PDA

View Full Version : Max Payne 2 won't even start


ViperSRT
02-22-2012, 12:06 PM
Hey all,

As many of you are probably doing I recently played through max payne 1 and now want to go through 2 before the third game comes out. After installing the sound fix for MP1 I went through the game no issue. Now I installed MP2 (I have the retail version from it's original release many moons ago) and when I click the icon on my desktop to start an error box shows up saying "Max Payne 2 has stopped working" and windows looks for a solution. What would be causing this? I've looked through the forums and can't find anything. I have Vista 32-bit.

Thanks.

Gamer4Life
02-22-2012, 06:10 PM
try running it off the cd, if you have it;I had basically the same problem running the first one.

ViperSRT
02-22-2012, 06:15 PM
What do you mean by run it off the CD? I tried to use the launch exe from the CD and nothing. I tried compatibility mode and administrator. Nothing. I'm surprised MP1 ran perfect minus the initial sound issue which I fixed. Thanks for the help!

Gamer4Life
02-22-2012, 06:38 PM
I meant, if you are trying to run the game off steam, Close out of steam, and put The CD in the drive, and see if it will run that way. Worked for me.

ViperSRT
02-22-2012, 06:43 PM
Actually I do not have the game on steam at all. I'm using the original retail copy from its initial release.

Gamer4Life
02-22-2012, 06:52 PM
what are your system specs, besides vista?

ViperSRT
02-22-2012, 06:57 PM
Vista 32
1.8 intel dual core
Nvidia geforce 9800 GT
4 GB Ram

Again I appreciate your taking the time to respond.

Gamer4Life
02-22-2012, 08:28 PM
Not a problem;you're system specs are ok, however, the problem most likely lies within windows vista;Try upgrading to Windows 7, or if that is not an option, calling 2K Support would help also. Let me know how that goes. Thanks.

TimeNinja
02-26-2012, 03:23 AM
Im having this same issue. Anyone have any updates? I've tried googling, and all i can find is a vista sound fix that just fixes broken sound. But That seems useless as I cant even get into the game to have broken sound.

ViperSRT
03-05-2012, 08:24 AM
Two questions came to mind. One who should I technically contact for tech support. Second would I be able to activate my copy of MAx Payne 2 through steam even tho there isn't a serial number?

thanks

BBboy20
04-15-2012, 11:27 PM
Not a problem;you're system specs are ok, however, the problem most likely lies within windows vista;Try upgrading to Windows 7, or if that is not an option, calling 2K Support would help also. Let me know how that goes. Thanks.Same issue on 7. I don't even get a error message, it just never starts.

z0011
04-19-2012, 10:33 PM
I have the same problem, max payne 2 wont even start, i only see it on task manager but wont start, i have windows 7 64bit, intel core i5, nvidia GTX 560M.

schept01
04-25-2012, 12:24 AM
Hello, I have the same problem as described above. I bought the 3CD-ROM game second hand and want to play it on W7 (drivers up to date). It installs without problems, but the game won't start. Installing and starting the game in WinXP compatibility doesn't help.

1. How can I fix it? (don't want to buy the game for a second time)

2. Will downloading/buying the game on steam (again) again fix the problem?

3. Can I somehow 'activate' the retail game on steam, so that I can download it on Steam, but won't have to pay money for a second time?