Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Gothic series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2012, 09:09 AM   #1
pencilhero
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
gothic 3 lagg

I downloaded a demo of gothic 3 before going to buy it
and it was freaking laggfest on max ,i ended up buying silverfall.

I went to system requirements lab and run a check and
it says i meet both rec and min O.o

i mean seariously a 2012 laptop cant handle 2006 game
specs
amd e450
4gb ram
i dont get it why it lags,is it using one core only?
does it have fix or something O.o
i really want to buy it >_<

the demo was the gothic 3 vanilla

Last edited by pencilhero: 04-10-2012 at 09:26 AM.
pencilhero is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 04:19 PM   #2
Vagrant
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 58
Posts: 700
Hi, and welcome to the Steam forums.

Gothic 3 had a tumultuous development. What happened at the time is JoWood, G3's publisher, sort of rushed the release, leaving a lot of bugs in.

Then, the modding community stepped in and "patched" it.
http://www.g3cpt.eu/download/3

So, if you buy the game, and patch it, chances are the game won't lag as much, however, I won't make any promises about the technical side since it's a laptop(complete specs are missing, more detailed info please).

Gothic 3 is a great game. Check my profile out and see how many hours I played. It's a good investment and a great time-killer.

My specs are:
Win XP SP3
nvidia 560 GTX (1GB)
4GB of RAM
6600 Quad Core CPU at 2.66hz

Even patched, G3 still lags in some towns will lots of NPCs.
Vagrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 09:20 PM   #3
jiminator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 389
Posts: 3,393
gothic 3 lags a lot since there is only one big area and textures have to be dynamically loaded. you learn to go and turn around in new areas so it can load the cache. Overall I consider this game to be the most run RPG I have ever played.
jiminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 12:46 PM   #4
Mokas
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 115
Posts: 461
oh no... I tried to play this game years ago. I was hoping that now with cuad core and 4GB RAM the game runs perfect.

I guess that Gothic 3: Forsaken Gods Enhanced Edition lags too.
Anyway I have a question:
Gothic 3: Forsaken Gods Enhanced Edition is the same world and have the same music?? thanks.
Mokas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 05:12 PM   #5
pencilhero
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
i runned gothic 3 demo when it was launched back some years ago about 5-6 yrs
On radeon 9800 256ram 1gb ram 1.8ghz/+3ghz athlon rofl :/ and it runned perfectly
XD
pretty bad coded game
actually i now played maxed out with enbseries enabled and it runned faster than without it rofl
i think am probably gonna buy it
also turning visual themes of win7 seems to get rid of lag
must be a win7 thingy XD
pencilhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 12:29 AM   #6
manny_gt
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 39
Posts: 718
Play it at least for 20 minutes and lags disappears. Unfortunately this game had a bad story of development. The Community Patch will fix tons of bugs, so install it before start to play. After installing the Community Patch, you have only to play! After at least 20 minutes, all the lags and stuttering disappears.
manny_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Gothic series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.