PDA

View Full Version : GTA San Andreas won't start


Antipunk217
06-25-2009, 11:37 AM
Looking for a little help here..... I try to launch GTA San Andreas and after it says, "Preparing to launch Grand Theft Auto San Andreas," the popup eventually disappears and nothing happens. Any help would be greatly appreciated thank you.

Anudu
06-25-2009, 01:47 PM
Do you use 2 monitors? In that case, a little window appears somewhere(!), asking you on which one you wanna play. This window is sometimes hidden behind other things, like the Steam window, etc.

Just a guess.

GoodFriend123
06-25-2009, 02:20 PM
I recently had the issue whereby any GTA game (GTA 3, GTA:VC, GTA:SA) would show the message "Preparing to launch"... and would appear in Task Manager briefly, but then close.

This was after I had reinstalled Vista on my system, and I could not figure out what the problem was, because the games worked fine before I reinstalled.

I tried reinstalling Steam, redownloading the games, verifying the files, all to no avail.

Eventually, it occured to me that maybe the Nvidia ForceWare drivers were the problem...

I had installed ForceWare Release 175 (175.16), as these had been made available recently, in May 2008. Befre restoring my system, I had been using ForceWare Release 169 (169.25), as these were released in December 2007.

I uninstalled 175.16, and reinstalled 169.25, and now the game sucesfully launches and runs.

I hope this helps some people. You can download archived drviers from Nvidia, at this page:

http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx

REP ME !!!

El Pollo Diablo
06-25-2009, 08:39 PM
you might try to delete the file gta_sa.set in the "GTA San Andreas User Files" folder and restart the game.

Antipunk217
06-25-2009, 11:38 PM
Goodfriend123, that sounds like a plan....I will give that a shot. I do not play on dual monitors, but thank you all for responding

GoodFriend123
06-26-2009, 12:14 AM
So and plz dont forgot rep me
I hope this works

Tihocan
10-12-2009, 12:43 PM
you might try to delete the file gta_sa.set in the "GTA San Andreas User Files" folder and restart the game.

Thank you so much for this. My laptop died some months ago and I carried my files over to my new one. I could never figure out why it wouldn't start for me, and I can't believe I never even thought that it had something to do with the userfiles. Now it's finally working again for me, I really appreciate this!

digitaldna
10-12-2009, 08:46 PM
maybe off-topic, but why was goodfriend banned??

BasBalManic
10-17-2009, 12:26 PM
maybe off-topic, but why was goodfriend banned??

Yeah, I was kinda wondering that myself.

you might try to delete the file gta_sa.set in the "GTA San Andreas User Files" folder and restart the game.

Thank you Pollo Diablo, this helped me immeasurably. And I like your name.

braddtatum
10-07-2010, 01:51 PM
you might try to delete the file gta_sa.set in the "GTA San Andreas User Files" folder and restart the game.

Worked like a charm! Thank you!

Lostie
01-30-2012, 10:08 AM
This worked for me too.

greatvova
02-04-2012, 06:01 AM
I deleted *.set files from gta folders and everything went fine. Now it's works.

iownyuass
02-09-2012, 05:41 PM
hello i dunno if u used to roll back to 1.0 nor 1.01 but...

fix that by renamin your fresh GTA_SA.EXE with this :

"gta-sa.exe" notice the ----- instead of _____