Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Art & Sound Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2012, 05:30 AM   #1
Jokkul
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 94
Posts: 45
Question SCN file question

Hi!

I have been trying to create an animated model for my mod. I have figured out that I need apperently have an .scn scene file to make anything animated.

How can I make a suitable scn file? 3ds max doesn't seem to have a way to export a file as scn file. Are those scn files really absolutely necessary?

Thanks in advance,
Jokkul
Jokkul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 01:02 PM   #2
Wunderboy
 
Wunderboy's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 275
Posts: 721
No. SCN files are actually files for Softimage XSI which was pushed as the preferred free modelling too for Source at the time of release. Most people I know use Maya or 3DS Max.

To make an animation you need to export it as an SMD file and then combine the animation SMD files and the reference SMD files which contain the actual models mesh. You then use a QC file to tell the compiler how to assemble it all together as an MDL file.
Wunderboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 09:44 AM   #3
Jokkul
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 94
Posts: 45
I have made a model and I exported it as a reference SMD. Then I made few bones to it, and made one animation for it. I exported an animation as a sequence SMD.

From that on I followed usual steps to compile a static model. This time i just added one more $sequence.

My model compiles okay, but when I use model viewer and view my animation, nothing happens. The model just stays on the same spot and doesn't move at all.

This is my qc file:

Code:
$modelname custom_models/boxes/wooden_box.mdl
$cdmaterials models/wooden_box/

$body studio "wooden_box_reference.smd"

$sequence idle "wooden_box_reference" loop fps 30
$sequence open "wooden_box_open" fps 15

$surfaceprop "wood" 

$collisionmodel	"wooden_box_phys.smd"
{
}
What else should I do apart from this to get the animation work?
Jokkul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 05:56 PM   #4
f64
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Reputation: 38
Posts: 186
Your reference .smd must contain the same skeleton set as the animations.
f64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Art & Sound Design


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.