PDA

View Full Version : Round Shapes


link2009
06-22-2007, 12:25 PM
Is there any way to make completely round shapes such as a perfect sphere?

PS: Also, what's the easiest way to make a triangle(4-faces) with a square base?

haymaker
06-22-2007, 12:44 PM
brush-based spheres in hammer are ug-ly unless they are bigger than a useful dimension ie 128 units. much better to model them outside of hammer or look for a model aleady built by someone. though i recall seeing a basketball somewhere, you might be able to reskin that.

making a pyramid is pretty easy, if you know the clip tool.
make a cube, look at it in side view, clip off one side at the angle you want, do the other side, select it, crtl-m rotate z @90 and repeat

link2009
06-22-2007, 01:35 PM
I actually need a full circular sphere to play around with it a little bit, I'll see about that basketball.

Ah, thank you. I should have that about that.

link2009
06-22-2007, 09:06 PM
So to clarify, there's no geometric shape that can be used as a complete (non-hollow) circle / sphere?

Edit: How would you approach this? http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/7099/circleyz3.jpg

zyklus
06-22-2007, 09:36 PM
Here's a bsp (http://forums.facepunchstudios.com/showthread.php?p=4737415#post4737415)

I've built a program that generates spheres... Still in alpha. Is this what you need?

link2009
06-23-2007, 09:10 AM
I believe that's what I need. Check the image above your post.

zyklus
06-23-2007, 10:09 AM
Download prefabs here. (http://garrysmod.org/downloads/?a=view&id=14481) ;)

link2009
06-23-2007, 10:17 AM
Thank you. :)

zyklus
06-23-2007, 10:32 AM
My pleasure. I'll hopefully release the exe that generates these soon, as soon as I implement a heightmap to sphere feature.

link2009
06-23-2007, 04:44 PM
Well zyklus, I tried both your Hi-Res and Low-Res Sphere Prefabs and here are the results:

Hi-Res: Crashed when I tried to carve with it.
Low-Res: Completely disappeared when I carved with it.

:/. Am I doing anything wrong? Or is it impossible to carve with Prefabs?

Marine
06-23-2007, 05:51 PM
There is an easy way to create a sphere. Make a cube, select the whole cube and go into the displacements. Create and then Subdivide. Voila, perfect sphere.

Do not CARVE spheres. They crash hammer :)

link2009
06-23-2007, 07:05 PM
Well, bloody hell, your technique worked, but if I can't carve it I'm back to square one! lol.

Marinelo, how would you create something like This (http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/7099/circleyz3.jpg) ?

I want to carve a bloody sphere! God.

witalldonebefor
06-23-2007, 07:52 PM
Like this link2009?

http://garrysmod.org/img/dl/219_1.jpg

link2009
06-23-2007, 07:59 PM
Yes! Can that be carved?

witalldonebefor
06-23-2007, 08:31 PM
That can actually be made with out carving. I'll tell you how to do it later.

vecima
06-23-2007, 08:42 PM
gah!

don't carve at all!!! especially not with spheres. you'll wind up with 600 brushes (some too small to be valid) creating detail that could be done in maybe 10 brushes.

EDIT: Angry Beaver, get in here with your kitten picture! heh

link2009
06-24-2007, 08:23 AM
That can actually be made with out carving. I'll tell you how to do it later.

I'd be glad to know how to :).

link2009
06-24-2007, 06:03 PM
So, are you going to please show me?

vecima
06-25-2007, 05:30 AM
the 'clip' tool is always a good bet. vertex manipulation is also a good tool, but you have to be careful not to create an invalid brush with that, and even with valid brushes sometimes vertexes can get messed up.

link2009
06-25-2007, 11:25 AM
I'll try vertexing a sphere and see what I get.

Angry Beaver
06-25-2007, 11:28 AM
...EDIT: Angry Beaver, get in here with your kitten picture! heh

can do :P
http://members.shaw.ca/dvdgillen/carvekitten.JPG

Ten die every time you carve a sphere!

Carve is considered Evil for the simple reason it Can't handle complex shapes, the code does things ??? about backwards and causes more problems and will waste more of your time then you ever realized properly.

Now for doing what you want. Personally I'd be using displacement maps to save time and effort. Ifact gimmie a few seconds to have some pictures.

Angry Beaver
06-25-2007, 11:48 AM
http://members.shaw.ca/dvdgillen/spherehole.jpg

The first 4 panes are the basic shape to make, bigger walls mean a steeper hole and a bigger square in the center means a wider radius. Once you've got it built texture it all in nodraw and then only put your texture on the top faces. Make thoose faces displacements, and sub divide them. The subdivide process will round out that hole for you perfectly. The flat areas on top will have a tendancy to be pretty thick, just use the clip brush to trim them down a little. Hope thats clear enough. If you need to transition materials, I'd just put in an arch (http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Primitives) as a wall and then use alpha blend to switch between the materials.

link2009
06-25-2007, 12:59 PM
Thanks for the pictures Beaver, but now I feel terrible because I can't recreate the 'rough geometric shape' you portrayed there...

I made a basic block 640x128 (Front View) and tried moving the vertices forward and around but I can't make that shape you made...

Angry Beaver
06-25-2007, 01:03 PM
its 5 rectangles, 1 for the base and then 4 identical ones rotated round the outside. I personally used vertex manipulation to maxe the trapezoid but you could do the same thing with the clip tool. The edges have to meet at 45 degrees otherwise you wont be able to create the shape properly.

link2009
06-25-2007, 05:15 PM
Dear God, I must be geometrically-challenged...

Here's what I'm getting:

http://img455.imageshack.us/img455/7526/geometrychallengedqf4.jpg

Angry Beaver
06-25-2007, 06:46 PM
Its getting picture crowded in here so for the poor 56K people I'm gonna link this one

http://members.shaw.ca/dvdgillen/HoleBuild.jpg

Step 1
Base, any shape will do

Step 2
Wall, you can only sew edges that are the same length (or half). So to make it easy match your walls bottom edge with the edge of the base

Step 3
Reshape, push out the edges of your wall so they have a tapered edge that means they will fit perfectly with each other. Alternativley you could add mmore brushes but I advise against that, being stingey with your displacemmnt faces is usually a good idea.

Step 4
Copy the brush and rotate them so the tapered edges fit and their bottom edges wit to that of the base.

Sometime I forget how long I've actually been doing this for. :)

Step

link2009
06-25-2007, 07:00 PM
Ah, well I know have got the shape, lol.

As for the displacement, I displaced the entire shape (all 5 rectangles) to a base of 4 and subdivided it all. It came out pretty strange.

Care to elaborate a little more on the displacements? :)

I hope I'm not bothering you or wasting your time, as I know you've got better things to do. I just hope this will help others in the future too.

Angry Beaver
06-25-2007, 07:19 PM
the key is don't make ALL the faces displacements, only make some of them displacmeents.

One of the classic beginers mistakes is not to select only the top face when making displacements and to make the entire brush displacment. Making the brush displacmenet will only cause grief, you want only 9 sides made displacements, the tops and inside faces od the walls and the top of the base peice.

Subdivide smooths out ALL selected faces and rounds them off. If you have more faces than the shape needs your just going to produce weird shapes.

link2009
06-25-2007, 07:33 PM
Well, here's what I got so far, except mine's not as round as yours.

http://img517.imageshack.us/img517/5166/geometrychallengednn9.jpg

Angry Beaver
06-25-2007, 08:13 PM
your close, but thoose open corners are whats throwing it off, taper thoose edges together like mine and you'll be there.

link2009
06-25-2007, 08:30 PM
Aha, how about now?

http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/7226/geometrychallengedhx0.jpg

Angry Beaver
06-25-2007, 09:04 PM
yep, just subdivide again to fix it

DeadlyContagion
06-25-2007, 11:15 PM
Oooh ooh I know the answer! Maybe you should just use cylinders.

link2009
06-26-2007, 02:51 PM
@DeadlyContagion, care to elaborate?

@Angry Beaver, aha, I've not finished everything but the final product doesn't seem to be as round as I'd like it. How could I make it rounder?

blacksmith123
06-26-2007, 03:40 PM
Contagion, you can't use cylinders... displacements only work on faces with 4 edges.

DeadlyContagion
06-26-2007, 05:08 PM
Well, my understanding was that the person in question wanted to make a circular indentation with a circular dias in the centre. I see no need to use displacements, if this interpertation of what was said is wrong, I humbly apoligize. (elaborate enough?)

link2009
06-26-2007, 05:27 PM
I need this:

http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/7099/circleyz3.jpg

And someone on the first page gave me an example from Garry's mod. I'm just trying to get a bloody circle that I can manipulate a little. :p

DeadlyContagion
06-26-2007, 06:38 PM
I don't see what's so bloody difficult that needs displacements.

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/2844/sothere0001no9.th.jpg (http://img152.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sothere0001no9.jpg)
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/62/sothere0000du2.th.jpg (http://img152.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sothere0000du2.jpg)

^ Is this what you meant? ^ :confused:

link2009
06-26-2007, 07:13 PM
How in God's bloody name did you bloody do that mate? Please elaborate :p.

BUT, the only problem is that in your design you can see the sides...I just want a full circle :D.

DeadlyContagion
06-26-2007, 11:32 PM
About 5 mins BTW. Anyway, I used a prefab cylinder (14 sides so that two would be flat for easily adding those paths), hollowed it out, cut off the top and bottom. Made another smaller cylinder to fit inside and shortened it to create and indentation and then added the smaller dias on top of that. You may want to tweak the outside rim with vertex editing because the cuts made during hollowing arent pretty.

http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/5755/uglycutsab7.th.jpg (http://img156.imageshack.us/my.php?image=uglycutsab7.jpg)

Was this more what you were thinking? (Use vertex manipulated blocks to make a block around the cylinder and then build your floor around that. Takes a while, but its worth it)

http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/47/wasthiswhatyouwerethinkck3.th.jpg (http://img207.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wasthiswhatyouwerethinkck3.jpg)

Well feel free to expand on this, I would definitley like to see what your making. Oh, and heres a tip for mapping, keep your snap to grid sizes large until your ready to do fine detail work, it just makes things simpler. And also, II'm going to be burned for this, but... don't be afraid to use carve :eek:. It is a very useful time-saving tool as long as you don't abuse it, i.e. don't carve complex shapes (like cats :D).

Angry Beaver
06-27-2007, 08:30 PM
Don't hollow cylinder FTLOG use the Arc tool

perrapaap
06-28-2007, 03:34 AM
when i'm carving instead of using the arch tool, the compile takes actually min 5 minutes more than with the arch. (i made a round map :D) so i agree with Angry Beaver on this one :) cute kitten btw beaver.

DeadlyContagion
06-28-2007, 11:30 AM
In my defence, I was trying to make it as fast as possible and didnt think of the arch method. ;)