Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Blur

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2010, 12:36 AM   #1
acare84
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 582
Posts: 2,691
Question What kind of DRM will Blur use?

I searched the forums but I couldn't find it. Anyone has bought retail version of the game? It is using Securom or Steamworks or other kind of DRM? I hope it is using Steamworks because I can't prepurchase the game from here on Steam. If it is using Steam as a DRM, I will buy it retail. Thanks.
acare84 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 02:40 AM   #2
carson_uk
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 42
Posts: 1,233
I hope it connects to my Steam account, I've also pre ordered from a store (hasn't been dispatched yet tho) I know alot of poeple are against this but I do like updates to be done automaticly, being able to find my friends etc etc and lets be honest, other DRM is terrible, like having to be connected online in order to play? please...

But I guess we won't know for sure until some tries their retail copy.

Last edited by carson_uk: 05-25-2010 at 09:44 AM.
carson_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:20 AM   #3
dragon875
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 25
Posts: 191
I hope to find this out soon, whenever my copy decides to show up today.
dragon875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 01:41 PM   #4
Suicideking1000
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
I have been trying to find this info out. Have had no luck so far. I contacted Activision's Customer Support with:
"What type of DRM does Blur use?"

Their Response:
"We would not know. We do not have access to that information."

So I shoot back a response:
"Do you have any idea of where or who I would be able to contact to find out what DRM the PC version of Blur uses? I assumed as the publisher of the game, that information would be made available to (or even decided by) Activision. I always try to find out what DRM PC games use before purchasing them. It impacts my decision, and I have not been able to locate that information. Amazon and gamestop don't even have system requirements listed. And no place I have looked at has the DRM system shown, including Steam, Direct2Drive, Wal-Mart and Bestbuy. In todays world of Ubisoft like DRM, a lot of us PC Gamers like to know what we are actually buying."

They shoot back another response:
"You can try the forums here and see if you find anything: http://www.bizarrecreations.com/

They are the developer of the game. That's all that we know."

So I searched Bizarre Creations forums without luck. Found their facebook page and asked them there. Still waiting on a response.
Suicideking1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 02:13 PM   #5
carson_uk
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 42
Posts: 1,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suicideking1000 View Post
I have been trying to find this info out. Have had no luck so far. I contacted Activision's Customer Support with:
"What type of DRM does Blur use?"

Their Response:
"We would not know. We do not have access to that information."

So I shoot back a response:
"Do you have any idea of where or who I would be able to contact to find out what DRM the PC version of Blur uses? I assumed as the publisher of the game, that information would be made available to (or even decided by) Activision. I always try to find out what DRM PC games use before purchasing them. It impacts my decision, and I have not been able to locate that information. Amazon and gamestop don't even have system requirements listed. And no place I have looked at has the DRM system shown, including Steam, Direct2Drive, Wal-Mart and Bestbuy. In todays world of Ubisoft like DRM, a lot of us PC Gamers like to know what we are actually buying."

They shoot back another response:
"You can try the forums here and see if you find anything: http://www.bizarrecreations.com/

They are the developer of the game. That's all that we know."

So I searched Bizarre Creations forums without luck. Found their facebook page and asked them there. Still waiting on a response.
That goes to show how much of a activision give about this game on PC
carson_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 01:43 PM   #6
strangemodule
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 41
Posts: 992
Seems like Steam is the only "DRM" it uses, besides the obvious CD Key needed to make an account to play online.
strangemodule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 02:03 PM   #7
Suicideking1000
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Does that include the boxed versions as well (using Steamworks), or just the Steam version?
Suicideking1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 02:04 PM   #8
dragon875
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 25
Posts: 191
I am still waiting for my copy to come in the mail (UPS...)

Once I get it, I will confirm what DRM it has.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suicideking1000 View Post
Does that include the boxed versions as well (using Steamworks), or just the Steam version?
I think that is only for the steam version of the game.
dragon875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 05:19 PM   #9
dragon875
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 25
Posts: 191
Alright. I finally got my retail copy of the game. If anyone is still interested, this is what I found:
  • I can confirm that Blur requires the CD to be in the drive in order to play. (Unsure on which CD protection is in use)
  • There are no install limits. You can install this as many times as you want.
  • In the game case, there is a cd key printed on the manual. This key is not needed for installation of the game but is entered when you create an account. You can skip the account creation if you want.
  • Once starting the game, I was prompted to update it. So there is an automatic update service for this game.
  • Once I entered the game, It already knew my nickname.....creepy. Not sure where it got that information from.
dragon875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 05:36 PM   #10
Spyder810
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 36
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon875 View Post
[*]Once I entered the game, It already knew my nickname.....creepy. Not sure where it got that information from.[/LIST]
It grabs your windows username currently logged in.
Spyder810 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 10:16 PM   #11
StingingVelvet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 264
Posts: 4,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon875 View Post
Alright. I finally got my retail copy of the game. If anyone is still interested, this is what I found:
  • I can confirm that Blur requires the CD to be in the drive in order to play. (Unsure on which CD protection is in use)
  • There are no install limits. You can install this as many times as you want.
  • In the game case, there is a cd key printed on the manual. This key is not needed for installation of the game but is entered when you create an account. You can skip the account creation if you want.
  • Once starting the game, I was prompted to update it. So there is an automatic update service for this game.
  • Once I entered the game, It already knew my nickname.....creepy. Not sure where it got that information from.
So DRM-free at retail, Steam DRM on Steam. This makes the retail version better for DRM purposes, for those that consider it when purchasing.
StingingVelvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 07:32 AM   #12
dragon875
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 25
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingingVelvet View Post
So DRM-free at retail, Steam DRM on Steam. This makes the retail version better for DRM purposes, for those that consider it when purchasing.
If you want to be completely offline, then retail is for you. I am not sure if steam will let you play this game in offline mode or not. Can someone confirm?
dragon875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 08:01 AM   #13
rdmx
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 135
I have already tested Blur in offline mode, works fine
rdmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 08:21 AM   #14
dragon875
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 25
Posts: 191
That is great! So I guess it does not matter if you get it through steam or retail. Either way, their is practically no DRM. Awesome!
dragon875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 06:53 AM   #15
StingingVelvet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 264
Posts: 4,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon875 View Post
If you want to be completely offline, then retail is for you. I am not sure if steam will let you play this game in offline mode or not. Can someone confirm?
All Steam games are supposed to work in offline mode, though it is glitchy at times. I more meant the retail version is superior DRM-wise because it has no online activation and is not tied to an account, it is essentially DRM-free, while the Steam version uses Steam DRM.
StingingVelvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Blur


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.