Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Serious Sam series > Serious Sam 3: BFE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2011, 03:27 AM   #1
Dean Sekulic
 
Dean Sekulic's Avatar
 
Croteam
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 45
Posts: 160
For all of you with frame rate issues, please try this...

Guys, need some (more) assistance from you...

I'm still unable to repro the case with low frame rate and/or stuttering. And my hands now really hurt from changing graphics cards in my "victim" development rig.

Anyway, please try these two console vars and report here if this helps...

ren_bFixFastLightsEdges=0 (that's only for those of you that use MSAA; high and ultra GPU qualities)
and
gfx_iFXAA=0 (for everyone!)

Also, once you get bad frame rate, can you please use console function
gfxResetRenderingDevice()
?
(After this, you might have to wait couple of seconds for frame rate to become stable!)
In the past, it proved to help in some strange situations with ATI cards. :-/

With a little luck, this might help me pinpointing the issue... :-/
TIA

[edit]

Please try one more thing (assuming swapping our memory might be the issue also)...

tex_pixMaxSize=512
texReloadTextures()

Just to see if this can reduce stuttering.
HTH

Last edited by Dean Sekulic: 12-02-2011 at 02:39 AM.
Dean Sekulic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:09 AM   #2
Nixiam
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 43
Posts: 284
gfxResetRenderingDevice()

must be used every time a bad frame rate occurs or is a single use fix?
I'm at work right now but I'll let you know how it works with my pc specs.

Stick this topic.
Nixiam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:15 AM   #3
federicoleandro
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 101
i'll let you know
stick this
federicoleandro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:45 AM   #4
Dean Sekulic
 
Dean Sekulic's Avatar
 
Croteam
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 45
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nixiam View Post
gfxResetRenderingDevice()

must be used every time a bad frame rate occurs or is a single use fix?
I'm at work right now but I'll let you know how it works with my pc specs.

Stick this topic.
Every time bad frame rate strikes. :-/
Dean Sekulic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:42 AM   #5
Amy
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 2400
Posts: 4,208
Should i do it even if i run already the game at a solid 60 FPS with v-sync on?
Amy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:44 AM   #6
Dean Sekulic
 
Dean Sekulic's Avatar
 
Croteam
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 45
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amy View Post
Should i do it even if i run already the game at a solid 60 FPS with v-sync on?
Of course not!
Dean Sekulic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:46 AM   #7
Amy
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 2400
Posts: 4,208
If i try, it give me a LUA error and suggest me this

http://puu.sh/9DAa

Oh and i tried to type the global command to copy/past it here i didn't entered it.
Amy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:50 AM   #8
Dean Sekulic
 
Dean Sekulic's Avatar
 
Croteam
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 45
Posts: 160
Sorry, it's
ren_bFixFastLightsEdges
not
ren_bFixFastLightEdges
my bad.

(edited original post)
Dean Sekulic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:53 AM   #9
drill_sarge
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 130
this doesn't do anything for me. disabling FXAA may give 1fps in some situations. the other command doesn't change anything.

edit: okay, just saw your edit. will try.

for example on this scene I get around 22-25 fps no matter what anti-aliasing is used (4xMSAA+4xSSAA has same fps as no AA at all). when I turn around 180° to the wall I get like 120fps without AA and around 30 with AA (AA settings like above). ultra settings all. when I try high settings too, it's almost the same framerate.

Phenom 9850@3GHz (doesn't even make a difference if clocked at default 2.5 or 3)
Radeon HD6870 (Catalyst 11.11b drivers)
4Gig Ram
X-Fi
Windows Vista x64 SP2
drill_sarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 05:23 PM   #10
ste555
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by drill_sarge View Post
this doesn't do anything for me. disabling FXAA may give 1fps in some situations. the other command doesn't change anything.

edit: okay, just saw your edit. will try.

for example on this scene I get around 22-25 fps no matter what anti-aliasing is used (4xMSAA+4xSSAA has same fps as no AA at all). when I turn around 180° to the wall I get like 120fps without AA and around 30 with AA (AA settings like above). ultra settings all. when I try high settings too, it's almost the same framerate.

Phenom 9850@3GHz (doesn't even make a difference if clocked at default 2.5 or 3)
Radeon HD6870 (Catalyst 11.11b drivers)
4Gig Ram
X-Fi
Windows Vista x64 SP2
I have the same card, its a great bang for the book fairly high end card, but your asking too much running it on ultra, ultra is for guys that dual card or have a 79xx level card

I have FX4, 8gig

I run it on 1080p, I take high settings (what the game recomends) turn off blur effects as I don't like blur, and up AA to 8* standard AA. I get steady 50fps
ste555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 07:01 AM   #11
Amy
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 2400
Posts: 4,208
The SSAA kill the framerate a lot on some rigs, there's something wrong with it.

SSAAx4 run fine on my best rigs BUT it suck on my not-so best rig which still meet nearly the reccomended.
Amy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 07:14 AM   #12
drill_sarge
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amy View Post
The SSAA kill the framerate a lot on some rigs, there's something wrong with it.
yes. but some scenes do perform really bad, no matter what detail or AA is used

30fps on everything low (except rendering resolution, because I want my native 1680x1050)

23fps on everything ultra

medium/high settings preset make no difference at all in this scene (compared to ultra) (maybe 1-2fps depends on where you point your crosshair )


btw, I tested the commands again (edited one) and no change at all.
drill_sarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 07:33 AM   #13
Thunder246
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 30
The console commands didnt fix it for me. And what happen about this you said with talking to ati:

[hic][burp] we... weren't... partying... [burp]... yet...
We're in talks with ATI, investigating the issue.
Stay tuned...
[burp] sorry


from here: http://forums.steamgames.com/forums/...2246898&page=3
Thunder246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 07:43 AM   #14
Nixiam
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 43
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by drill_sarge View Post
yes. but some scenes do perform really bad, no matter what detail or AA is used

30fps on everything low (except rendering resolution, because I want my native 1680x1050)

23fps on everything ultra

medium/high settings preset make no difference at all in this scene (compared to ultra) (maybe 1-2fps depends on where you point your crosshair )


btw, I tested the commands again (edited one) and no change at all.

Same here.
The difference between medium and ultra in terms of fps is very low (like 10 fps), there is something wrong in it.

Those are my gpu settings, after hours spent to reach a good point between speed and decent look:

16:50:05 INF: Apply quality: CPU speed=Ultra, GPU speed=Low (17 customized), GPU memory=Ultra
16:50:05 INF: Customized GPU speed cvars:
16:50:05 INF: tex_iAnisotropy = 8 (was 2)
16:50:05 INF: gfx_iAntiAliasingSamples = 2 (was 1)
16:50:05 INF: gfx_iFXAA = 0 (was 1)
16:50:05 INF: ren_bAmbientShadows = 0 (was 1)
16:50:05 INF: ren_fMirrorQuality = 0.25 (was 0.4)
16:50:05 INF: ren_bMirrorReflections = 0 (was 1)
16:50:05 INF: ren_fMax3DRenderingMPix = 1.5 (was 0.8)
16:50:05 INF: sha_bAllowRefractions = 0 (was 1)
16:50:05 INF: sha_bShadowTrilinearDithering = 1 (was 0)
16:50:05 INF: sha_iParallaxMappingMethod = 1 (was 0)
16:50:05 INF: shb_pixMaxShadowSize = 512 (was 1024)
16:50:05 INF: shb_pixShadowDensity = 8 (was 32)
16:50:05 INF: shb_bShadowBlurring = 0 (was 1)
16:50:05 INF: crm_fDensityBias = 1.0019608 (was 0.7)
16:50:05 INF: crm_fDistanceBias = 1.0112746 (was 0.8)
16:50:05 INF: efx_bBloom = 0 (was 1)
16:50:05 INF: efx_bGaussianBlur = 0 (was 1)

Res I'm using is native 1080p, those are my specs:

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
8gb ram
Gt530 2gb

The problem here is that fps goes costantly between 40 and 18, even moving slightly the mouse you can clearly see the fps drop sometime.
When there are so many enemyes on screen, explosions and players in a large area the reason is more than clear, but in a small room, with no lights (just the torch) and no one around the fps drop is ridiculous.
If I can help somehow let me know.

EDIT: lowering the resolution doesn't help at all, that's strange.

Last edited by Nixiam: 11-30-2011 at 12:02 PM.
Nixiam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:45 AM   #15
BlackToTheBlind
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
The bad performance seems to be independent from antialiasing. In this particular scene fps are always limited to ~40. It doesn't matter if I set the game to 1080p with GPU speed = Ultra or 800x600 with GPU speed = Low. CPU load is identical in both cases (30-40%). Just the GPU load differs greatly.

37 fps at 1080p with "GPU speed" preset "Ultra":

http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=s...aat1009rpk.jpg

43 fps at 800x600 with "GPU speed" preset "Low":

http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=s...t800xghok0.jpg

Strangely the GPU load is just at 35% at this resolution although there is no CPU bottleneck.

Resetting the renderer didn't help in my case.

My system specs:
Intel Core i7 860
8 GB RAM
nVidia GeForce GTX 570 (driver: 290.36 beta)
Windows 7 x64
BlackToTheBlind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Serious Sam series > Serious Sam 3: BFE


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.