PDA

View Full Version : Help! ATI RADEON HD 4200 problem?


MechaPencil
05-13-2012, 02:48 PM
Motherboard make and model: MSI 785GT-E63 AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 555 Processor

Video card: ATI Radeon HD 4200

Monitor: LCD,1280 x 1024, Dunno my refresh rate

RAM: PNY Optima 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model MD4096KD2-667

Power Supply: CORSAIR Builder Series CX600 (CMPSU-600CX) 600W ATX12V v2.3 Active PFC Power Supply


So I'm having some serious issues with my games atm! The textures and models are all rendering weirdly, they'll either be missing or will stretch past where they should be in really bizarre ways. It's ugly, and it makes the games unplayable for me!

At first I assumed it only affected TF2, so I ignored the issue for a while, but now I've come to realize it affects TF2, Portal 2, Dungeon Defenders and Skyrim, and it's the same problem for all of them.

The problem is relatively recent, I was playing things just fine at the beginning of last month.

I've tried restarting my computer, updating and unupdating my drivers, reinstalling Catalyst Control Center, reinstalling the problem games, but so far nothing has worked!

I'll upload images later if you would like. Is there any more information you would need to help me with this problem? Thank you in advance for any help!

Adde
05-13-2012, 03:21 PM
Sounds like it's about to die.

seseorang
05-13-2012, 03:22 PM
1) Update graphics drivers
2) Update your operating system
3) Verify game cache for the games. Right click selected game -> Properties -> Local Files (tab) -> Verify game integrity of cache (or similar)

Has any of these games worked properly before or is this recent?

MechaPencil
05-13-2012, 03:34 PM
1) Update graphics drivers
2) Update your operating system
3) Verify game cache for the games. Right click selected game -> Properties -> Local Files (tab) -> Verify game integrity of cache (or similar)

Has any of these games worked properly before or is this recent?

1. Done so
2. Done so
3. Done so for each of the games I've tried, hasn't worked.

The problem is as recent as the last month or so, the games worked fine in early April but by the end of the month was when the issue popped up.

And I really hope this thing isn't dying!

rotNdude
05-13-2012, 03:39 PM
You probably have a video card that is going dead.

MechaPencil
05-13-2012, 03:44 PM
Well that sounds like fun. :/ Hmm. I should prolly be checking around for a warranty then.

caveman26
05-13-2012, 03:49 PM
Did the problems start after Tue driver update or before, someone else on the forum with a 4300/4500 card is having issues (his description not mine ) try some older drivers and see if that helps

MechaPencil
05-13-2012, 04:05 PM
I'm not absolutely sure. I've tried some older drivers but I'm not sure if they stuck? I've also been trying to update manually to the newest one and it keeps telling me I've got AMD Catalyst 12.3 in the catalyst control center when I try and update to 12.4.

edit: Oh happy day, my warranty expired a few weeks ago. Hopefully this is a problem I can just click out of existence instead of needing to buy a new video card!

caveman26
05-13-2012, 04:17 PM
Download and run driversweeper then reinstall your gfx card drivers see if that helps

MechaPencil
05-13-2012, 04:21 PM
Would that be safe?

caveman26
05-13-2012, 04:31 PM
http://majorgeeks.com/Driver_Sweeper_d6171.html
I use it all the time never had any issues with it

MechaPencil
05-13-2012, 04:33 PM
Thanks! I'll give it a try, wish me luck!

Just need a little walkthrough:

I'm seeing a tab that says AMD - Display

is that what I should analyse and clean? What exactly do I do after that?

EDIT:

So I've cleaned out everything under AMD - Display with driversweeper. Now what? I can't seem to figure out what to update or how.

caveman26
05-13-2012, 06:00 PM
Reinstall your drivers and test

MechaPencil
05-13-2012, 06:51 PM
No luck, same problem. Arrrgh.

sfade
05-13-2012, 07:28 PM
Motherboard make and model: MSI 785GT-E63 AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 555 Processor

Video card: ATI Radeon HD 4200

Monitor: LCD,1280 x 1024, Dunno my refresh rate

RAM: PNY Optima 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model MD4096KD2-667

Power Supply: CORSAIR Builder Series CX600 (CMPSU-600CX) 600W ATX12V v2.3 Active PFC Power Supply


So I'm having some serious issues with my games atm! The textures and models are all rendering weirdly, they'll either be missing or will stretch past where they should be in really bizarre ways. It's ugly, and it makes the games unplayable for me!

At first I assumed it only affected TF2, so I ignored the issue for a while, but now I've come to realize it affects TF2, Portal 2, Dungeon Defenders and Skyrim, and it's the same problem for all of them.

The problem is relatively recent, I was playing things just fine at the beginning of last month.

I've tried restarting my computer, updating and unupdating my drivers, reinstalling Catalyst Control Center, reinstalling the problem games, but so far nothing has worked!

I'll upload images later if you would like. Is there any more information you would need to help me with this problem? Thank you in advance for any help!

Been seeing this a LOT lately especially with the HD4xxx series, and it often coincides with updating drivers, many have fixed it by rolling back to previous driver versions.

-RASCAL-
05-13-2012, 08:34 PM
Well the HD 4200 is an integrated graphics chip on the motherboard. Check if it just needs a new layer of thermal paste on it. The graphics chipset is under the small heatsink array on the center of your motherboard - below the CPU socket. Your warranty has ended anyways, might as well try that and see if it fixes your issue.

Another option is to simply purchase a descrete graphics card. A $40-$60 card will be a pretty noticeable upgrade from the HD 4200. Your Corsair CX 600W won't limit your GPU choices - you can get a HD 7970 or GTX 680 / 670 is you want.

For under $100:
- Radeon HD 6570. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102934

- Radeon HD 6670 GDDR3 / DDR3. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102988

- HD 6670 GDDR5. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121442

- GeForce GTS 450. http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100006662&IsNodeId=1&Description=GTS%20450&bop=And&Order=PRICE&PageSize=20

- GeForce GT 440. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814500235

- Radeon HD 6750. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161395



Off Topic:

WTF?! Refurbished ASUS 6850 for under $40?!!? :eek:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121596

seseorang
05-13-2012, 08:51 PM
Definitely try an older driver version 12.2, or 12.3 or whatever previous was

MechaPencil
05-13-2012, 10:16 PM
Just tried to install the second latest driver and things seem to be working now!

My only complaint is that driver sweeper seems to have removed Catalyst Control Center and AMD Vision Engine Control Center and I'd like those to be around so I can try and make some adjustments to how my vid card is running (I feel like it isn't set to High Performance like it was before)

Problem is I don't see an easy way to reinstall those?

seseorang
05-14-2012, 08:21 AM
Searching for AMD Vision Engine takes me here:

AMD Vision Engine (http://www.amd.com/uk/products/technologies/Pages/vision-engine.aspx)

Then sends me to this download page:

AMD Downloads (http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/downloads.aspx)

I'm not sure what AMD Vision Engine would be as I don't use AMD/ATI Graphics card.