Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Anno series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2010, 03:16 PM   #1
Brattwurst
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
OK I give up trying to get this game to run

I give up, I've tried everything i can think of to get this damn game to run, I've downloaded the latest Directx runtime, that didnt work, I finally get around to buying Windows 7 and reinstall the game and at least the screen goes black now like its going to run, then nope it crashes...

Glad I paid $50 for a game I cant even start
Brattwurst is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 03:54 PM   #2
DIENER
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 776
Posts: 3,278
Start by posting your PC specs.
DIENER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 04:05 PM   #3
Brattwurst
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Processor; AMD Athlon 7850 Dual-Core Processor 2.80ghz
Memory; 4.00GB
System type; Windows 7, 64-bit
Video card; Nividia Geforce 9800GT
Brattwurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 04:43 PM   #4
Neverpleased
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 99
Posts: 705
Oh yes this had my nipples in a twist to.

All I had to do was restart my PC. Have you tried that? This game has issues on the activation start up, but otherwise it starts fine.
Neverpleased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 06:09 PM   #5
Brattwurst
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neverpleased View Post
Oh yes this had my nipples in a twist to.

All I had to do was restart my PC. Have you tried that? This game has issues on the activation start up, but otherwise it starts fine.
I'll have to try this when I get home from work in the morning, hopefully it works, cause I really want to play this game
Brattwurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 06:22 AM   #6
Brattwurst
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
OK I found the problem, and the game is running great for me now.

it seems that Steam switched the CD's, I bought the gold edition of the game, so I had both Dawn of Discovery as well as the Venice addition.
when I launch the game it always launches the Venice version, which is fine, but the CD key for Venice actually belongs to the original Dawn of Discovery, so I tried launching the original Dawn of Discovery and it asked me to verify the CD key, so I copied the Venice CD Key and then verified it, after that I launched the game again and it started up just fine.

I'm happy now, it looks like its going to be a great game.
Brattwurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Anno series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.