Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sid Meier's Civilization series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2011, 07:32 PM   #1
Snowpaw
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
SDK what?

What is this and why does it not install when I click install?

For Civ V, obviously.
Snowpaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 05:11 PM   #2
Decade7
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 4
Posts: 108
SDK stands for Software Devlopment Kit.
This is universal not just to games but to software in general.
It is a set of tools & instructions for a programmer to access and modify the game/ software.
In short, it is for people who want to mod the game.
It will be dense & very incomprehensible to anyone who has not dealt with this sort of thing before.
Still, most games that offer one (and they tend to be the games with the most mods) offer it to all their customers.
So, if you see it for other games you own, it's the same thing but for those games.
Decade7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 08:02 AM   #3
Snowpaw
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
Okay, so why doesn't it install when I hit install? I may not be a developer, or good with programming, but if I ever, EVER want to use it, I wanna know that I can install it...
Snowpaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sid Meier's Civilization series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.