Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > X-COM series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2010, 03:20 PM   #1
BladeFireLight
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 90
Thumbs up XcomUtil 9.7 Beta

XcomUtil 9.7 is entering it's public beta phase. Feel free to Download from http://www.bladefirelight.com/.

This is a Beta, so backup your files before using. If you have issues pleas post them to XcomUFO.com in the XcomUtil forum.

New in this version.

* Major overhall of the installer (XcuSetup) and the inclusion of 16/32bit exe's to support both DOSBox and Windows Vista/7 x64.
* New subfolders added to hold supporting files making the install c leaner
* New XcuSetup options were added to XcuSetup allowing for silent install and uninstallation.
* New XcuSetup option for debugging the install (XcuSetup debug) creating debug.txt.
* XcuSetup now can have minimal impact on the game.
o All options default to NO.
o Almost all changes are now prompted for (skyranger guns, interceptor as transport, Disjointed Base Bug, etc...).
+ Items still done by default:
+ Copy protection questions set to 0000000 for UFO 1.0-1.3 and X-Com 1.0
+ Difficulty bug fixed in UFO 1.0-1.4 and X-Com 1.0-1.4
+ Unique names for all maps in TFTD, Used for Hybrid Games
* XCOMUTIL.CFG is now pieced together and overwritten by XcuSetup (see XcomUtil.txt for how to make permanent changes).
* All game files are restored to the pre-XcomUtil state each time XcuSetup is ran. Any modifications by other utilities will have to be re-applied.
* Recovery of MIA soldiers has been removed as it had a habit of resurrecting all KIA units to.
* Vista/Win7 patch now an option for XcuSetup.
o This will fix the blank screen issue.
o Updated to support the split EXE.
* XcuSetup attempts to fix UAC issues by resetting folder permissions.
* A number of community made fixes are included and selectable with XcuSetup.
* Support for the DOS/Window STEAM Install.
o Windows EXE, just run XcuSetup from windows
o to launch Dos version from Steam Run XcomUtil/SteamSetup.bat to activate menu then launch from steam.
* Out of the box support for UFO Extender. XcuSetup will detect it and ask if you want RunXcom to use it.

-BladeFireLight
BladeFireLight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 04:01 PM   #2
FoxSpellCaster
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I am glad to hear about your new version of Xcomutil but I am running into a problem on your website downloading it.

Quote:
An error occurred during a connection to www.bladefirelight.com.

SSL peer was unable to negotiate an acceptable set of security parameters.

(Error code: ssl_error_handshake_failure_alert)
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 04:08 PM   #3
BladeFireLight
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 90
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by FoxSpellCaster View Post
I am glad to hear about your new version of Xcomutil but I am running into a problem on your website downloading it.
Fixed the links. Thanks for letting me know. If you get the same error. hold down control and click reload on your browser.

Last edited by BladeFireLight: 01-17-2010 at 04:11 PM.
BladeFireLight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 04:44 PM   #4
sortedout
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 12
Posts: 305
awesome BFL!
sortedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 08:58 PM   #5
BladeFireLight
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 90
I just uploaded an update, Build 204. This fixes a bug for the Dos Version of UFO.
BladeFireLight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 07:59 PM   #6
BladeFireLight
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 90
Cool Just posted Build 219

ok. Just posted Build 219
  • New command line argument "nobackup" skips backup only if it has been ran.
  • Fix f0ders loader path and option goto so it actually works.
  • Fix prompted terrain option to create correct flag file.
  • f0ders loader now available to Vista and Win7 users. (I have no idea if this will be of help)
  • replace "if exist" on folders with "if exist" on file.
  • Allow 0.73 with no command line args (as this is all it brakes)
  • %X-COM% to %XCOM% for older OS's
  • Fixed the beta message display
  • Fixed version display in deader
  • Fixed misleading message in SFX install scrip.

-Blade FireLight
BladeFireLight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 03:06 PM   #7
BladeFireLight
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 90
Build 221
  • Fix issue following issue with XcomUtil and STEAM.
    • only creating backups of the Windows EXE
    • only applying changes to the DOS EXE's
STEAM USERS need to run "Verify Integrity of game cache" before updating to this build.

-Blade FireLight
BladeFireLight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 11:30 AM   #8
qoonpooka
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Is there a place to send/post bug reports and/or get support about 9.7?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:43 PM   #9
BladeFireLight
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 90
You can post on the XcomUtil forum or in this thread. I'm tracking a number of places for bug reports. I do ask that you include the debug.txt so I know what the installer did. If the bug is in-game it would also help to have the xcomutil.log and a zip of the saved game I can replicate the issue with.

-Blade FireLight
BladeFireLight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 03:26 PM   #10
BladeFireLight
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 90
Build 305 Released

Some major restructuring of Environment Variables to fit within the limits of the forthcoming DosBox 0.74. Previous LastOp.bat files will no longer work. (should limit XcuSetup's Environment usage to about 980 bytes. Will no longer crash DosBox 0.73 by overrunning environment buffer)
Corrected a massive error that caused corruption on x64 systems.

I recommend you uninstall the previous version of XcomUtil before installing this one. (or delete LastOp.bat)

New items:
  • Backup and restore of additional folders added.
  • Allow install on Unknown OS with warning.
  • Re-order some option questions and adjust wording.
  • Correct File location that was causing Random ship generation to hang or crash.
  • Fixed Vista/Win7 Patch to run on Vista. (Thanks Dangermouse)
  • Environment Vars size shrunk. This invalidates previous lastop.bat (Thanks to Peter on the DosBox Team)
  • Fix issues with using space in IF statement in dosbox and Dos 5.0
  • Clean up environment test variable to free up space
  • Backup and Restore: Fixes time out issues on DosBox. Adds progress display.
  • Set Default to split EXE.
  • Allow xcusetup for Dos games in x64 OS with warning
  • Switched compiler to Open Watcom for ResFix and ResINfo
  • New code to detect EXE version and adjust Max Research in ResFix and ResInfo
  • Resfix will no longer execute on UFO
  • Switched compiler to Open Watcom xcomutil xcomutrt and sdump.
  • Fixed issues with 32bit structure packing leading to wide spread file corruption
  • Fixed Alien Research Help math error

-Blade FireLight
BladeFireLight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 12:18 AM   #11
BladeFireLight
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 90
Build 317

Don't forget to re-run XcuSetup after you extract the files. For a almost quite install use "XcuSetup lastop skip"
If upgrading from pre-305 versions you need to uninstall with "XcuSetup uninstall" and run XcuSetup Fresh.

You can now use XcuSetup in Windows to configure a game you intend to play in DosBox OR run XcuSetup in DosBox and play from Windows. Even on x64 systems. XcuSetup can be slow in Dosbox this will allow for faster setup.

RunXcom now makes on-the-fly choices about x86 vs x64 XcomUtil EXE's and Steam Dos vs Windows. If you have Vista or Win7 x64 and a Steam copy you can switch between Dos/Windows Xcom by either runing from Steam or directly starting RunXcom.

A few caveats for STEAM users. Because of how XcomUtil detects the game, while XcuSetup will apply changes to both EXE's. Running XcomUtil from the command line will only effect the Dos version.

Complete List of changes.
  • XcuSetup can be run from windows and RunXcom run from DosBox
  • Renamed "New Laser" to Alternate Laser
  • SortStats now back in XcomUtil.cfg
  • Runxcom now uses x86 or x64 EXE's based on OS at time of execution
  • Steam choice of Windows or DOS EXE now based on if RunXcom is started in DosBox.
  • Xcomutil settings applied to both EXE's in Steam
  • SteamSetup.bat displays message on success.
  • Minor error fixes with 4DOS
  • Better handling of unknown OS.
  • New Steam Menu Options
    • Run X-Com Sound Setup
    • eXit to Windows
-Blade FireLight
BladeFireLight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 11:28 PM   #12
Kazei
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 30
Posts: 211
Hi, I'm using the latest Xcomutil build and it works great so far.

I did notice 1 thing though. During setup, if I choose YES to mount a weapon slot on the Skyranger then I choose NO to make the Interceptor a transport for troops. It won't let me equip a weapon on the Skyranger. the equip button with the number 1 in it doesn't appear. However, if I choose YES to the transport question I can equip the Skyranger. Seems like the Skyranger hardmount is dependent on whether or not interceptor transport is enabled. Is this a bug?
Kazei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 11:31 PM   #13
BladeFireLight
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 90
Build 333

Some Minor tweaks. Only major thing is I have given up on DOSBox 0.73 it's to buggy and crashes often. Although some of the bug fixes I worked out with the DOSBox dev team will not make it in until 0.75. They tell me most of them will be in 0.74 and it should not have this issue.

Luckily STEAM uses 0.72 and works as expected.

If you run another Command interpreter like 4DOS it should work.
  • Random alien craft shape now works.
  • Fixed Text color on BFG prompting on UFO under DOSBox.
  • XCLoader.exe properly removed on uninstall and Gamefile restore
  • Fixed display of Unit type on Fighter as transport prompt.
  • Apply of Seb Loader from DosBox fixed.
  • Commented RunXcom
  • Removed Exit Point and replaced with Pauses in XcuSetup
  • Updated DOSBox 0.73 error (to unstable. frequent buffer overflows setting ERRORLEVEL on program exit.)

-Blade FireLight
BladeFireLight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 11:32 PM   #14
BladeFireLight
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 90
Kazie:
Yes that is a bug. I will look into it.
BladeFireLight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 07:36 AM   #15
LTyhan
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 76
I was just looking in my X-com folder and saw something weird. Uninstalling XcomUtil replaced my windows X-com exe with the 6 kb "UFO Defense_Patched.exe." (As in: UFO Defense.exe is now the same as UFO Defense_Patched.exe)

I have the collector's edition of X-com elsewhere on my computer, so I know that's not the default Windows exe, I also looked in the folder before installing XcomUtil so I'm sure it was there. This doesn't seem to have affected my playing X-com, but I'd feel better if it didn't happen.

Also another question unrelated to XcomUtil, but you might know: What files were changed to convert X-com from 1.0 to 1.2? I'm considering replacing said files by using my older X-com folder to remove the stat caps, though I don't know if it'll work. In the end if it breaks things I can just reinstall via steam in 30 seconds.
LTyhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > X-COM series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.