PDA

View Full Version : Not for slow PCs..


paischu
02-16-2012, 01:27 PM
Just started it up and well if youve got an older PC you might want to hold off. Everything turned down and it still has like less than 30 fps, could run bf3 on medium settings with 50 fps..

Note: Yes, I have V-Sync turned off and FoV all the way down.. (;

targetbsp
02-16-2012, 01:32 PM
What spec? I was amazed at how well it run on high on my mid range PC. 60fps synced on an ati 6850 with core2duo.

trek554
02-16-2012, 01:33 PM
it might actually help if you listed your specs...

yogibbear
02-16-2012, 01:34 PM
well an atom or a e-350 isn't going to cut it. :)

paischu
02-16-2012, 01:35 PM
I tested it and got 20-40 fps :/

Core2Duo E8400 @ 3.5 Ghz
4 GB RAM
Radeon 4870X2

I was surprised, thought I could run on Medium atleast haha

trek554
02-16-2012, 01:36 PM
I tested it and got 20-40 fps :/

Core2Duo E8400 @ 3.5 Ghz
4 GB RAM
Radeon 4870X2

I was surprised, thought I could run on Medium atleast hahayou are calling that a slow pc? a 4870x2 is equal to a 5870 which is still a very fast gpu. :rolleyes:

targetbsp
02-16-2012, 01:39 PM
Do you have the latest CAP (released yesterday) which "Alan Wake - Improves CrossFire performance"

paischu
02-16-2012, 01:39 PM
Well why is it running at 20 fps then? Is there any way to turn of AA completely? The Menu only offer 2X

MushRush66
02-16-2012, 01:40 PM
Only about 12 more hours of download time spent reading posts on the forums telling me over and over how bad this game is going to run on my pc - well, I guess I really am a closet masochist...

(D*mn you day off)...

paischu
02-16-2012, 01:41 PM
Only about 12 more hours of download time spent reading posts on the forums telling me over and over how bad this game is going to run on my pc - well, I guess I really am a closet masochist...

(D*mn you day off)...

What are your specs?

I've got the newest CAP.

trek554
02-16-2012, 01:44 PM
Well why is it running at 20 fps then? Is there any way to turn of AA completely? The Menu only offer 2Xyou must have some issues with your pc or the game itself because your gpu is way faster than what the vast majority of gamers use. now your cpu is certainly a very large bottleneck for a 4870x2. in fact you would be lucky to even get much over 50-60% of what that gpu can do in some cpu intensive games. but 20fps indicates a bigger problem though as even one 4870 should do way better than that on lower settings.

MushRush66
02-16-2012, 01:48 PM
What are your specs?

I've got the newest CAP.

Vista 64bit
Core2Quad Q9400 2.66ghz
4 gigs ram (Only DDR2)
HD 5570 1 gig (Only DDR 3) DX 11
23" LED/LCD 1080p monitor


(No crossfire - this is more of an HTPC that "Usually" can run most games okay at lower resolutions (1366x768 or 1280x720), quite a few in 1080p - but certainly not Alan Wake)...

I would be better off playing the console version - if I had a console, of course...

paischu
02-16-2012, 01:51 PM
you must have some issues with your pc or the game itself because your gpu is way faster than what the vast majority of gamers use. now your cpu is certainly a very large bottleneck for a 4870x2. in fact you would be lucky to even get much over 50-60% of what that gpu can do in some cpu intensive games. but 20fps indicates a bigger problem though as even one 4870 should do way better than that on lower settings.

Well now I'm in the city at day and it runs fine >60 fps.
Seems to be a problem with the fog at night :/
And yes I know my CPU is bottlenecking same for my slow mainboard..

Austin007
02-16-2012, 02:10 PM
I'm running at solid 30+ fps, no issues at all. Just finished Act 1. It does make it work, that's for sure, gpu fan speed went up to 70%. Using a GTX560Ti.

RevD_CobblePot
02-16-2012, 02:16 PM
Well now I'm in the city at day and it runs fine >60 fps.
Seems to be a problem with the fog at night :/
And yes I know my CPU is bottlenecking same for my slow mainboard..


ye, i pretty much figured this.

night time+ fog + all the 'glamorous' lights = dips and averages in the 50 to 54 fps mark for me. My oc'd 570+1080p+highest settings can't even maintain 60 fps for more than 10 seconds in the swampy, hazy, gusting, night forest; which isn't as huge as it's cut out to be, however, in the day time, it doesn't go below 60.

I wouldn't call it bad encoding or bad optimization, it's just taxing the card because of all that particle detail that the card needs to process during night time.

People who think they got decent configs to run this game on high, might be disappointed(performance wise), but sth like a gtx 460 @ 1080p will still snag you fps in the high 30's/low 40's. So it's actually not too bad IMO.

paischu
02-16-2012, 02:23 PM
Yep it often is the fog that screws things up, still I'll try and get the best out of it.

nagumo999
02-16-2012, 02:51 PM
It's a demanding game. The 360 version ran at the equivalent of medium settings, a resolution of 940x540p, and generally ran about 28-30 FPS.

Given you're running a dual core CPU, some of the settings might be taxing it a bit hard. Check the graphics option sticky at the top of the forums here for a list of what the setting do and whether they're GPU or CPU dependent.

I've been tinkering with Alan Wake all settings at maximum with FSAA set to 4x at 1920x1200, and been pretty happy to see consistently high framerates given the age of my platform (only semi new part is my GPU).

Q9550s binned CPU @ 3.8GHz
Radeon HD6970 2GB
4GB PC2 8500 RAM @ 1066MHz
Gigabyte P45 based motherboard
Auzentech Xplosion 7.1 DTS sound card
Dell 16:10 1200p LCD
Liquid Cooled

paischu
02-16-2012, 02:59 PM
After turning the resolution to 720p its running smooth even with AA on 4X and other stuff on. God I feel stupid now 1920x1200 doesnt seem to like fog and stuff. I now even have FOV and the Draw Distance and LOD full to the right!