Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2011, 04:09 PM   #1
Gigga96
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 9
Posts: 128
Will my PC handle this at all?

Hey guys!

As far as I've understood, this game requires a VERY good PC to run it. Now, I'm not actually on PC, I'm on a Mac, but don't worry I have Windows on it for gaming. My specs are as following:

Intel i3 Duo 3.2 GHz
ATI Radeon HD 5670
4 Gb RAM

Now, what I'm worried about is the graphics card. In the system requierments it doesn't say anything about any ATI card what-so-ever. Surely it must be compatible with ATI card, right?
I do understand that if my Mac can handle it, it won't be on the highest setting. I'm OK with playing on low / medium settings as long as it's in 1080p and 30+ FPS.

Thanks!

//Filip
Gigga96 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 04:11 PM   #2
slicendice777
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 28
Posts: 562
Yes.

It will, but barely on low, and you need to have fully updated graphics card.

If it's not supposed to work with these, well, I don't know why it did for me, even on all low it has really good details.
slicendice777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 04:13 PM   #3
Gigga96
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 9
Posts: 128
With "barely on low", do you mean that I won't even get a reasonable FPS?
Gigga96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 04:16 PM   #4
slicendice777
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 28
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigga96 View Post
With "barely on low", do you mean that I won't even get a reasonable FPS?
I mean that even on low quality, it's still a bit slow (fine to me though)

Really, it's not 'slow', just that somethings aren't synched up completely, like someone will be talking and they'll stop like .25 seconds after the audio ends.

Up to you, slow game or no game.
slicendice777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 04:20 PM   #5
Gigga96
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 9
Posts: 128
Ah, well that doesn't sound all too bad. It seems like a very interesting game. I try not to watch any videos of it. The less I know, the better.
Gigga96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 03:21 AM   #6
Nitronumber9
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 394
Posts: 2,247
I can see it almost certainly running rather well depending on resolution.

I ran 2033 using a 2.6ghz and a 4850 with 2 gb of ram and it ran fine, your system beats that so I don't see a problem.
Nitronumber9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 10:54 AM   #7
IAmSomeone
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 4
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitronumber9 View Post
I can see it almost certainly running rather well depending on resolution.

I ran 2033 using a 2.6ghz and a 4850 with 2 gb of ram and it ran fine, your system beats that so I don't see a problem.
The Radeon HD 4850 smacks the crap out of the Radeon HD 5670.
IAmSomeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 04:32 AM   #8
Chorltonwheelie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
It' very scalable. You can play it on DX9 with low detail, no AA or physX etc. or slide it over to DX11 with everything turned up to eleven. Either way it's still a cracking game.
Chorltonwheelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:20 PM   #9
Lazychip
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 559
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigga96 View Post
Hey guys!

As far as I've understood, this game requires a VERY good PC to run it. Now, I'm not actually on PC, I'm on a Mac, but don't worry I have Windows on it for gaming. My specs are as following:

Intel i3 Duo 3.2 GHz
ATI Radeon HD 5670
4 Gb RAM

Now, what I'm worried about is the graphics card. In the system requierments it doesn't say anything about any ATI card what-so-ever. Surely it must be compatible with ATI card, right?
I do understand that if my Mac can handle it, it won't be on the highest setting. I'm OK with playing on low / medium settings as long as it's in 1080p and 30+ FPS.

Thanks!

//Filip
Yeah, I had the same specs. Leave it on "Normal" and if it seems too slow turn down some of the graphics. You don't really need them.
Lazychip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:54 PM   #10
FrozenEskimo
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 2
Posts: 93
you should be ok, im running a 250gts oc'ed at 780cc. and i run it on high. sure my cards fan has to be turned up but ohh well :P
FrozenEskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 08:11 PM   #11
Lucian
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 15
Posts: 282
I played it on medium in dx9 on a 2.0 ghz core 2 duo laptop with 9700 GTS graphic card and reasonable frame rates.

So you should be fine in dx9.
Lucian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Metro 2033


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.