PDA

View Full Version : Inverting hat switch axis?

McMasterGold
06-24-2012, 12:28 PM
This has been bugging me ever since I started playing Flight, and now it's completely unbearable.

Is there any way to invert the left/right axis of the hat switch when turning the spot plane view? I'm so used to the axis being the other way around in Flight Simulator and it's always painful for me to turn the spot plane view in Flight. Is there anyway to invert the axis?

Heimi77
06-24-2012, 01:36 PM
Requested to invert the L/R Axis since beta, no feedback so far...

McMasterGold
06-24-2012, 01:45 PM
Requested to invert the L/R Axis since beta, no feedback so far...

Really? That's terrible.

McMasterGold
06-25-2012, 02:25 AM
I know that there's no official way to invert it, but has anyone tried to do so from the game's files or something?

FS Tester
06-26-2012, 09:21 AM
Folks have probably tried, but I have not seen anyone post a solution. The keyboard, mouse & joystick controls are stored in a file called standard.xml.

The hatswitch is, I believe, controlled by the following POV entry in the file:

<SimControls.Map>
<MapName>name of your joystick>{a long number}</MapName>
<MapVersion>7</MapVersion>
<POV>
<Index>0</Index>
<Down>
<EventName>PAN_VIEW</EventName>
<EventUnits>meter</EventUnits>
<Repeat>32.000000</Repeat>
</Down>
</POV>
</SimControls.Map>

Unlike some of the other controls, it is a single entry, with no "left", "right", "up" or "down" variants, so it appears that the functionality of the hatswitch is hard-coded & not alterable by users.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, McMasterGold :(

McMasterGold
06-28-2012, 03:57 AM
OK, since there's no solution (and I'm about to give up the joystick on Flight), I'm making a request that Microsoft lets us invert the axis. I have no idea why they made this decision, so I would like an official response on this.