PDA

View Full Version : Need help forwarding ports for DI-604


Hypnosis1337
12-31-2006, 11:13 AM
Hi, I am trying to run my own dedicated server and I am using a D-LINK DI-604 router. I went to portforward.com and did not find any information on forwarding my router, so I went to http://support.steampowered.com/cgi-bin/steampowered.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=11&p_created=1092152203&p_sid=AdUzliii&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9MjQmcF9wcm9kcz0zJnBfY2F0cz0yNjMsMjY4JnB fcHY9MS4zOzIudTAmcF9jdj0yLjI2OCZwX3NlYXJjaF90eXBlP WFuc3dlcnMuc2VhcmNoX25sJnBfcGFnZT0x&p_li=&p_topview=1
and I 'forwarded' the ports listed, once with DMZ enabled and once with it disabled. I still did not work, so I am guessing that I did something wrong. I'll post some images of my configurations and see if you can help me out. Look on the bottom part of the page for the ports.

Thanks.

http://img483.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dlinkck2.png
http://img356.imageshack.us/my.php?image=fasdmj4.png

Amos
12-31-2006, 07:39 PM
Here (http://support.dlink.com/SupportFAQ/default.asp?model=DI%2D604) is all you will ever need.

Hypnosis1337
01-01-2007, 02:56 PM
I tried it with the FAQ, but it still doesn't work, so I must be doing something wrong. For the listed ports at http://support.steampowered.com/cgi-bin/steampowered.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=11&p_created=1092152203&p_sid=AdUzliii&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9MjQmcF9wcm9kcz0zJnBfY2F0cz0yNjMsMjY4JnB fcHY9MS4zOzIudTAmcF9jdj0yLjI2OCZwX3NlYXJjaF90eXBlP WFuc3dlcnMuc2VhcmNoX25sJnBfcGFnZT0x&p_li=&p_topview=1#ports I did range when there was a 'to' in the firewall section of my router (or should it be application?) and for the UDP 27015 and 27020 I did 27015 for private and public for 27020. I also ran a ports test for steam and it said that it found UDP 27020-27040 and TCP 27020-27040 and they couldn't find any settings for dedicated server. Also, should DMZ be enabled?

Travis Bickle
01-13-2007, 10:18 AM
The best you can do is get rid of the D-link & buy a router that properly forwards ports. Get a Linksys, it's only 40 bucks & will save you a lot of headaches.

compywiz
02-26-2007, 09:30 PM
The article I believe say's you cannot do it. You can try doing each one individually like I did (and still not successful). If you use DMZ it should turn off port forwarding because it wants to send everything to the dmz address. Besides hlds isnt meant to work with dmz

thehammer034
03-04-2007, 07:28 AM
Hello.
You dont need a new router
I have used both versions of the di-604 and dont have any problems forwarding ports or running a server.
You obviously dont have something set up right.
Look here.

Di-604
http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Dlink/DI-604/Steam_Server.htm

Di-604v2
http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Dlink/DI-604v2/Counter_Strike.htm

Di-604v2
http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Dlink/DI-604v2/Steam_Server.htm

Or look here
http://support.dlink.com/SupportFAQ/default.asp?model=DI%2D604

Or here
http://support.dlink.com/faq/view.asp?prod_id=1406#604

Amos
03-05-2007, 11:14 AM
Sure, you can forward the port but the real port number will not seen by the world, just a NAT port number (6xxxx) that changes every time you start the server.

Raid-XT
03-07-2007, 11:37 PM
i got the same router and i got my server running like this


http://img223.imageshack.us/my.php?image=forwardlink1lr5.jpg

and

http://img223.imageshack.us/my.php?image=forwardlink2gt0.jpg

i hope it helps

one thing is no mather what port like 27015 or 27016 you will allways have a port on your server that starts between 5000-5999 you will have to look for the server in your server list. i always look for the server with the lowest ping becous i am connected via LAN connection to my server so my server ping is between 1 and 15.

Amos
03-08-2007, 07:36 AM
i always look for the server with the lowest ping becous i am connected via LAN connection to my server so my server ping is between 1 and 15.

Ya, that works fine for you but about the rest of the world? How does anyone else find you if there are 20,000 other servers in the list?
D-Link sucks big time.

Raid-XT
03-08-2007, 12:24 PM
Ya, that works fine for you but about the rest of the world? How does anyone else find you if there are 20,000 other servers in the list?
D-Link sucks big time.

well you just look for your ip save it in your favorites (it will be the one with lowest ping) and you give it to your friends if they want it? :O and for the rest of the world they will find your server like any other server.....

Amos
03-08-2007, 12:37 PM
well you just look for your ip save it in your favorites (it will be the one with lowest ping) and you give it to your friends
Don't you understand... The port changes every time you start the server. The ip and port you give your friends is then worthless as is the one you saved in favorites.

Raid-XT
03-08-2007, 02:40 PM
then leave the server running i think thats the point of a server? it dont take much bandwith when there's nobody on the server. and if you want to save bandwith just put a password on the server at night. hte best way is to get an extra network card and remove the router and let one pc be the router and server and the other pc then gets internet from the server PC, im going to do that right now. and if you have a dynamic IP go to www.no-ip.com or .org dont remember witch and make an account and download the program. then you have an ip like steam.servehalflife.org:27015 for example.

and there is another option just give them your ip and look for it on gametiger then you automaticly have the server ip + port