Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2009, 01:17 PM   #1
ChrisCTX
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 494
Posts: 444
[Must Read] Low FPS Fix!

THIS CONTINUES TO WORK EVEN AFTER VALVE's FIX ATTEMPT

This has worked for plenty of people in this thread so I suggest you read it completely, however be aware that your millage may vary, perhaps you will gain something perhaps not, but you will never lose

Everybody has experienced how FPS are going down the drain recently with TF2, however I believe I've found one of the sources (I'm pretty sure there many others) and found a way to fix it, so enough with the rambling I'm going straight to the point:


The folder:

Code:
C:\Program Files\Steam\appcache\stats
Contains a file called:
Code:
UserGameStats_####_####  (# = some numbers)
This file keeps records of god knows what about TF2, and it gets updated EXTREMELY frequently while playing.

The problem is that, most of us run high quality Anti-virus programs and they tend to scan all files that get updated in the system, and a lot of them tend to do so the instant it happens, clogging up the processor and making our FPSs die.

Apparently, having a multicore processor and fast hard drives (or a RAID 0 config) makes this even worse.


HOW TO FIX Video (credits to MafiaGuy7)
  • Open up your Anti-virus program
  • Go to the settings menu
  • Select Exceptions/Exclusions
  • Add the following folder to the scan exceptions
Code:
C:\Program Files\Steam\appcache\stats
Reboot if your Anti-virus needs to and enjoy a smooth game of TF2

How to fix, Visually (pictures are easy):
NOTE: User who have performed this action have been reporting frame-rate gains or stability in other STEAM games, while it seems plausible I have not tested it myself.

Go now! do it! (rep welcome :P)

Last edited by ChrisCTX: 03-13-2010 at 04:11 PM.
ChrisCTX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 01:30 PM   #2
Coupon
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 185
Posts: 3,406
Interesting.

I'm lucky enough to get around 60fps no matter what, so I probably won't see much of a difference. But I am curious to see if it can help those with FPS troubles.
Coupon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 06:33 PM   #3
hwxlhrider
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 1
Posts: 418
Help my lag
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coupon View Post
Interesting.

I'm lucky enough to get around 60fps no matter what, so I probably won't see much of a difference. But I am curious to see if it can help those with FPS troubles.
hwxlhrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 01:33 PM   #4
CGRW
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 76
Posts: 585
Will try it out. The game has been unplayable lately, and I'm grateful of any help.
CGRW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 01:40 PM   #5
Ensi
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Antivirus: AVG Free
CPU: AMD 945 (quad 3ghz)
GPU: GTX 275

FPS: Average around 60 fps, may go down to 30 during heavy circlejerking.

Resolution: 1920x1080
Everything maxed.

EDIT: Never experienced a notable decrease in FPS during any updates.

Last edited by Ensi: 12-31-2009 at 01:45 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 11:50 AM   #6
lernop11
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
How do I do that with avg??? I cant find the anti virus settings
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 11:57 AM   #7
carpenter940
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 8
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by lernop11 View Post
How do I do that with avg??? I cant find the anti virus settings
The AVG link is on the first page. Maybe you have a different version so it might be slightly different. Post your version here or better yet, poke around your AVG, I bet you'll find it.
carpenter940 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 09:19 PM   #8
EyelanderHunger
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 70
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ensi View Post
Antivirus: AVG Free
CPU: AMD 945 (quad 3ghz)
GPU: GTX 275

FPS: Average around 60 fps, may go down to 30 during heavy circlejerking.

Resolution: 1920x1080
Everything maxed.

EDIT: Never experienced a notable decrease in FPS during any updates.
lol rly?
i have a 3.4 phenom II quad (oc'd to 3.75) and a 4870x2 radeon, so my system is only somewhat better than yours, yet i get around 350 fps normally with everything maxed (HDR, everything) and it never goes below 80, not even on 32insta 2fort.
EyelanderHunger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 01:35 PM   #9
TF2MakP
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 65
+20 fps.
.
TF2MakP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 01:36 PM   #10
chickenm4n
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 197
Posts: 1,872
what if we made the whole steam folder an exception?

plus, i always turn off my anti-virus when i play. would this apply to me?

Last edited by chickenm4n: 12-31-2009 at 01:38 PM.
chickenm4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 08:04 PM   #11
P_O_D_U_N_K
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by chickenm4n View Post
what if we made the whole steam folder an exception?

plus, i always turn off my anti-virus when i play. would this apply to me?
for bit defender NO Improvement

until i add the specific folder and turn game mode on


bit defender "game mode" improvement in fps!

Last edited by P_O_D_U_N_K: 07-04-2010 at 08:09 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 04:16 PM   #12
theyoungster1
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by chickenm4n View Post
what if we made the whole steam folder an exception?

plus, i always turn off my anti-virus when i play. would this apply to me?
nope.
theyoungster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 05:52 AM   #13
messifoster88
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Lightbulb What about turning off antivirus settings for the entire steam folder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chickenm4n View Post
what if we made the whole steam folder an exception?

plus, i always turn off my anti-virus when i play. would this apply to me?
That sounds like a good idea to me, what do u guys think?
messifoster88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 08:17 AM   #14
revenant2
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 1
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by chickenm4n View Post
what if we made the whole steam folder an exception?

plus, i always turn off my anti-virus when i play. would this apply to me?


If u do that then it cant protect your pc. Most viruses hide until they are needed and anything can trigger them.
Its always the best option to never disable your anti virus software
revenant2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 01:36 PM   #15
yojimbojango
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 102
Posts: 1,371
Hey, I've got an old Pentium 4 (3ghz) with 2 gigs of ram and a Radeon 9600 that I adopted when my work was about to throw it in the trash. About how well did your machine perform? (Playable, but on what settings).

I ask because work was required to nuke the hard drive before they trashed it and I'd have to throw $50 bucks into it if I wanted it back up and running. It'd be cool if I could throw an extra copy of TF2 on here so I could have people over to play, but if it'll suck really badly then I'll probably just forget it and try to make it into a DVR or something.
yojimbojango is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.