AM
So finally, how does the game handle achievements? Do you get TWO popups (STEAM achievement and GFWL achievement) when unlocking achievements?

Is there any option to download DLCs using STEAM Store or GFWL marketplace is mandatory?


Thanks.

Game is not GFWL so I fail to see how you'd get GFWL achievements......

And since its not GFWL you most likely can't buy the DLC on GFWL marketplace either.

RedRobin
11-22-2011, 01:02 AM
Not using GFWL? Since when?

Azagathoth
11-22-2011, 01:09 AM
It is GFWL, anyone saying anything different is wrong. DLC is also available on GFWL.

trek554
11-22-2011, 01:11 AM
Game is not GFWL so I fail to see how you'd get GFWL achievements......

And since its not GFWL you most likely can't buy the DLC on GFWL marketplace either. obviously you do not have the game nor have you kept up with anything related to it. it most certainly uses GFWL and has DLC already there for marketplace purchase.

RedRobin
11-22-2011, 01:12 AM
There's a possibility of DLC being sold through Steam despite the game having the GFWL Marketplace. Look at Fallout 3!

HelixFC3S
11-22-2011, 01:14 AM
So finally, how does the game handle achievements? Do you get TWO popups (STEAM achievement and GFWL achievement) when unlocking achievements?

Yes .

FuuKuy
11-22-2011, 01:20 AM
Yes .

Thanks. Is there a way to disable GFWL popups?!

HelixFC3S
11-22-2011, 01:23 AM
Thanks. Is there a way to disable GFWL popups?!

I haven't tried, it doesn't really bother me. Maybe sign out of GFWL? I don't know.

trek554
11-22-2011, 01:23 AM
Thanks. Is there a way to disable GFWL popups?!yeah I would like to know too. I hate that kind of stuff in most games as it seems a bit childish.

k3Ck
11-22-2011, 01:38 AM
I haven't tried, it doesn't really bother me. Maybe sign out of GFWL? I don't know.

You have to be signed in to save.

peteed1985
11-22-2011, 01:44 AM
Its GFW not GFWL, was originally gunna be GFWL but they scrapped that, so many people just never kept up to date on the info and still think it is......

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2011-08-26-batman-arkham-city-not-gfwl

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2081010

http://hexus.net/gaming/news/pc/31555-no-gfwl-batman-arkham-city-steamworks-rumoured/

http://games.on.net/article/13573/Arkham_City_Will_Not_Require_Games_For_Windows_Liv e

http://n4g.com/news/831914/batman-arkham-city-will-not-be-a-gfwl-game

http://arkhamcity.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4700

http://www.reddit.com/r/gaming/comments/jv3hp/great_news_arkham_city_is_not_gfwl_title/

trek554 what say you now? :p and no I don't have the game lol its not out yet since with all the push backs the release date is the 26th here. But it seems I at least have kept more up to date than you who just jumps down the person telling the truths throat without knowing the truth or bothering to look into it.

coldalarm
11-22-2011, 01:53 AM
Its GFW not GFWL, was originally gunna be GFWL but they scrapped that, so many people just never kept up to date on the info and still think it is......
Pot calling the kettle black there, I'm afraid. Box shots and the Steam page, as well as GfWL Marketplace, confirm it is GfWL and not just GfW.

Rockworm
11-22-2011, 01:55 AM
Game is not GFWL so I fail to see how you'd get GFWL achievements......

And since its not GFWL you most likely can't buy the DLC on GFWL marketplace either.

Had to put my CD key into GFWL before they'd let me play.
Achievements pop up from Steam AND GFWL so ya totally not a GFWL game.
I'd still be playing but its getting really late and I'm tired and I have things I have to do tomorrow. But I'm coming right back to this when I got more free time.

trek554
11-22-2011, 01:56 AM
Its GFW not GFWL, was originally gunna be GFWL but they scrapped that, so many people just never kept up to date on the info and still think it is......

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2011-08-26-batman-arkham-city-not-gfwl

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2081010

http://hexus.net/gaming/news/pc/31555-no-gfwl-batman-arkham-city-steamworks-rumoured/

http://games.on.net/article/13573/Arkham_City_Will_Not_Require_Games_For_Windows_Liv e

http://n4g.com/news/831914/batman-arkham-city-will-not-be-a-gfwl-game

http://arkhamcity.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4700

http://www.reddit.com/r/gaming/comments/jv3hp/great_news_arkham_city_is_not_gfwl_title/

trek554 what say you now? :p and no I don't have the game lol its not out yet since with all the push backs the release date is the 26th here. But it seems I at least have kept more up to date than you who just jumps down the person telling the truths throat without knowing the truth or bothering to look into it.lol, I say you are even more clueless than I thought you were. the game is GFWL. you have to log into it which you do not have to do for non Live games.

peteed1985
11-22-2011, 01:57 AM
Pot calling the kettle black there, I'm afraid. Box shots and the Steam page, as well as GfWL Marketplace, confirm it is GfWL and not just GfW.

Yeah but thats cause Warner Bros fail because according to thier own website the PC Arkham city is already out and came out same day as the console one cause they were too lazy to update it. You replied to chew me out as I edited in alot of sites confirming it.

peteed1985
11-22-2011, 01:59 AM
lol, I say you are even more clueless than I thought you were. the game is GFWL. you have to log into it which you do not have to do for non Live games.

So many lieing game news sites then as well as Warner Bros who confirmed it with the news sites xD

scubs
11-22-2011, 01:59 AM
the game won't let you save unless you're logged into GFWL.

coldalarm
11-22-2011, 02:00 AM
So many lieing game news sites then as well as Warner Bros who confirmed it with the news sites xD
They weren't lying. There were miscommunications and rumours going around. Many sites confirmed that it WAS GfWL after that story.

trek554
11-22-2011, 02:01 AM
So many lieing game news sites then xD
thats because a few months ago there was a rumor it was dropped and people ran with it and many never edited or updated their info. those that kept up with the game found out it from Rocksteady themselves it was still going to be GFWL the day after that rumor went around.


http://www.vg247.com/2011/08/30/batman-arkham-city-pc-still-releasing-under-games-for-windows-live/

peteed1985
11-22-2011, 02:03 AM
thats because a few months ago there was a rumor it was dropped and people ran with it and many never edited or updated their info. those that kept up with the game found out it was still going to be GFWL the day after that rumor went around.

Yeah but Warner Bros confirmed it with eurogamer so it wasn't just a rumor it was the truth at the time.

Also lol that site says "Game’s out on October 18 in the US and October 21 in the UK for PC as well as 360 and PS3." So much fail on GFWL and release date for the game has been floating around that alot of us don't know what way up is anymore lol.

RedRobin
11-22-2011, 02:03 AM
Its GFW not GFWL, was originally gunna be GFWL but they scrapped that, so many people just never kept up to date on the info and still think it is......

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2011-08-26-batman-arkham-city-not-gfwl

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2081010

http://hexus.net/gaming/news/pc/31555-no-gfwl-batman-arkham-city-steamworks-rumoured/

http://games.on.net/article/13573/Arkham_City_Will_Not_Require_Games_For_Windows_Liv e

http://n4g.com/news/831914/batman-arkham-city-will-not-be-a-gfwl-game

http://arkhamcity.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4700

http://www.reddit.com/r/gaming/comments/jv3hp/great_news_arkham_city_is_not_gfwl_title/

trek554 what say you now? :p and no I don't have the game lol its not out yet since with all the push backs the release date is the 26th here. But it seems I at least have kept more up to date than you who just jumps down the person telling the truths throat without knowing the truth or bothering to look into it.

http://www.joystiq.com/2011/08/30/batman-arkham-city-is-supports-games-for-windows-live/

http://www.pcgamer.com/2011/08/30/batman-arkham-city-to-use-games-for-windows-live-after-all/

http://kotaku.com/5835711/batman-arkham-city-is-using-games-for-windows-live-boo

trek554
11-22-2011, 02:03 AM
Yeah but Warner Bros confirmed it with eurogamer so it wasn't just a rumor it was the truth at the time.I edited mt post if that matters.

FuuKuy
11-22-2011, 02:13 AM
Its GFW not GFWL, was originally gunna be GFWL but they scrapped that, so many people just never kept up to date on the info and still think it is......

The game IS GFWL. Check all the info in the OP:

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2081010

#DEADC0DE
11-22-2011, 03:03 AM
Its GFW not GFWL, was originally gunna be GFWL but they scrapped that, so many people just never kept up to date on the info and still think it is......

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2011-08-26-batman-arkham-city-not-gfwl

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2081010

http://hexus.net/gaming/news/pc/31555-no-gfwl-batman-arkham-city-steamworks-rumoured/

http://games.on.net/article/13573/Arkham_City_Will_Not_Require_Games_For_Windows_Liv e

http://n4g.com/news/831914/batman-arkham-city-will-not-be-a-gfwl-game

http://arkhamcity.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4700

http://www.reddit.com/r/gaming/comments/jv3hp/great_news_arkham_city_is_not_gfwl_title/

trek554 what say you now? :p and no I don't have the game lol its not out yet since with all the push backs the release date is the 26th here. But it seems I at least have kept more up to date than you who just jumps down the person telling the truths throat without knowing the truth or bothering to look into it.

I must laugh. Really, you're so laughable. I think this calls for a Riddler joke.

TheSlamma
11-22-2011, 06:17 AM
It's obvious who owns the game in this thread and who doesn't. The people posting who don't and are clearly wrong what is the drive for you to even post?

cmoyano
11-22-2011, 07:47 AM
the game DOES HAVE GFWL AND STEAMWORKS! wtf is this? come on..i hate gfwl with a passion and now i have to see two pop ups? absolutely ridiculous to go with two drms in one game. Steamworks is by far the best choice, my god.

Deathbringer660
11-22-2011, 07:48 AM
the game DOES HAVE GFWL AND STEAMWORKS! wtf is this? come on..i hate gfwl with a passion and now i have to see two pop ups? absolutely ridiculous to go with two drms in one game. Steamworks is by far the best choice, my god.

Auto-login = never have to see GFWL .

Marco11
11-22-2011, 09:08 AM
I gust want a dicrect answer for this two questions :


1: can i bought nightwing gfwl dlc and it will work on steam version of the game or no


2: is catwoman dlc inculded with steam version of the game or no


thanks alot..........

Deathbringer660
11-22-2011, 10:20 AM
I gust want a dicrect answer for this two questions :


1: can i bought nightwing gfwl dlc and it will work on steam version of the game or no


2: is catwoman dlc inculded with steam version of the game or no


thanks alot..........

1. Yes, since it connects via GFWL and checks for DLC

2. all pc versions have catwoman, its part of the game since it cant be sold used like console games.

Marco11
11-22-2011, 10:37 AM
1. Yes, since it connects via GFWL and checks for DLC

2. all pc versions have catwoman, its part of the game since it cant be sold used like console games.


Bro,, i know that catwoman has a main part of the game but what i mean is catwoman dlc like robin and nightwing ???

Deathbringer660
11-22-2011, 01:05 PM
Bro,, i know that catwoman has a main part of the game but what i mean is catwoman dlc like robin and nightwing ???

She's not in the main game unless you have DLC.