PDA

View Full Version : Grainy Character models


Starburns
04-24-2012, 06:45 PM
Hi I was playing the game and I'm liking it but is anybody else encountering these grainy character models, like with Strumf?

I'm running the game on Windows 7 64 bit and using an ATI HD6770 video card.
http://i.imgur.com/JPuOS.jpg
It should be noted that not all of the character expressions are like this.

brawsome
04-25-2012, 01:42 AM
There was one problem with a guy using an ATI card who was experiencing blurry assets. I asked him to update his drivers, but he said that didn't work. However he fixed it by setting all the graphics driver options back to default. So maybe that's worth a shot?

Starburns
04-25-2012, 01:56 AM
There was one problem with a guy using an ATI card who was experiencing blurry assets. I asked him to update his drivers, but he said that didn't work. However he fixed it by setting all the graphics driver options back to default. So maybe that's worth a shot?
I upgraded my video drivers to the latest available version and reset all the settings but that didn't change it unfortunately.
Edit: this is with the latest 12.4 drivers.

brawsome
04-26-2012, 01:13 AM
Hmmm, which other characters does this happen with? Maybe I can try to see some pattern in the particular types of characters this happens with.

Starburns
04-26-2012, 02:38 PM
Hmmm, which other characters does this happen with? Maybe I can try to see some pattern in the particular types of characters this happens with.
Here's a couple more screenshots where the graphics are kind of grainy, it's not as noticable as the first one I posted but you can tell it's there.
http://i.imgur.com/3gWxL.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/AmUCc.jpg

And here's one where the environment looks a little rough as well. Though that has probably nothing to do with it but if it helps finding the problem.
http://i.imgur.com/B38Gm.jpg

brawsome
04-27-2012, 01:12 AM
Thanks for those references. It's definitely a weird one. I'll post back if I find anything, or can think of something to suggest you try.

Starburns
04-27-2012, 01:23 AM
Thanks for those references. It's definitely a weird one. I'll post back if I find anything, or can think of something to suggest you try.
Thank You

Starburns
05-08-2012, 03:05 PM
Okay I tried fiddling with the resolutions and I got this
http://i.imgur.com/RdCXF.jpg at 1280x800. For some reason with my setup and probably monitor (Samsung Syncmaster P2350) the assets at certain aspect ratios seem to glitch. Seems to fix the issue though there are some other issues at this resolution.

brawsome
05-09-2012, 03:49 PM
Oh wow, that is strange, and interesting. The portrait assets use compression, and they mostly load from 1024x1024 images, which most graphics cards can handle okay. The Lucas animation is the only image that uses a 2048x2048 texture, and also uses compression.

I suspect it's a rendering thing, either hardware or software. If for some reason the card couldn't load 1024x1024 textures then it would be a hardware issue, but that shouldn't be the case with most graphics cards, so it's got to be software. I would be highly surprised if your monitor or monitor drivers had anything to do with it, I would say it would have to be graphics drivers, or maybe direct x drivers.

Starburns
05-09-2012, 04:17 PM
Well like I said, I'm using the latest AMD video drivers so there's not really much I can do on that front other than screwing around with older versions or betas, which I really don't want to do. Using the higher resolution fixes the problem anyways so thank you for your help

Gurbs
06-18-2012, 07:08 PM
Hi folks.
This is happenning to me as well.
I have to ask: What's the native resolution for the game? Things look ok on 1024x768, but Strump's portrait is pixelated as well.

brawsome
06-19-2012, 01:08 AM
Hi Grubs,

1024x768 is the native resolution for PC/Mac, so it should look best at that resolution. In other resolutions there will inevitably be some stretching or squishing, but I make sure to keep the aspect the same.