Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Duke Nukem Forever

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2011, 11:22 AM   #1
m4rc07
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Red face 14 years for a vc++ runtime error...

I've downloaded it, and after 2 hours install, it crashed at the beginning.
Tried to reinstall vc runtime (2 différent), dx, amdoptimizer, (on the DNF repertory), tried to reinstall latest drivers...
I've tried to check it on steam options, it says everything is ok, but it downloaded 4 times a file of 7.1MB... (tried to defrag too)
And each time i've tried to run it, it crached..
I've tried this 4 times, restarted the computer..

I've checked again, everything ok but it downloaded a 73MB file...
Tried, but still this runtime error.

So i've removed it and now i'm downloading it again...


Sys: vista 32bits SP2/penomx4 965/gtx460/4go ram
When it crash, it says runtime application error... etc (at the boot logo).
I've tried to check if there where log, but i've dont found them..

Last edited by m4rc07: 06-13-2011 at 02:45 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 12:06 PM   #2
DemmyDemon
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 14
Posts: 58
Hell, I could have made you a vc++ runtime error in ~5 minutes, and I'd give it to you for free!

Did you contact the Official Support?
DemmyDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 01:53 PM   #3
m4rc07
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
yep....

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 12:46 PM   #4
Verwandlung
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 195
Posts: 1,398
Probably more enjoyable than the game.
Verwandlung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:44 AM   #5
m4rc07
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
still no answer from 2k support...
contacted usasupport.


If someone had the same issue (runtime error at the beginning)...
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:50 AM   #6
Sa-Matra
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 181
Posts: 1,419
I feel sorry for you having problem. Game worked without a single problem here, played it 11 hours straight, not a single crash, no slowdowns, everything was perfect.

Try "Verify integrity of game cache", also i think that this vc++ package should be the one you need: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...displaylang=en
Sa-Matra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:55 AM   #7
m4rc07
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Red face

already tried that, tried to rinstall the full game too, tried to remove and reinstall visual c++ too...



I've tried your link.. but still this runtime error.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 03:07 AM   #8
jacket13
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 30
Posts: 334
what is the error code you are getting with the run time error?
it might give insight if it is the game or your pc.
jacket13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 05:14 AM   #9
m4rc07
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacket13 View Post
what is the error code you are getting with the run time error?
it might give insight if it is the game or your pc.
There is no error code.

http://support.2k.com/requests/16194
(see screenshots)

Tried on my poor 7 laptop, it work - but too slow to play.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 07:37 AM   #10
alcapwnlol
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 81
Seems like you determined yourself that it IS in fact an issue with your OS.
alcapwnlol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 10:34 AM   #11
m4rc07
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
All others games work fine... i need to see DNF logs or something else.
I've determined that there is a problem betwen my os and this game. I need 2k supports to see if there a problem with their game or this OS.


I wont do a full OS reinstallation due to DNF, all others game & programs work fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 04:15 AM   #12
m4rc07
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
still no answer from 2k support...
2 days after the release.

It's pathetic.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:54 AM   #13
finniganz
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 76
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4rc07 View Post
still no answer from 2k support...
2 days after the release.

It's pathetic.
It was the weekend...
finniganz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 02:39 PM   #14
m4rc07
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by finniganz View Post
It was the weekend...
No, it was THE weekend.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 06:59 AM   #15
m4rc07
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
It's official, the support from 2k isn't yet released, i have to wait 14 years to get an answer for this bug...
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Duke Nukem Forever


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.