PDA

View Full Version : Forcing update on a server?


BogdanM
04-28-2004, 09:10 PM
How can I get my server updated it?

Just RCON QUIT doesn't help anymore.

Also restarting server from console (SSH) doesnt work either...

Help pls.

Snowknight26
04-28-2004, 09:16 PM
You would have to ask your server provider to run the HLDS update tool or ask them to add -autoupdate (not sure) to the HLDS command line.

BogdanM
04-28-2004, 09:20 PM
Well i have my sahre on a dedicated server and i do have the autoupdate part in the command line.

How do i run the HLDS update tool manually? Cause i cant see any.

Snowknight26
04-28-2004, 09:22 PM
You would have to download it seporately. I dont know the address off the top of my head, so someone hopefully will point you to it and give you some instructions on how to use it. If not, I will PM you tomorrow with a link and instructions.

qUiCkSiLvEr
04-28-2004, 09:26 PM
WIN32 servers do not autoudate at this time, only Linux servers do.

You can get the latest WIN32 only HLDSUpdateTool and premade batchfiles and a readme with instructions here:
HLDSUpdatetool (http://home.covad.net/~k25125/Server/hldsupdatetool7.zip)

You have to edit the batch files with notepad and update the server account EMAIL, PASSword and path if required.

If you have a Linux server then -autoupdate should do the job ... if it doesn't then there is some mystery there.

BogdanM
04-28-2004, 09:29 PM
My server is linux, and did not update by itself.

BogdanM
04-28-2004, 09:32 PM
Also need to mention that steam updated on a server restart before.

Zardif
09-28-2004, 12:51 AM
ok our server has no one that we can contact to add -autoupdate but we have ftp access i was wondering if i can add -autoupdate to any of the files so it will update and maybe fix it so that our server will be seen from the steam list

elmerfudd
09-28-2004, 04:16 AM
edit hlds_run
at the beginning, there are many variables. here are the ones you want to set:

AUTO_UPDATE="yes"
STEAM="./steam"
STEAM_USER="yoursteamaccountnameinquotes"
STEAM_PASSWORD="yoursteamaccountpasswordinquotes"

ps: change the existing ones