PDA

View Full Version : 2 Step Phone Verification For Steam

Steven Bogda
01-26-2012, 12:14 PM
After reading about Steam exploring the mobile market and hearing about numerous people getting their accounts hacked, I decided that implementing a similar 2-step verification option inside of Steam may be a good idea.

With 2-step verification enabled in Gmail, your phone gets a text anytime your account is used on a computer that is not your own. Sometimes it can be annoying, but you can easily get used to it.

I am no developer and I have no idea if this is even possible, or worth it. Could this work if added to the Steam log in process?

EDIT: Realized this belongs in the Steam section. I am too used to coming to the TF2 portion! Please move me!

rizl0r
01-26-2012, 12:16 PM
It does still use steamguard 2FA...
but I agree- more protection on mobile is probably a good idea.

Steven Bogda
01-26-2012, 12:24 PM
It does still use steamguard 2FA...
but I agree- more protection on mobile is probably a good idea.

Yeah - Like Steam Guard but instead of just emailing your code to your email address, it send something to your phone too when someone tries to log in from a new computer.

I was hacked a few months ago because they got into my email. Never clicked links, downloaded bogus programs, shared Steam/Gmail info or had similar/weak passwords for any of my accounts. I have been fine since then but would always like more options!

willstroud
01-26-2012, 01:05 PM
Steam guard is made irrelevant on the mobile platform because access to my email is only a touch away. If someone finds my phone they will also find about $3000 worth of PC games.

Rammite
01-26-2012, 01:12 PM
Steam guard is made irrelevant on the mobile platform because access to my email is only a touch away. If someone finds my phone they will also find about $3000 worth of PC games.