Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Shatter

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2010, 10:11 AM   #1
Spire
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
Shatter Crashes (Solved!)

Well, I've been having this issue with the game and posted about it on the official forum, but this forum seems to be more active so I thought I'd post in here too. Basically the game just starts up to a blank black screen, then crashes on me, every time I try to run it. I posted more information about the issue in the other thread here:
http://forums.shattergame.com/showthread.php?t=39061

Anyone else having this issue? Or any ideas on how I might be able to fix it?

Edit: Problem Solved! The issue is caused by the Saitek Eclipse (PZ30AU) keyboard. See pg2 for work-around.

Last edited by Spire: 07-04-2010 at 11:36 AM.
Spire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 10:20 AM   #2
CalmWind23
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 64
Posts: 843
Do you have the latest DirectX installed?.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...7-5ab8109cb4f5
CalmWind23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 11:05 AM   #3
Spire
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
Unfortunately yes, I do have the latest Direct X installed. It doesn't help

Last edited by Spire: 03-16-2010 at 11:08 AM.
Spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 03:29 PM   #4
Ian G.
 
Ian G.'s Avatar
 
Sidhe
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 29
Hey Spire,

This is a humdinger of a crash, and not one we've seen before. We're looking into it now.

I'm really sorry you've not been able to get it up and running
Ian G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 03:44 PM   #5
Ian G.
 
Ian G.'s Avatar
 
Sidhe
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 29
Ok Spire,

Would you be able to try this for me and see if it helps?

1. Run shatter in windowed mode
2. Open the Task Manager (right click task bar, select "Start TaskManager")
3. Find SH.EXE right click on it, select "Set Priority", set to "Normal"
4. Switch back to shatter

Let me know how you get on with that, if it doesn't help let me know and we'll keep trying to hunt the problem down for you.
Ian G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 04:04 PM   #6
Spire
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
Hey Ian G. Thanks for the help!

In the task manager the priority for sh.exe seems to be set to normal by default. I tried clicking on normal anyway, but it didn't seem to help. I also tried setting it to each of the other priority settings from low to realtime, and none of them appeared to have any affect.
Spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 05:09 PM   #7
KrixBOI
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 22
Check your anti-virus because I got a virus warning from Norton 2010 about sh.exe and it got blocked and deleted.
I unblocked it in Norton and tried to download the game again.

And yes this AWESOME game works now
KrixBOI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 05:25 PM   #8
Spire
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by KrixBOI View Post
Check your anti-virus because I got a virus warning from Norton 2010 about sh.exe and it got blocked and deleted.
I unblocked it in Norton and tried to download the game again.

And yes this AWESOME game works now
That's a good idea. However, that is definitely not the cause in my case. I've already tried running the game without having anti-virus software/service running, and I'm still getting the same problem.

Ian G. just let me know what to try and I'll give it a shot, or if you need any more info let me know! Thanks!

Last edited by Spire: 03-16-2010 at 05:28 PM.
Spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 05:24 PM   #9
Ian G.
 
Ian G.'s Avatar
 
Sidhe
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spire View Post
Hey Ian G. Thanks for the help!

In the task manager the priority for sh.exe seems to be set to normal by default. I tried clicking on normal anyway, but it didn't seem to help. I also tried setting it to each of the other priority settings from low to realtime, and none of them appeared to have any affect.
Hmm, sounds like we're not on the right path there. I'll get the guys to keep looking into it
Ian G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 07:19 PM   #10
Film11
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Reputation: 191
Posts: 3,289
If you look in your event viewer (type event viewer in the start menu) and look for a log involving Shatter you might find some further info regarding the crash. Maybe a driver filename or something like that.
Film11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 07:33 PM   #11
Spire
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
Here is what I found from the Event Viewer directly after Shatter crashes:
http://pastebin.com/HRhc6sBh

Also, here is the information in the XML from the windows error report:
http://pastebin.com/QmfZ4Asb

the both seem to give pretty much the same information, something about ntdll.dll?

Last edited by Spire: 03-16-2010 at 08:01 PM.
Spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 01:58 PM   #12
Ian G.
 
Ian G.'s Avatar
 
Sidhe
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spire View Post
Here is what I found from the Event Viewer directly after Shatter crashes:
http://pastebin.com/HRhc6sBh

Also, here is the information in the XML from the windows error report:
http://pastebin.com/QmfZ4Asb

the both seem to give pretty much the same information, something about ntdll.dll?
Hey man,

Would you be able to do the following to give us a better idea of what might be going on:

> In the start menu, choose "run"
> In the run window type "dxdiag"
> When it's finished loading click "Save All Information"
> Then if you could e-mail the resulting txt file to support@sidhe.co.nz that'd be awesome
Ian G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 05:08 PM   #13
Spire
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
Done.
Spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 10:05 PM   #14
DaracSjet
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Hi Spire it's Antony here from Shatter dev.
Thanks for the info, we're looking into you problem.
This one's really got me puzzled. I read your post on the Sidhe forums and it really does seem like you've tried everything. Just so you know when you alt tab away from shatter we purposly run it at a slower framerate to give whatever application in the foreground some CPU and GPU time. This suggests to me that this is not a graphics problem.
The fact you can hear sound (only music?) in the main menu suggests it's not a problem with your sound card either.
In the few seconds where it doesn't crash when you alt tab back can you interact with it at all? Can you press space to get past the Shatter logo screen, will it instantly crash on any input or simply ignore the input?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 10:52 PM   #15
Spire
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
Ok, I tried to give it some input today and had some limited success.
First, I waited for it to get to the title screen where it says "press enter" (by alt-tabbing away from the shatter window).

If I alt-tab back to the shatter window, and then try to press enter, it doesn't seem to have any effect (and it doesn't cause it to completely crash immediately, either). Even after I alt-tab away from Shatter after pressing the Enter key, nothing changes and it stays on the title screen. It is as if I didn't press the enter key at all.

BUT, if I really SPAM the enter key as fast as I can while clicking back to the shatter window, and if I'm lucky, I hear a shattering sound effect play on-top of the menu music (but nothing actually changes on the screen since its still frozen). Alt-tabbing away from Shatter then shows the title screen break away (with a slow framerate) to reveal the main menu.

Spamming the enter key doesn't work every time I try, it seems to be a matter of luck when it actually works.

So to answer your questions, it seems to me that I CAN hear other sounds besides just the music. Also, it appears that it will accept input if I can maybe press the key at JUST the right moment.
Spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Shatter


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.