Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2011, 06:45 AM   #1
XR-17
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 28
Posts: 405
HD 4890 Crossfire

Hi there SPUF

So, I'm having the opportunity of getting another video card for my computer, and I'm thinking on doing a crossfire with my ATI XFX HD 4890. It is worth it?

My specs are these:

Motherboard: Intel Extreme DP55SB
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 4890 1GB DDR5
Processor: Intel i7-860 LGA 1156 2.8GHz
Memory: 2X DDR3 2GB Kingston
Monitor: LG L1752S 17"

I'm thinking on connecting each one to an monitor, one for the 17"and another for a 32"LED TV (I made a thread about dual monitors awhile back).

I've read it's necessary to have a really powerful processor. Does the i7 handle it?

Thanks for the help.
XR-17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 06:50 AM   #2
Skruly
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 127
Posts: 372
Borg will see this in just a sec.
Skruly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 07:17 AM   #3
imeem
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 814
Posts: 2,846
Performance wise, I think it's worth it. a HD 4870x2 is faster than a GTX 470. Since ur planning to do HD 4890 in crossfirex, expect similar results. a HD 4890 is between HD 5830 and 5850 performance

HD 4870x2 Vs. GTX 470
imeem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 08:30 AM   #4
joemtnbike
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 1062
Posts: 2,427
If your Power supply up to the task, CrossfireX will provide a big jump in performance.
CrossfireX will also disable the video ports on the second card.
For dual monitors you will have to hook both monitors up to the primary card.
joemtnbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 08:38 AM   #5
Anlashok
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Reputation: 242
Posts: 338
Yes, it is what I am running, and the last poster is correct about having to run the monitors off the one card. In my set up its my top card i have to plug my monitors into. I have had no troubles in games or anything either. I think you will be very happy with that set up.
Anlashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 01:14 PM   #6
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2872
Posts: 13,523
I have a pair of these sucker's (Over clocked editions) CFX has been good for me and even better on the 11.2 driver's

Crysis 2 demo 60+fps almost max setting's... (1 notch down on 1 setting iirc)

If your PSU is up to go for it..

Looking at the above 4870x2 Vs GTX470 i would put a pair of 4890's close to GTX 480 performance when CFX scales well..

It's worth It IMO
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 08:02 PM   #7
XR-17
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 28
Posts: 405
Thanks for the help guys. I just figured out that I don't have enough power supply cables. Each card uses 2. I'll have to buy two cables with two 6-pin output each.
XR-17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 08:14 PM   #8
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2872
Posts: 13,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by XR-17 View Post
Thanks for the help guys. I just figured out that I don't have enough power supply cables. Each card uses 2. I'll have to buy two cables with two 6-pin output each.
does you PSU have enough power??

I don't know what my 2 HD4890's take to run but I'm using a 850W PSU with a 130W quad core CPU and Liquid cooling..

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMD
500 Watt or greater power supply with two 75W 6-pin PCI Express® power connectors recommended (600 Watt and four 6-pin connectors for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode)

Last edited by borg_7_of_9: 03-12-2011 at 08:20 PM.
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 08:36 PM   #9
XR-17
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 28
Posts: 405
I have an OCZ 700W. I just don't have the cables to connect the video card.

My PSU only have two outputs for the 6-pin cables. However, I need another two to connect the other 4890. Is it worth to look for a "Y" cable, with two outputs for one input? I would need two of these.
XR-17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 08:40 PM   #10
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2872
Posts: 13,523
IMO yes it is... As i said performance is very good. And not many CFX issues well not that I have come across..

Last edited by borg_7_of_9: 03-12-2011 at 08:45 PM.
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 08:45 PM   #11
XR-17
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 28
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by borg_7_of_9 View Post
IMO yes it is... As i said performance is very good. And not many CFX issues well not that I have come across..
Well thanks borg, and all the other guys.

The reason I asked was because I found on the nVidia forums (however on a 2007 post) that it would cause to much current:

Quote:
if you are attempting to connect two pci-e cards to one source i think it is a bad idea
they will pull too much current
thats why you cant find one
either smoke power supply or cards or both
But I' look for the cables.
XR-17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 08:51 PM   #12
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2872
Posts: 13,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by XR-17 View Post
The reason I asked was because I found on the nVidia forums (however on a 2007 post) that it would cause to much current:

But I' look for the cables.
since 2 only require 600W you should be able to divide the power across the left over power lead's just don't connect them all to one set...

Its worked for me in the past with a much more demanding HD2900XT..(power hog)
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 09:13 PM   #13
XR-17
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 28
Posts: 405
http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/6...0110313s01.jpg

On the bottom right there is my PSU. The two red cables are the 6-pin ones, that go to the first videocard. I was thinking on replacing both cables with the dual ones (on "Y"shape), obtaining 4 6-pin cables to use with both cards. Each dual would come from one of the outputs.

I hope I was clear enough
XR-17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 09:13 PM   #14
BuckALE
 
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 135
Posts: 699
I was quite happy with the performance of my old 4870X2. I'd probably still have it, except that I wanted to go with a 3 screen eyefinity, so I had to upgrade to the 5000 series (2X5870's).
BuckALE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 09:28 PM   #15
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2872
Posts: 13,523
what model PSU...

looks like is has plenty of power so if you can get them connections it should work..

was thinking you may have needed 2 x 4 pin molex to 6 pin PCI-E y adapters at first..

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812189120

Last edited by borg_7_of_9: 03-12-2011 at 09:31 PM.
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.