PDA

View Full Version : Flashing/Stuttering/Texture/Polygon problems solved for ATI cards?


EdEdit
12-11-2011, 05:18 AM
Hi there, just thought I'd pipe up to say I've solved all my glitch, flashing texture, stuttering and random polygons-growing-out-of-Cole's-head problems, thanks to this thread:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=354463

I have an XFX HD 5970 which should eat L.A. Noire alive...
I'm thinking this might help other ATI card users.

So, I'm running CCC 11.11.
I put the 10.6 dll in the folder (from the thread), renamed lanoire.exe to fear.exe (to use the Fear CAP) and lowered the catalyst AI to Quality.
I was able to run straight from the exe, with everything set to full with no problems at all.

Shame I found this after having played all but the last two cases in windowed mode on low, with all the aforementioned badness happening all over the screen :mad:.

I hope this will help someone else out in my position.

Wurzel_Pummage
12-11-2011, 09:47 AM
I gave this a go despite every other 'fix' failing because I wanted to get this game playable so badly, but I fully expected disappointment once again. So glad to be proven wrong! All the stuttering has completely gone on my 5850 despite changing the settings from minimum to maximum. Thankyou very much matey :D

Teflon
12-12-2011, 04:22 AM
Hmmm. OK, I followed the links and tried to download the dll file, but all I got were re-directs to other sites, and invites to complete surveys. Anyone know a simple way to get the file?

Cheers,

EdEdit
12-12-2011, 05:02 AM
Hmmm. OK, I followed the links and tried to download the dll file, but all I got were re-directs to other sites, and invites to complete surveys. Anyone know a simple way to get the file?

Cheers,

Really? This link http://www.mediafire.com/?wzm379223amren2?

It straight up works for me... If it's really not working, I'll send it to ya.

GioCor87
12-12-2011, 08:52 AM
I love you man!
The dll file (not the fear.exe method) solved 90% of my stuttering issues on my old laptop with Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 2.4 Ghz and Radeon HD4650 1Gb.
I can finally play this great game! :-D

Teflon
12-12-2011, 09:48 AM
Really? This link http://www.mediafire.com/?wzm379223amren2?

It straight up works for me... If it's really not working, I'll send it to ya.

Very odd. Just tried again, this time using FireFox, and the link worked. Tried it again with Internet Explorer and it still plays up. Very strange. Anyhow, got the file now, so off to try it. :)

Teflon
12-12-2011, 10:00 AM
Okay, just tried it. You are now officially my new best friend!! :)

The game now runs nice and smooth and is finally the product that I paid for. Thank you!

EdEdit
12-13-2011, 04:40 AM
Good stuff. It took me from the day it came out until now to find that solution and get it working properly.

Rockstar support were seriously poor in this instance; a 14 day wait before replying? Bad.

I'm pleased it helps others - even though I can't take credit for the solution.