Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Terraria

Old 08-09-2011, 09:45 PM   #1
iansmith

Health regen makes it a whole new game.

I just started playing a few days ago, so I am still a beginner.

Having health regenerate makes a HUGE difference.

Makes long journeys MUCH easier, where before I dreaded those underground worms because even if I killed it in a blow or two it would take my health down enough to kill me after encountering a few.

If I ever meet anyone newer than me that just joined I already feel like I could tell them how hard it was 'back in the day' when your health didn't recover.

Kids these days. They don't know how good they got it!
Old 08-09-2011, 09:50 PM   #2
CaptainDingo

I actually think the game is harder now.

I can see it being easier once I'm geared, but for a starting player, having a 1-minute downtime between eating is extremely harsh, especially since health regen doesn't even begin to kick in until you haven't been hit for something like 20-30 seconds, and more often than not, circumstances don't permit you to not take damage (like when you're smashed up against a wall).

It definitely slows the game down, I'll say that much. I'm not sure yet though if it's a good thing or not. I'll have to play a little longer to decide.
CaptainDingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:56 PM   #3
setzway

I think it makes the game easier. I could see it being more difficult for newer players since the 1 minute down time is a tad long but I can't see it being that bad. I don't know, maybe I'm biased since I have grown accustomed to playing Hardcore. You have to learn to actually dodge and time your attacks in Hardcore if you want to live, especially if you venture at night in the beginning.