PDA

View Full Version : Failed to contact key server.


Zantagor
02-25-2012, 10:40 AM
Anyone getting this today for the game?

Guess they ran out of key :/

Marco0555
02-25-2012, 10:49 AM
Same problem for me..

KeReMiD4O
02-25-2012, 11:17 AM
Just bought the game. Downloaded it and I get the same error. \:

Gurty
02-25-2012, 11:26 AM
Also getting this error. Hope it will be fixed soon.

Gurty
02-25-2012, 11:36 AM
By the way, you can just start Serious Sam 2 by starting up Sam2.exe

Zantagor
02-25-2012, 11:58 AM
By the way, you can just start Serious Sam 2 by starting up Sam2.exe

Thanks, hadn't thought of trying that.

x_elx
02-25-2012, 12:15 PM
Me and my friend get the same error.

x_elx
02-25-2012, 02:29 PM
It appears this also prevents me from playing with more than 1 friend.

Epslion Bear
02-25-2012, 03:22 PM
By the way, you can just start Serious Sam 2 by starting up Sam2.exe

Thats nice to know, I just finished downloading the game and im getting the key error as well

Fick
02-25-2012, 04:14 PM
So if the key error is not fixed, you cant play online?

x_elx
02-25-2012, 05:09 PM
I've tried with my friends that have the same error and besides me only one can join.The other will have an error with authentication failed.Tried on dedicated and in-game server and still nothing.Tried swapping which friend joined first and the one that had the error will be able to join and the other not.I don't know if you can join other games.

Foey
02-25-2012, 05:48 PM
This is ridiculous. It's outright fraud for Steam to continue to sell this game after they've run out of keys to distribute. It's nothing but theft, and saying they'll eventually get around to getting more keys and letting people play a game they paid for is utter crap.

ChrisW
02-25-2012, 06:20 PM
I doubt this game even uses cd keys as they are not necessary.

seanj
02-25-2012, 07:52 PM
Geez! Is anyone looking into this? You don't take someone's money and run away without giving something in return...

Wizard76
02-25-2012, 07:59 PM
i am also getting this error

BroflMouth
02-25-2012, 08:02 PM
Steam has run out of CD-keys from the looks of things, this happens from time to time when an unexpected amount of copies of a game are sold. It will be fixed shortly, it always is. In the meantime just launch the game from the Sam2.exe. I know it sucks to have to do that but it will be fixed shortly.

Wizard76
02-25-2012, 08:07 PM
that might work well enough for sp but that won't work for mp

wich is what im trying to do so.....

i hope they fix it soon =-P

Vova82004
02-26-2012, 04:44 AM
Hello Steam Support Today I have bought serious sam 2 but at game start
Game telled me Failed to contact key server. Help me . And my friend
Buy too and He got this problem. My Login vova82004 ;) :rolleyes:

MickeyT2008
02-26-2012, 06:06 AM
Don't worry, this happens occasionally when Steam sell more copies of a game than they expect to. They'll get more keys and then your game will work, they always sort this out when it happens. This should be fixed either today or in the next couple of days. In the meantime you can run the Sam2.exe file in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 2\Bin to get the game to run.

Vova82004
02-26-2012, 06:37 AM
Mickey i know it work but Multiplayer dont work -.-

MickeyT2008
02-26-2012, 11:15 AM
It's probably not fixed yet because it's Sunday and there's only a cleaner and a bored security guard working at Valve today. Hopefully they'll sort it out tomorrow.

MickeyT2008
02-26-2012, 11:19 AM
It seems like they've fixed it - game on!

dukmiester2
02-26-2012, 11:35 AM
It seems like they've fixed it - game on!

Just curious, where do you live? Reason I ask is I am in Florida, USA and I have tried re-starting Steam and mine is still saying "failed to contact key server".

Did you do anything, other than maybe re-start Steam, to get it to work? Are you launching the game through Steam or directly running the EXE?

Gerg Ich
02-26-2012, 01:19 PM
I still have the issue, so it may be when you got the game. I installed it yesterday, 2/25/2012.

SiLvABuLLetZ
02-26-2012, 01:52 PM
:confused:

Please fix this for me too.

Thank you!

dukmiester2
02-26-2012, 02:30 PM
Yeah, I got mine yesterday too. Installed it late, around 10pm EST.

Most likely will be fixed by first part of the work week. I've had this happen to me a couple of times before when Steam has a sale and it always gets fixed fairly quickly, except on weekends.

At least I can play the single player by running the EXE directly, so it's not that big of a deal. When I bought FUEL, the game simply would not run at all until they got more keys.

federicoleandro
02-26-2012, 05:10 PM
for mplayer you can run the game with the .exe and connect via hamachi, it works well

sydn7
02-27-2012, 12:39 AM
i had the same prob

Vova82004
02-27-2012, 12:45 AM
I hate Hamachi

Arthor
02-27-2012, 02:10 AM
It takes me too start up menu but will noy play in single player.

Kadaj666
02-27-2012, 03:08 AM
I've just installed the game and have same problem. : /

sydn7
02-27-2012, 07:09 AM
what should i do now ?

Mxx
02-27-2012, 07:14 AM
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=2204-OPGC-4862

Looks like the only thing to do is wait.

poutsample
02-27-2012, 07:17 AM
bump to have all five threads in line... :rolleyes:

poutsample
02-27-2012, 07:18 AM
needs to be the first thread in line

federicoleandro
02-27-2012, 07:27 AM
for mplayer you can run the game with the .exe and connect via hamachi, it works well

atze_md
02-27-2012, 09:47 AM
for mplayer you can run the game with the .exe and connect via hamachi, it works well

yes, with stupid hamachi i just could have just downloaded it anywhere...

but i wont rant. playing sam 2 on steam right now! :)

federicoleandro
02-27-2012, 12:52 PM
classic first and second encounter doesnt work via steam as well

dukmiester2
02-27-2012, 02:46 PM
Just wanted to report I am in Florida, USA and mine works now.
I bought mine from Steam late on the night of 2-25-2012 @ around 9:45 pm EST.

As mentioned prior, it very well depend on when you bought the game, and maybe where you are (what key server you may connect to).

Valve runs out of keys sometimes when there is a sale and the game is very popular. It'll get fixed soon, especially since we are now past the weekend.

seseorang
02-28-2012, 01:54 AM
classic first and second encounter doesnt work via steam as well

They do. They just do NOT support dual core or more than one processor.

Go into task Manager and set the game to single core, and the game will run properly.

I use AMD Overdrive and this can disable cores without me having to do thing. Providing I've told it how many cores to use

federicoleandro
02-28-2012, 08:34 AM
They do. They just do NOT support dual core or more than one processor.

Go into task Manager and set the game to single core, and the game will run properly.

I use AMD Overdrive and this can disable cores without me having to do thing. Providing I've told it how many cores to use
i'm sorry... i was talking about the mplayer feature... you can't invite or join a game via steam