PDA

View Full Version : How to view cutscenes fullscreen ingame


Gaco
09-24-2009, 09:19 AM
Here is the an exe for those of you who want to want the cutscenes fullscreen:
http://rapidshare.com/files/284406174/JK.fullscreen.7z.html

To be honest I don't if this is the original exe or a patched/custom one, but the fact is that it works.

Beware of the following:

1. When launching the game and when going from game to menu via escape botton, one has to alt-tab in and out or press windows botton and maximize the game again. Otherwise the screen will stay black although you can hear the menu click sounds and everything works, it's no good without a visual.

2. The menu sometimes and quite randomly mess up some or all colors on the screen. This does not affect any functionality and is merely a visual glitch.

3. The opening cutscenes with the lucasarts logo and subsequent opening cutscene has weird colors. Skip it and watch it from the menu cutscene launcher instead, from there it looks fine. Note that the second game cutscene that comes when you launch a new game plays with fine colors the normal way and does not have to be viewed through the main menu cutscene launcher as the first has to.

These three glitches are the prices you pay for fullscreen cutscenes experiences, but they're quite worth it IMO :)

Hopefully the mods won't react on this because it's possibly an exe originating from a non-legal version of the game.. the only practical difference between this and the Steam version is the glitch-free-windowed and glitched-fullscreen, neither requires CD as we know.

joel96
04-17-2010, 09:58 PM
That file has been taken off of RapidShare because it hasn't been used for so long. Can you put it up again?

I think there's an easier fix. You have to go into set launch options in Steam. I don't know the commands though because I'm apparently not an advanced user.

Gaco
08-01-2010, 02:38 AM
Sorry I've not been able to locate the file again :(

Document
07-27-2011, 03:33 AM
I think there's an easier fix. You have to go into set launch options in Steam. I don't know the commands though because I'm apparently not an advanced user.
I don't think there's a command line option for full screen; this list (http://www.jkhub.net/library/index.php/Reference:Command_Line_Switches) looks exhaustive. It's not a matter of turning off the -windowgui option, because the "Launch Options" field in Steam is blank; the Steam version seems to have the EXE itself modified or wrappered to force windowed mode.

That said, I found this (http://forums.massassi.net/vb3/showthread.php?56665-Jedi-Knight-issues) on Massassi.net:
Steam JK is the patched version 1.01 that nobody ever used and nothing is properly programmed for.
Use this (http://www.jkhub.net/project/get.php?id=1878) useful patch from The_Mega_ZZTer to revert to 1.0
It's not technically a patch, but it does open a temporary folder containing a jk.1.00.exe that you can use to replace the Steam exe. After using the instructions here (http://www.lucasforums.com/showpost.php?p=2712169&postcount=31) to stop the CD checking, you just need to run the EXE (rather than launching it through Steam) to get a full-screen game.

Unfortunately, that still leaves MotS; I could upload my EXE for that, but I don't know how you'd disable its CD checking afterward. Is it a registry key you edit? Or maybe you can mount the JK and MotS install folders as virtual drives? This post (http://forums.massassi.net/vb3/showthread.php?54712-Mysteries-of-the-Sith-cutscenes&p=1015786&viewfull=1#post1015786) is a possible lead, but I'm up too late already.