PDA

View Full Version : Lights do not work and ruins my game


5onic
05-13-2012, 01:16 PM
http://steamcommunity.com/id/5onic/screenshot/55981583414

This occurs when playing on my newly created map. A restart is needed to fix.

But can anyone tell me how to properly add a light on SDK? I don't know what I did wrong. I did it correctly like in the video but my custom map turns out to be like the screen shot above.

.EDI
05-13-2012, 01:18 PM
set mat_fullbright to 0

_ACID_
05-13-2012, 01:19 PM
Do that and recompile without leaks before. Which video? Also, are you using the CSGO SDK or Alien Swarm?

5onic
05-13-2012, 01:27 PM
Do that and recompile without leaks before. Which video? Also, are you using the CSGO SDK or Alien Swarm?

CS GO SDK. The video is outdated I notice but I figured it would work the same way. http://sites.google.com/site/renshdtutorials/home/general-hammer/beginner/beginner---part-1

Where do I put the command in? In CS GO? Because it doesn't change anything.

And what do you mean by "recompile without leaks before"?

187eR
05-13-2012, 03:32 PM
did u add light environment to the map?

5onic
05-13-2012, 03:47 PM
did u add light environment to the map?

No but i'll try that. I simply only used light for a small room and everything above this post didn't work. Trying out light environment now.

5onic
05-13-2012, 04:00 PM
Light environment doesn't work. I'm going to start over again for good practice.

kinanischka
05-13-2012, 04:02 PM
Light environment doesn't work. I'm going to start over again for good practice.

Did you fill the angle and brightness parameters?

.EDI
05-13-2012, 04:11 PM
Check this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXzwRf8m4n0&feature=plcp

And after that: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ot8Wjvx7b6A&feature=plcp


After those, you will know enough to make working lighting with light_environment entity.

5onic
05-13-2012, 05:06 PM
Tried all and still failed. Duno what i'm doing wrong...

This is my ♥♥♥♥ty practice map. You can see light further away but as soon as you get close its all dark.
http://steamcommunity.com/id/5onic/screenshot/559815834146386065/?tab=public

http://steamcommunity.com/id/5onic/screenshot/559815834146385230?tab=public

Sky box light works but everything is still pitch dark.

187eR
05-13-2012, 05:23 PM
yea do a skybox and put a light environment entity up top of ur map, to simulate a sun

5onic
05-13-2012, 05:41 PM
I hate to say this but I give up.

http://steamcommunity.com/id/5onic/screenshot/559815834147084304

Skybox works. Yet it's pitch black everywhere. Notice the lighted room on the left? If I go there it becomes pitch black. I seriously cannot understand my problem or what I'm doing wrong. Maybe I'm ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ ♥♥♥♥, I give up haha.

kinanischka
05-13-2012, 05:47 PM
Don't give up!

Upload the vmf somewhere, I'll check it out.

5onic
05-13-2012, 06:03 PM
Finally I got it working xD, started fresh. Don't exactly know what I did wrong but I did make the map way bigger than before. Thanks for the help guys. +rep all (if I can)

kinanischka
05-13-2012, 06:10 PM
Good to hear! :) Don't forget to post your progress on the forum ^^