PDA

View Full Version : Instructions on how to install a fps config


swedishsanta
04-15-2012, 03:18 PM
I have many friends who started to play Team fortress 2. But unfortunately, they don't have a build to run at the highest graphics (who has). I have linked Chris fps config to my friends but they didn't understand the installation even when they saw the "how to - youtube video"

I think they can't be the only ones having problems with this so I wanted to share my very simple instructions to all of you,

First off - NO DOWNLOAD NEEDED :) its almost like "copy and paste"

Choose if you want to run on HIGH frames (recommended for medium good, semi-bad builds)

or if you want to run the game with the highest possible frames (recommended for really bad builds)

High frames: (http://www.fakkelbrigade.eu/chris/configs/cfg/getconfig.php?conf=highframes)

MAX frames (http://www.fakkelbrigade.eu/chris/configs/cfg/getconfig.php?conf=maxframes)

Credit to Octocris!

Instructions how to install:

1 - copy the entire config but be sure to read the net settings. You can Uncomment (remove the "//") on the net settings that suits you most, after step 4.

2 - Open [Programx86 (or 64) -> steam -> steamapps -> YOUR USER NAME -> Team Fortress 2 -> tf -> cfg

3 - when you opened the cfg archive, open now any cfg. For example "demoman"

4 - Remove what it is written in that file (if its empty, just proceed happily) and now you can paste.

4.5 - Uncomment (remove the "//") the best suitable net settings
I have good connections, so I remove the "//" in the good connection section.

5 - VERY IMPORTANT - Save as "autoexec.cfg"

Now you can start the game and (hopefully) enjoy it without the lagging


PS: You can see your fps by opening your console (you have to enable the console on the options menu in TF2) by typing: Net_graph 1 or cl_showfps 1


Discussion:

Q: Why not create a new cfg file instead of using the "demoman" one?

A: Some friends had problems installing the config by creating a new cfg file. By using an existing one and saving it as "autoexec.cfg" solved the problem

swedishsanta
04-16-2012, 12:07 PM
I guess nobody needed higher frames after all.

McNasty Filth
04-17-2012, 06:49 AM
Eh, I appreciate the effort. Decided to stop being lazy and see what I can do about my FPS situation.

Googled various keywords, and came across this.

+rep.

chilkat
04-17-2012, 07:40 AM
If I do this now, will all my binds (in the main cfg) still work?
Because it's going to use the autoexe instead of the standard cfg right?
Sorry if this is a silly question ={
Oh and thank you very much!

Kennedy_
04-17-2012, 07:41 AM
any possible way for unusual effects to show up while using these configs?

DoM!NaToR
04-24-2012, 04:06 AM
Gud work OP.

serpentine
04-24-2012, 04:08 AM
any possible way for unusual effects to show up while using these configs?

They should still show up, do you have errors in your console log?

bnep
04-24-2012, 04:37 AM
Eh, the installation is pretty simple, I dont get what people dont understand.

1. Download the config you want to use.
2. Save the config as autoexec.cfg in %PROGRAMFILES%/Steam/steamapps/%username%/team fortress 2/tf/cfg.
3. Go into Steam, right-click Team Fortress 2 and select Properties.
4. Select Set launch options...
5. Paste the launch options from the top of the config, replacing WIDTH and HEIGHT with their respective values.
6. Click OK, and then close the properties window.
7. Launch TF2, then quit.
8. Remove -dxlevel xx from the launch options.

taken from Chris' TF2 configs (http://www.fakkelbrigade.eu/chris/configs/)



any possible way for unusual effects to show up while using these configs?
You are probably using modified particles.
Check your \team fortress 2\tf\particles folder and tell if you have item_fx.pcf (or item_fx_dx80.pcf).

rizl0r
04-24-2012, 04:58 AM
Because I actually use my Autoexec.cfg for stuff already, what I do is save the config as FPSConfig.cfg in the same dir as the autoexec.cfg, and add a line to the autoexec.cfg:
exec FPSConfig.cfg.

That way I can keep my autoexec, where I make certain universal binds etc, clean.