PDA

View Full Version : Non-Steam Hard Copy of Ys:TOIF?

Kouin
04-05-2012, 08:01 PM
I would love to have a non-steam physical copy of Ys:TOiF for my collection if possible. I am not a type of gamer who likes to complete with achievements nor leaderboard. All those extra seems like waste of time to me. You gain nothing from them =). Yeah, I completely ignored all of them and I even edited ysf_win file to unlock Inferno Mode. I really don't like to play the same game over and over again. Sorry, this is not a complaint; it just that all those achievement unlocking pop-ups bothers me during in-game.. It's my first time I've ever bought a game from steam and used its service after all. Is there any ways to disable those pop-ups in-game?

Wyrdwad
04-06-2012, 01:30 AM
Yep. If you set Steam to "offline mode," those popups should be totally disabled. Just click on the Steam menu on the top-left and choose "Go offline." (Not 100% certain that disables achievement popups as well, but I *think* it does...)

Sadly, I don't believe we'll be releasing any physical copies, as the American boxed PC game market is all but dead at this point. I'm a collector myself, so it is a bit unfortunate in some ways... but Steam is a fantastic service, and I think the benefits of using it far outweigh its drawbacks.

-Tom

junglepredator
04-06-2012, 02:32 AM
A shame you won't be releasing a retail outlet version. I was very pleased to see Trine made it that far even though I had bought it only days after it's release.
Honestly the retail outlet is only dead because game companies aren't supporting it & the few game centric retail outlets around offer terrible customer service.