PDA

View Full Version : So...the steam versions...


kevycanavan
05-22-2012, 12:53 PM
I already own two copies of each game.

Are the versions on Steam any different? Have they attempted to optimize them for today's graphic possibilities, in any way?

Or are they still just the old 800x600 versions?

otaku4225
05-22-2012, 12:53 PM
I can't imagine that they would be remastered at all.

Frywalker
05-22-2012, 01:40 PM
Do the intro movies and stuff play on Thief 1 and 2? I remember in the pre steam versions it was a ♥♥♥♥♥ to get the videos to play. (They required an old Codec from Windows XP. Indeo or something)

in.meinem.turm.
05-22-2012, 01:43 PM
Videos do play for me (win 7 64 bit).

cabrown3
05-22-2012, 02:13 PM
I have Thief: The Dark Project on disc. It's version 1.33. It works fine on Windows 7 32 bit and can be played at 1024 x 768. It looks good but was designed to be played with only single core processors. There is a fix (to stop it from locking up) at this link. http://www.thief-thecircle.com/guides/hyperthreading/ I hope it helps. Why buy a new one when the one you have will work just as well.

in.meinem.turm.
05-22-2012, 03:38 PM
Okay. So the Steam version uses the DDFix-Version of the games. You can change the resolution.
Read this: http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121449

RipNard
05-22-2012, 03:52 PM
This might be better here... Im running Windows 7 64bit BTW


Ok - after some fiddling i can now run both games at 1080p with AF

Basically steam uses the DDFIX mod. But its using a really old version.

Download latest from here...
http://www.ttlg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121449

Direct link and all credits to TimeSlip and jermi and ttlg
http://jermi.dyndns.org/~jermi/ddfix/ddfix_1.5.11.zip


Copy files over to both Thief_2 and Thief_G under your steam folder/steamapp/common/, overwriting both DDL and INI files in both folders.

Dont touch ddfix.ini but open cam.cfg and change the below line ONLY (will currently be 800x600) to whatever u want. Below i'm setting it to 1080p. Save file - start Thief 1 or 2 from Steam. Menus will have black borders either side if you use a widescreen setting, but in game it'll be fine. The new patch adds AF AA etc by default

(line in cam.cfg to change)
game_screen_size 1920 1080

Talanorfos
05-22-2012, 05:50 PM
You don't have to mess with any of these things like you would if yhou had the disk version, just go into your steamapps folder and set the compatability for the thief exe to run as administrator.

RipNard
05-22-2012, 05:57 PM
You don't have to mess with any of these things like you would if yhou had the disk version, just go into your steamapps folder and set the compatability for the thief exe to run as administrator.


Ok so by doing so you can now run at 1080p without changing anything? I don't so - sorry!

Talanorfos
05-22-2012, 08:12 PM
Ok so by doing so you can now run at 1080p without changing anything? I don't so - sorry!

sorry, meant to post in the thread about the videos not playing

RipNard
05-23-2012, 05:57 AM
sorry, meant to post in the thread about the videos not playing

NP. I overreacted anyway as I was a bit annoyed in finding out that Steam has basically used a community mod to make it work, and not asked permission or given credit to the creator.

Anyway....:rolleyes: