Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Call of Duty series > Black Ops II

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 11:05 PM   #1
Krackerjax
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 129
Reads disk 2 incorrectly

-Buy Black Ops 2
-Put in disk 1, installation going swimmingly
-Asks for disk 2, so i comply
-It is read as a disk for Mass Effect 2
-Cant install game

What on Earth is going on?
Krackerjax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:09 PM   #2
JustAnotherFan
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2527
Posts: 1,195
See what's actually on the disc, if it's really ME2... Well, somebody screwed the pooch.
JustAnotherFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:17 PM   #3
JereDude
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 8
Posts: 59
you stole this from /v/ or are you the op of that thread
JereDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:27 PM   #4
richei
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 418
Posts: 4,056
Nope, he's right. The same thing happened to me and i just checked the files. The 7gig file is listed as ME2_RTP and the other 2 are autorun and autorun. But you know, i'm not all surprised this happenened. So either someone put the wrong file on there or they named it wrong, who knows.

I guess i'll just have to wait for it to finish downloading.
richei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:29 PM   #5
JustAnotherFan
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2527
Posts: 1,195
If they gave you an ME2 disc, go get your money back. That's just sloppy (read: ed up) as all hell.
JustAnotherFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:42 PM   #6
richei
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 418
Posts: 4,056
Can't, game stop won't accept returns for pc games since its tied to your steam account. All i can do is hope treyarch gets off their duffs and fixes this major error. So far. they haven't even acknowledged the problem.
richei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:44 PM   #7
Sundo
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
If you've linked the game to your steam account, I'm pretty sure you should be able to download the missing files from disk 2 via steam. Means you gotta download it, but eh, better than not playing I guess.
Sundo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:11 AM   #8
richei
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 418
Posts: 4,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundo View Post
If you've linked the game to your steam account, I'm pretty sure you should be able to download the missing files from disk 2 via steam. Means you gotta download it, but eh, better than not playing I guess.
You have to download the entire game because you have to cancel the installation,
richei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:29 AM   #9
NitrousX
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 746
Posts: 2,937
Does anybody know how I would go about installing Disk 1 then having Steam download the rest of Disc 2? Is this even possible?
NitrousX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:31 AM   #10
Omega_Scythe
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by NitrousX View Post
Does anybody know how I would go about installing Disk 1 then having Steam download the rest of Disc 2? Is this even possible?
It is, because I just did it. Just get to the "disk 2" message, cancel it, and then go to Steam and "resume" the download. Easy Peasy.
Omega_Scythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:34 AM   #11
NitrousX
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 746
Posts: 2,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omega_Scythe View Post
It is, because I just did it. Just get to the "disk 2" message, cancel it, and then go to Steam and "resume" the download. Easy Peasy.
Awesome, thanks!
NitrousX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:01 PM   #12
richei
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 418
Posts: 4,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omega_Scythe View Post
It is, because I just did it. Just get to the "disk 2" message, cancel it, and then go to Steam and "resume" the download. Easy Peasy.
Won't work, once you hit cancel, it deletes the entire install and greys out the game in the menu. Tried it twice last night.

The only i can see it working is if you leave the disk 2 message up there, then bring up the downloads que. Use the spacebar to hit ok, then quickly hit resume for whichever part you're trying to do. I didn't want wait 3 hours for it download, but it was working before i quit it.

If you got it retail, just bring it back to the store, they'll give you a new copy if you have the receipt, but i'd have proof of what's on disk 2 though also, like a screen cap or something.
richei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:44 PM   #13
JustAnotherFan
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2527
Posts: 1,195
That sucks . At the very least you can still download it from Steam. Maybe Gamestop will exchange the discs?
JustAnotherFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:58 PM   #14
Omega_Scythe
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
I am also currently experiencing this problem, and have no idea what to do about it. If this is a case of someone putting the wrong data on the disk, Activision is in for a storm of epic proportions.
Omega_Scythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:59 PM   #15
JustAnotherFan
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2527
Posts: 1,195
I smell a lawsuit from EA coming. Time to make some popcorn .
JustAnotherFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Call of Duty series > Black Ops II


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.