PDA

View Full Version : Doesn't seem to like my system?


phasmaphobic
01-01-2012, 10:27 PM
I picked this one up and have been playing a bit, but almost every time, about 10-20 minutes in it starts slowing down something fierce. Running a 1gig NVidia, win7 64bit with 8 gigs of ram. Not sure why it would be running this slow.

Even checked out the NVidia fixes on this link (http://www.tweakguides.com/DMOMM_3.html) - or at least tried to. Unfortunately all the ubisoft forum threads linked there are dead now.

From what I've played of the game it seems pretty awesome, but the delayed slow-down is making it unplayable. Sad.

Ralf Schumacher
01-03-2012, 09:47 AM
I had the same problem, but i fixed it by commands (-threads, -heapzise).
How many cores do u have?
have x4 Athlon II 640, 4 Gb ram, 512Mb 9600GT, win 7 (x64), and i use -threads 4 (if 4 Cores, Quad-Core), and -heapsize 2097151. It works fine. (1980*1080, all High, AF x2, AA x2).
PS (u put it , into your launch options).

phasmaphobic
01-03-2012, 09:51 AM
I have a phenom... x7 I think? Been a while since I checked it.

Anyway, I did a lot of searching on this one, and basically found out that the Steam version is flawed for my setup, and there is no way to fix it directly. Multiple folks suggested installing the DVD version and patching it, so I, uh, "acquired" it and whadaayaknow: works perfectly.

Blue Lightning
01-03-2012, 08:00 PM
This is exactly why I kept my old computer and Xp.

Gates coming up with new OS's instead of just updating Xp, isnt doing gamers any favors.

kensain
01-04-2012, 04:27 AM
Same problem here. After few mins of playing FPS start dropping from 300 to unplayable 10-20...Unfortunately i have only steam version and "-treads, -heapsize" commands are not helping... If u guys know some better solution than reinstalling game/steam or something like that what i've found on google, let me know plx..

(PC: Intel core i5-2500K, mb ASUS P8P67, 8GB RAM DDR3 -1600MHz, Geforce GTX560Ti, Win7 64bit)

phasmaphobic
01-04-2012, 10:01 AM
Same problem here. After few mins of playing FPS start dropping from 300 to unplayable 10-20...Unfortunately i have only steam version and "-treads, -heapsize" commands are not helping... If u guys know some better solution than reinstalling game/steam or something like that what i've found on google, let me know plx..

(PC: Intel core i5-2500K, mb ASUS P8P67, 8GB RAM DDR3 -1600MHz, Geforce GTX560Ti, Win7 64bit)

I had the same issue. I finally found the answer on the GoG.com forums: Uninstalled the Steam version, downloaded the DVD version, installed it and updated to the 1.02 patch, and that made the game infinitely more playable. Now I can run it on max graphics settings for hours with no slowdown at all.

I get the feeling the steam version just isn't properly patched.

Ralf Schumacher
01-05-2012, 05:33 PM
Now, I have the lag again. :confused::mad: (Chapter 6 - The Altar of the Skull), its unplayble when using the quickload function. (Not enough load on the GPU. (~10% lolz). I checked in MSI afterburner).
Dont load a gamesave from in-game, always exit to the main menu and load from there
This advice has helped me... :)

Solona
01-06-2012, 12:46 AM
Played this game once years ago when it came out, saw it was on sales so reinstalled it, now runs at 15fps after 5mins of playtime, yay.

Eek!
01-06-2012, 06:32 AM
This is exactly why I kept my old computer and Xp.

Gates coming up with new OS's instead of just updating Xp, isnt doing gamers any favors.It does seem incredibly random (/luck-based) what it runs - and doesn't run - on. I have 4GB RAM, (Intel) quad core, NVIDIA 260M and Windows 7 x64 and so far running at my native resolution and everything set to max I've not had a single crash (be it instant or long-term), and no real glitches aside from occasional audio at the start of each load, which I put down to the age of the Source engine.

Triver
01-09-2012, 01:09 PM
Its really not important how much power the hardware has. Hell I even have a (moreless) old Intel Dual Core 6300 @2.1 GHz, 2GB Ram and a Nvidia GTS 250 and the game really runs flawlessly, never had any performance or crash issues whatsoever (except the crash on exit which everybody has).
Even the loading worked without problems, no matter where or how I did the loading.

It also worked before with the even older Nvidia 8800 GTS graphics card (which unfortunately broke after playing Far Cry, still dont know why that happened), I didnt even notice a remarkable difference when upgrading it (except a better framerate).

Also upgrading from Windows XP 32-bit to Windows 7 32-bit didnt cause me any problems, I guess the game is just very critical with the hardware setup (probably especially quadcores (or more) and a 64 bit OS with > 4gb ram)

ericL
02-05-2012, 04:37 PM
this is a nvidia issue (again) i ran this game perfectly fine on a amd/ati 5970. Maxed graphics with 60 fps

Sarabi Hyena
02-16-2012, 05:07 PM
this is a nvidia issue (again) i ran this game perfectly fine on a amd/ati 5970. Maxed graphics with 60 fps

Thats peculier, I had the slowdown problem on my 5970 before I swapped to a gtx560ti (which still has the issue, so I doubt it's card related).

MrCrunk
02-17-2012, 11:06 AM
Where do you download the DVD version? Do you have to re-buy it? I'm on a Q9550, 4770, 4Gb RAM and I would get horrible fps too.

pseudo70
03-11-2012, 10:52 AM
This is not only a Nvidia problem. This issue appears on different machines with AMD or Nvidia solutions. It's indepentend of the current driver version and most likely a major program bug. Which has never been fixed.

eeevil
03-21-2012, 03:55 PM
I'm having the same issue. I was getting 250-300 fps during the tutorial. 15 minutes into the first level my fps dropped to 25-15.
Specs: Win 7 64-bit, i5 2500k @ 4.0GHz, 560 ti 1gb, 8gb ddr3