Home| What is Steam| Community| News| Cyber Cafés| Forums| Support| Stats

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > General Steam Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2009, 11:58 AM   #1
Anddos
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 5
Posts: 175
Steam account expired email

[snip]
Got it. I'll send it. Thanks


i know its fake but did anyone else recieve an email like this

Last edited by Hwkiller : 11-03-2009 at 12:57 PM.
Anddos is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:05 PM   #2
Zamav
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 5
Posts: 805
Remove the links please, odds are someone will click that link and get their account stolen.
Zamav is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:08 PM   #3
L.o.D.
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Reputation: 264
Posts: 17,321
Unless you changed the link to continue with, that is an official Valve link.
http://toolbar.netcraft.com/site_rep...eampowered.com
My link tells you who the netblock owner is. In this case, it's Valve Software.

It's for Valve's cyber cafe program.
L.o.D. is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:34 PM   #4
Anddos
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 5
Posts: 175
why would it expire tho , i dont even have a cafe account
Anddos is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:36 PM   #5
nautsch
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 165
The link may be but i doubt it for the embedded java script
nautsch is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:37 PM   #6
nautsch
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anddos View Post
why would it expire tho , i dont even have a cafe account
please remove the link. Theres some java script in the site, which contains the words steam fishing. however stupid it might be to name fishing scripts with the name of the site, which they try to fish from, it is done in this case.
nautsch is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:38 PM   #7
L.o.D.
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Reputation: 264
Posts: 17,321
Ya, the Albania link seems to be a web forgery. But how it got onto an official Valve page is beyond me.
L.o.D. is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:41 PM   #8
nautsch
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by L.o.D. View Post
Ya, the Albania link seems to be a web forgery. But how it got onto an official Valve page is beyond me.
No company is can completely be safe in this regard. It looks like something place where people can put their own content.
nautsch is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:46 PM   #9
L.o.D.
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Reputation: 264
Posts: 17,321
Actually, to be able to edit someone elses page, they either have to have admin access or hacked it to add that script.
Seems like a lot of trouble just to try & get people from Albania to fall for it.
L.o.D. is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:48 PM   #10
nautsch
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 165
Who said its not their page?

I have no idea how to sign up with valve business. Maybe there is a legit way and they took it. Now they are at least are out of the program.

It does not even have to be Valve who got hacken. Maybe some Albanian company who does business with valve and stores their passowrd somewhere unsafe.
nautsch is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 12:56 PM   #11
L.o.D.
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Reputation: 264
Posts: 17,321
The first 2 posters think it is fake.
The site is hosted by Valve Corporation.
I seriously doubt that they would allow anyone but their own people access to edit their page due to security reasons.

The site never asks you to log in. Not unless the redirect does.
Click the link & open the second drop down menu & select show all.
The java link disappears & it shows a providers name. Never once does it ask for any user details.
L.o.D. is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2009, All Rights Reserved.