PDA

View Full Version : Problem with my first model, details inside.

Whitestuff
05-30-2007, 11:56 PM
Hi all. I'm new to modding HL2 and I'm trying out all aspects of modding as a hobby. I made a crate in the XSI mod tool, saved it as a scene and exported it (as best I understood) via the XSI Prop Creation Tutorial (http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/XSI_Prop_Creation) on the Valve Source SDK Wiki. My problem initially was that I didn't scale properly and the model was way too big. It also defaulted to the purple and black checkerboard texture in Hammer. Thirdly, it was positioned on the floor, but it was actually sitting halfway in the floor. So, first I adjusted the scaling in the *.qc file which did in fact fix the model's size to what I wanted. But the texture was still screwed up and the model still sat 1/2 in the floor. At that point I went into XSI to fix the problem.

I moved the model up to the y axis 0 point which seemed to coincidentally coincide with the position it was showing up as in Hammer. Then I opened the texture viewer and adjusted my UV coordinates some more thinking that in my state of noobish-ness, somehow I screwed up texturing. **EDIT I figured out why my model at this point would not show up after I placed it in hammer. I used an improper command in the QC file that put it in a seperate directory... oops **

Directory Structure as it stands:
SMD file location: C:\MyMPMod\modelsrc\fragile_crate
-includes fragile_crate (model), fragile_crate_idle, and fragile_crate_phys
TGA file location: C:\MyMPMod\materialsrc\models\fragile_crate

When I compile via studiomdl.exe, the model files are placed in C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\SourceMods\MyMPMod\models\fr agile_crate and the texture, after compiling through vtex.exe is placed in C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\SourceMods\MyMPMod\materials \models\fragile_crate.