PDA

View Full Version : How to make a rain sound effect?


UberTrevor
05-19-2012, 08:26 AM
I have rain working greatly, only problem, I don't know how to make rain sounds. So if anyone can help, I'll +rep

plons
05-19-2012, 08:49 AM
Why don't you just record rain sounds from real life?

kinanischka
05-19-2012, 08:50 AM
Why don't you just record rain sounds from real life?

LOL

I think he's asking for a way to get the sound playing in the map.

I don't have much experience with soundscapes, but I think it might be what you are looking for: env_soundscape on the Valve developper community wiki may help.

.EDI
05-19-2012, 08:50 AM
Why don't you just record rain sounds from real life?

Probably because CSGO doesn't support custom sounds.

plons
05-19-2012, 08:52 AM
LOL

I think he's asking for a way to get the sound playing in the map.

I don't have much experience with soundscapes, but I think it might be what you are looking for: env_soundscape on the Valve developper community wiki may help.
Ooops

kinanischka
05-19-2012, 08:52 AM
Probably because CSGO doesn't support custom sounds.

https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Ambient_generic

...

.EDI
05-19-2012, 08:53 AM
https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Ambient_generic

...

Have you tried adding custom sounds to csgo? They play in hammer but in game, it says they are missing.

Also i already know what ambient generic is:o

kinanischka
05-19-2012, 08:55 AM
Didn't try in GO, but had no problem with it in Source. If it's there and does not work I'm sure they'll fix it eventually! :)

5onic
05-19-2012, 09:24 AM
I was wondering about this too. I really need to bring more life into my rain. I love rainnnn.

Redo
05-21-2012, 03:32 PM
The rain in Aztec is reliant on a soundscape.
Soundscapes project ambient sound around a part of the map, and are made from various text files.

To put one on your map, you can use an env_soundscape entity. You will need to know the name of the soundscape to put into the "soundscape" parameter, and the radius you want it to start in.

For reference, Aztec uses the soundscape aztec.outdoors

I'm trying to explain this the best that I can, but there's an entire article on it on the Valve Developer Community: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Soundscape

MARKO94EVERSERB
05-24-2012, 10:40 AM
Create ambient generic,make it play everywhare,loop and make sure it doesn't start silent.