Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Shellshock 2: Blood Trails

Old 01-08-2010, 01:46 PM   #1
QuickCam7

Banned
Question Is this worth installing?

So I got this turd for approx. 3 bucks in the EIDOS pack... Its 6 GB big and Im just wondering if I should just save the space or give it a go for the lulz...
Old 01-08-2010, 10:55 PM   #2
RSHabroptilus

I've had some weird obsession with playing Rebellion's games lately (first Sniper Elite--a pretty great game, although the last few levels are too run-'n'-gun-y for what I was looking for in playing it; and then Judge Dredd, which really wasn't that bad: silly, stupid fun), and this holiday season brought a lot of them to my Steam account.

So I started playing Shellshock 2 just to "see," you know, "for teh lulz," &c., and now find myself playing it to the end.

But it kinda sucks. The gameplay is just...bland as hell. Often broken, obviously incomplete. I'll admit it's full of cool, b-movie, weird ideas, they're all just pulled off without any care from the developers. The atmosphere's pretty great--about half the time. The audio is absolutely eff'd up, which occasionally adds to the atmosphere. The gun-sounds are muffled, hardly audible, and instead the most incidental, ambient noise is pulsing through your ears, almost all you can flippin' hear. Boards creaking, a baby whining 2 football fields behind you, a creek running, etc. Not to mention your own walking sounds like five persons walking within the exact same space.

Play it just to see it. It's not a good game, but it almost--ALMOST--has that So Bad It's Good vibe to it.
RSHabroptilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 12:41 PM   #3
Shiwl

Banned
Its not a good game, not even a good story really. And its way short on game play and not worth the $29.99 Steam is selling it for. Glad I played it for way less, other wise... even bigger disappointment.
Shiwl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:06 AM   #4