PDA

View Full Version : Stuck at "Scanning for Steam Game Updates"


Skullar
08-04-2008, 02:51 AM
Like a lot of you guys, I've had troubles after the recent big update.

Unlike a lot of people, I've had no luck fixing the problem after experimenting with deleting:
* Steam.dll
* SteamUI.dll
* ClientRegistry.Blob

I was downloading a big update for TF2, a few days back, when my computer rebooted somewhere during or directly after the download process.

Now when I go to start up TF2, I log in to Steam okay, but it gets stuck at the next phase. It gets stuck at "Scanning for Steam Game Updates".

It doesn't update. And if I just leave it on, unsuccessfully trying, all that happens is that the Steam text file log gets bigger and bigger (as it logs its Steam jibberish), to the point where I have to delete it.

Any help would be so cool.

Skullar
08-04-2008, 02:56 AM
Here is what is in the Steam text log, repeating over and over:

CsComm Session Aug-04-2008 01:27:53.897 [232] ReconnectThread (232) Starting

DebugAssert, Name: ?, Line: 1091, Expr: DirEntry.IsValid(), File: .\Src\CacheFileFixedDirectory.cpp


DebugAssert, Name: ?, Line: 1091, Expr: DirEntry.IsValid(), File: .\Src\CacheFileFixedDirectory.cpp


DebugAssert, Name: ?, Line: 1097, Expr: PrevEntry.IsValid(), File: .\Src\CacheFileFixedDirectory.cpp


DebugAssert, Name: ?, Line: 1097, Expr: PrevEntry.IsValid(), File: .\Src\CacheFileFixedDirectory.cpp


DebugAssert, Name: ?, Line: 1091, Expr: DirEntry.IsValid(), File: .\Src\CacheFileFixedDirectory.cpp


DebugAssert, Name: ?, Line: 1097, Expr: PrevEntry.IsValid(), File: .\Src\CacheFileFixedDirectory.cpp

Skullar
08-04-2008, 03:00 AM
I'm able to access the Steam main menu, as it endlessly tries to update, but when I click on My Games or other tabs, it just tries to update again and fails.

I'm also able to access my correct account screen, which shows my basic stats, lists my friends and their current online status. But that's about it.

Skullar
08-04-2008, 01:02 PM
Anyone have any ideas?

Skullar
08-05-2008, 08:13 PM
Anyone? Please?

AciD
08-06-2008, 03:20 AM
Try deleting all files from you Steam installation folder except Steam.exe and SteamApps folder.
Note:If you want to keep your favoritue servers list make a backup copy of file serverbrowser.vdf located in C:\Program Files\Steam\config.
(I assume you got Steam installed in C:\Program Files\Steam)

Skullar
08-11-2008, 07:58 PM
Try deleting all files from you Steam installation folder except Steam.exe and SteamApps folder.
Note:If you want to keep your favoritue servers list make a backup copy of file serverbrowser.vdf located in C:\Program Files\Steam\config.
(I assume you got Steam installed in C:\Program Files\Steam)

Hi, I'm back from a short vacation. Thank you for the reply. I did what you suggested not long after my first post and it didn't produce any positive results.

Should I try again, except this time following the 'Cleanly reinstalling Steam' help page written by the Valve Developer Community?

Also, I'm thinking that since it all orbited around a Team Fortress update, maybe I should use add/remove programs to delete TF ? Then re-download all of TF?

Major Del
08-12-2008, 12:54 AM
This seems like a common issue as I'm getting a similar issue with still no solution. both my Half Life 2 and Source SDK Base are stuck at "Download Starting... I have tried all these fixes and the problem is still there. The next step I suppose is to delete local content of Half Life 2. My only concern is that it may interfer with other Source games, or will it not be an issue to delete the Half life 2 and try to redownload it?

Thanks for any help

Skullar
08-15-2008, 04:18 PM
I have that dilemma too, Major Del. Since my DVD rom drive failed recently, I'm hesitant to completely uninstall TF. I'm wondering if all of TF will download.

Skullar
08-17-2008, 12:15 PM
I fixed my problem

I moved all Team Fortress stuff out of SteamApps, along with my local content folder. Steam downloaded everything back, replacing any bad files. I then deleted what I moved.

Boom, I'm back on Steam and playing

Azurth
09-25-2009, 02:44 AM
i think i was experiencing the same problem and i just had to delete the "Team fortress content.cfg" and the "Sourcesdk.cfg" in the steamapps folder.

Satch
10-16-2009, 05:10 AM
Guys, i bringing this topic back to life as im having same problem. I load up steam fine, but i cant play ANY games on it. I click on Tools, Media OR Games and its just blank saying 'Scanning for Steam Game Updates...' And ive waited an hour+ for it to show my games but it just wont. Done restart of PC and steam many times over. Deleted Clientregistry.blob and did latest update again still with no luck. Any help on my situation would be much appreciated as I cant play any games atall at the moment as 90% of them run through steam....

Thanks again.
-SatcH

sander_dutch
10-23-2009, 02:37 AM
I had the same problem today and after clientregistry.blob didn't fix it, I decided to opt for the Steam Beta client so the client would be fully reinstalled.

IT WORKED!

It seems like the new Killing Floor update did something to Steam, because as soon as Steam started working again with the beta client, it started downloading the new Killing Floor update.
The beta client can be installed if you go into Steam, then file/settings/account and then opt for the beta client from the pull down menu.

Feel free to add rep if this solved your problem :)

Craized
11-13-2009, 07:11 PM
I'm having this problem now too, I tried the suggestions in this thread and in the others. Nothing works. It was working fine just 20 minutes ago, I shut down my computer to clean out the dust because temps were getting high, and when I booted up again I got this...

Steam is hogging my bandwidth, as if it is downloading something, so I'll probably just let it run all night and see if it ever finishes whatever it's doing. Some transparency would be nice though, I'd like to know exactly what it's doing instead of this vague "scanning for updates" message.

Edit: It just finished, turns out it was a Global Agenda update.

Number11th
11-17-2009, 06:29 AM
I'm having this problem now too, I tried the suggestions in this thread and in the others. Nothing works. It was working fine just 20 minutes ago, I shut down my computer to clean out the dust because temps were getting high, and when I booted up again I got this...

Steam is hogging my bandwidth, as if it is downloading something, so I'll probably just let it run all night and see if it ever finishes whatever it's doing. Some transparency would be nice though, I'd like to know exactly what it's doing instead of this vague "scanning for updates" message.

Edit: It just finished, turns out it was a Global Agenda update.

how long did it take?

HawkAce
11-17-2009, 06:39 AM
Anyone having this problem(stuck/stopped on:"scanning for steam games updates"); it may be because you pre-ordered or pre-downloaded a game, and it's somehow slowing down or freezing your Steam completely.

As for me I pre-ordered and pre-downloaded “Left 4 Dead 2”... So I closed Steam and went to my “Steam” directory, and into my “steamapps” (D:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps) and deleted the “Left 4 Dead 2” - “.gcf” or “.ncf” files (Mine had: “left 4 dead 2 client.ncf” and “left 4 dead 2 common.ncf” but your's may be different)...
After that I went into my “Common” folder in steamapps also, and deleted the “Left 4 Dead 2” folder.

After which I brought Steam back on-line and it was no longer stuck on “Scanning for steam games updates ...” and I then right clicked on my “Left 4 Dead 2” game and told it to install, and so far its being fine, but I dare not restart steam after its installed, If anything I should of left it un-installed and waited a few days after the release date, so that it would not only; not run the risk of being stuck on the search, but also download quicker.

But I'm going for it anyway, and if it doesn't work then I'll post it on here.
And if you try this with another game that you pre-ordered/downloaded and it doesn't work then
don't go trollin'!.. The files you got rid of should still be in your "Recycle Bin" on your desktop/tool's.

SurrenderMonkey
11-17-2009, 06:59 AM
wtf... How many hoops you have to jump through to get this working. :/

D13N3R
11-17-2009, 07:08 AM
Well it's the Left 4 Dead 2 preload that ♥♥♥♥ed up my steam. This Left 4 Dead 2 preload sucked hard need to download it again.

SurrenderMonkey
11-17-2009, 07:11 AM
deleted l4d2 ncf files, re-downloading... :/ effin' hell.

BoogieManFL
11-17-2009, 07:51 AM
It's doing the same thing to me, it's getting very tiresome. I've tried everything I've found on several different forums. Searching for Steam Scanning etc gives you tons of hit. The problem appears quite wide spread.

I let it go for awhile and eventually it was done, appears to be working now.

GIGAR
11-17-2009, 08:05 AM
Jesus christ VALVe, how many times do you need to screw up releases of new games?!
Normally, I defend both VALVe AND Steam with teeth and claw, but sometimes, you're realling making life hard for people like me :/

aharon
11-17-2009, 08:17 AM
yea me and my friend have the same problem, we both preloaded l4d2 and now our steam is scanning for updates, mine has been scanning since 11 this morning (uk) and now a new box has poped up a few times saying decrypting steam files.

i would suggest just letting steam run its course for abit befor you start fiddling with all the reg and file stuff.

in defence of steam this is the first issue iv had with a preload and at least now something is being fixed.

matty13
11-17-2009, 08:21 AM
Hold on a minute, last update to steam was to support left 4 dead 2? well doesn't look like steam 'supports' it to me, its bugged up everybody's steam the preload anyway.

Im not deleting or messing with my steam files, when is an update expected to fix this? hopefully tonight.

x4nit0s
11-17-2009, 08:25 AM
Same here fellas, preordered/preloaded L4D2 and when I went to reboot my box after a Win update Steam is hanging like everyone else.

I did as HawkAce suggested, all I needed to do was delete the two .ncf files in /steam/steamapps and it works!

Biffjab
11-17-2009, 08:27 AM
I'm having the same probems , trying my best to get them sorted , if I do get them fixed I will report back with what I did to get it working :).

Archanor
11-17-2009, 08:50 AM
Same problem here. This is so frustrating.

HawkAce
11-17-2009, 09:00 AM
Glad I could help, I dont see why any Steam moderators/admins didn't mention this soloution.. It's a wide spread problem too.

Satch
11-17-2009, 09:06 AM
Im having the same problem guys. Its stuck on 'scanning for steam games updates'. I logged into a friends account with no problems, all the games list is there. I really want 2 get this fixed, its pissing me off so ♥♥♥in much!!! :@:@

Archanor
11-17-2009, 09:17 AM
I think I found a solution: wait.

I waited for about 20 minutes, and the L4D2 update finished.
So all you have to do is just wait around until something happens.

liamsharkey
11-17-2009, 09:21 AM
the solution posted by HawkAce works very well so i say ty to him and say you should all try if you got this problem cause of l4d2

DevilSShadoW
11-17-2009, 09:26 AM
As an extra to HawkAce's solution, instead of completely deleting l4d2, just cut and paste it somewhere else instead of deleting it, and after you get you games list back and you click on "install l4d2", pause the update, exit steam, go to where you copied the l4d2 folder, go inside the folder, delete the l4d .exe file and the l4d2 .ico file then copy the game back to steamapps/common and start steam again. If your steam client starts to update again, pause it then check the intergrity of the game files and do a defragment of the game files. It should now just download the .exe and the .ico and everything should work as planned.

Powle
11-17-2009, 09:34 AM
....

THX so much! It works!

TreasureDen
11-17-2009, 09:43 AM
I just deleted everything L4D2 related. Thanks so much for the preloaded. :o

Zakan Mikhael
11-17-2009, 09:57 AM
Solution Posted at the following link:

(Topic) How To Fix: "Scanning for updates..."
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?p=12069138#post12069138

quidxrazer
11-17-2009, 10:00 AM
As an extra to HawkAce's solution, instead of completely deleting l4d2, just cut and paste it somewhere else instead of deleting it, and after you get you games list back and you click on "install l4d2", pause the update, exit steam, go to where you copied the l4d2 folder, go inside the folder, delete the l4d .exe file and the l4d2 .ico file then copy the game back to steamapps/common and start steam again. If your steam client starts to update again, pause it then check the intergrity of the game files and do a defragment of the game files. It should now just download the .exe and the .ico and everything should work as planned.
That worked, it's downloading something big but at least not 100% of the game, thx a lot man.

MrGiggly
11-17-2009, 11:23 AM
Like Archanor, I waited for about 15 mins and the games list eventually returned with LFD2 (preloaded) starting from approx 98%

quidxrazer
11-17-2009, 12:16 PM
Damn now the game doesn not decrypt...

MajorgamerQc
11-17-2009, 02:17 PM
I've waited approximatively 20 mins and now it's ok. I would wait if i were you or maybe restart your PC when Steam will be less busy tonight.

Nomadski
11-17-2009, 03:55 PM
the solution posted by HawkAce works very well so i say ty to him and say you should all try if you got this problem cause of l4d2

^^This.

Solved my problem too. +rep for you Hawk.

hjd_uk
11-17-2009, 05:05 PM
:mad: FUUUUUUU!

FFS, L4D2 preload ♥♥♥♥ed my install too, thanks Valve *derp*.
Having to DL it all over again, great!

Vernalator
11-17-2009, 08:37 PM
I did a variation of that... renamed the two l4d2 gcf and ncf files and renamed the common/l4d2 directory. Started steam (game showed as not installed.... which means I could now see the games... not stuck on 'scanning'). Shut down steam. Renamed everything back to what it was. Restarted Steam. Right click on game and select Launch. States it is downloading an update and will start in 14 minutes. Unsure if it works yet, but it is progress. Talking to other players... they said WAIT for 30 minutes and it should work.

SurrenderMonkey
11-18-2009, 05:24 AM
Dunno why it does that. Could be because the preload is so old (a few updates away). Next time, I'll preload as late as possible. Which kind of defeats the point :/

nzag1971
11-18-2009, 02:39 PM
What HawkAce said solved the problem for me.

EntropyGuard
11-18-2009, 04:15 PM
I have dial up at home. So I took my whole computer out to where I could have a fast connection to download L4D2. I got everything set up and working perfectly. I made sure to shut down into offline mode. Then I took everything apart and moved it back.

Turns out I would be kicked from singleplayer L4D2 because of "No Steam Login". Fine, I go online (after a long time connecting). I am able to play.

I try to play today and of course I can't start in offline mode because I didn't shut down into offline mode. Also, Steam hangs and stops responding on "Scanning for Steam games updates...". I read this thread and the answer is delete everything and redownload it. Give me a damn break. I continue to buy everything through steam even though I can't get highspeed at my apartment and now I can't even play dragon age or torchlight because "Scanning for Steam games updates..."

Guess its time to take everything apart again. Ugh.

HawkAce
11-19-2009, 11:07 AM
As an extra to HawkAce's solution, instead of completely deleting l4d2, just cut and paste it somewhere else instead of deleting it, and after you get you games list back and you click on "install l4d2", pause the update, exit steam, go to where you copied the l4d2 folder, go inside the folder, delete the l4d .exe file and the l4d2 .ico file then copy the game back to steamapps/common and start steam again. If your steam client starts to update again, pause it then check the intergrity of the game files and do a defragment of the game files. It should now just download the .exe and the .ico and everything should work as planned.

Yeah sorry I didn't mention that you could back it up to make it faster, everything I delete goes to my Recycle Bin, so I usually just depend on that. :)

Azurth
11-20-2009, 03:40 AM
I had this problem quite a while ago (lol the post is above)because i found a sloution to this same problem but it was caused by TF2 and for some reason SourceSDK (possibly becase it had some content linked to tf2). Anyway i experienced the problem again now and it turns out its killing floor that was causing it this time. So i just delete and redownload and steam works fine.

My solution to this and any future "scanning for steam game updates" problems:

In future or if killing floor is not the problem for some people, while running steam and whilst it is scanning for steam game updates, go to your steamapps folder and cut and paste all the .gcf's and .ncf's to a different folder. because steam is running it will most likely not allow you to copy 1 of the files. This file should be the one that is causing all the trouble. Exit Steam and then move/delete this file and when you restart steam it should work again and all you have to do is redownload the missing file.

This solution has worked for me everytime so hopefully it helps everyone else out as well.

Lol feel free to +rep me if my solution works.

SummermoonUK
06-09-2010, 04:28 AM
Didn't work for me and I never had LFd2 installed in the first place.

Ive tried everything. What does work is a system restore to before Steam did an update to the UI. I can then play a game but as soon as it update Im stuffed.

Never had this problem with dedicated servers did we!

WE were able to kick people off who were abusive.

Controls gone from us who pay the money

kcpokemonkid
12-04-2010, 03:00 PM
Try deleting all files from you Steam installation folder except Steam.exe and SteamApps folder.
Note:If you want to keep your favoritue servers list make a backup copy of file serverbrowser.vdf located in C:\Program Files\Steam\config.
(I assume you got Steam installed in C:\Program Files\Steam)Wont That Crash It!?!:confused: AND NOW I DONT HAVE A WORKING COPY OF STEAM

kcpokemonkid
12-04-2010, 03:17 PM
WOW im just WOW

Sashimi Roll
08-23-2012, 01:22 PM
All I did was Opt into the Steam Beta as stated above, and it worked perfectly. :D

Mic_128
08-24-2012, 09:46 PM
Thanks Sashimi, that worked perfectly!

TheTurnipKing
12-04-2012, 02:28 AM
Hmm, my client has been doing this since the Big Picture update.

Just left it scanning overnight and it's still not launching anything.

Still need to try monkeying around with the blobs and whatnot, but even so, it's not a great feeling when Steam suddenly and arbitrarily decides to deny you access to all the games you've paid for.

Mateos
07-27-2013, 06:39 AM
Hi there, my turn to bump this thread.

So today as yesterday I was going to play a game on Steam, and I got into this issue, for every game I tried to launch.

Tried verifying a game cache, stop Steam and clear it's folder excepted steam.exe/steamapps/userdata, backinp up a game, uninstalling it... Hell, when I tried to reinstall it, the issue happened again!

So I opt in the Beta, and Steam tried to update all the games I configured to NOT update (Half-Lifes series, because I like mods), it made the computer slow, Task Manager helped, reinstalling from disk but Steam wanted to download 3 GB of it, Task Manager again, then finally Steamwas OK to reinstall 100% of the game through the backup, and games launch now.

I did not have this issue yesterday fyi.

Let's hope it will not happen again...

blacke99
07-27-2013, 09:22 AM
Why everyone want to do that?