Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Just Cause series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2010, 01:00 PM   #1
Sleagle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Graphical fail.

Pretty sure this will be in the wrong place but sorry for that =[

Just got my JC2 installed, played for awhile all went smoothly. Came back to it not long ago after a break, and it seems to freeze graphically after a few minutes of gameplay. the game its self continues to play as i hear the background sounds etc, but the screen is frozen to wherever i was. Tried lowering and turning off certain graphical options but it still occurs. Anyone else having troubles??

Running Win7, GeForce8800, Quad core, 4gb ram

Thanks in advance
Sleagle
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 01:07 PM   #2
culmor30
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 165
Make sure that your CPU/GPU temperatures aren't getting too high. Try this tool to monitor those. Consider additional cooling options (more fans/liquid cooling) if you're running too hot.

Quote:
Tried lowering and turning off certain graphical options but it still occurs.
Was v-sync among these? It can cause all sorts of problems and probably isn't necessary for this game on most peoples' hardware.
culmor30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 01:12 PM   #3
BickeringEntree
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm having exactly the same issue. The game runs completely fine until the graphics just locks up, like you said the game continues (I sometimes can manage to work the mangled menu to quit the game). It's arbitary when it seems to do this as well, I can get from a few minutes to over an hour. I should add that I've had no problems with my graphics card for any other game, they play fine it just seems to not like just cause 2

My specs;
Win7 64bit
AMD Athlon X4 620 processor 2.6ghz
ATI Radeon HD 4800 - latest driver 10.3 catalyst control
4 gb memory

I've tried reinstalling my graphics driver, reinstalling the game, adjusting graphics in the game. If anyone can shed some light I'd be grateful.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 02:43 PM   #4
cmoe
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Please check if the crashes occur due to:

- enabling GPU accelerated Water
and/or
- enabling Bokeh Filter

for me, it only does these crashes when applying these Options, more people on the net narrow it down to GPU accelerated water. Other than that, crashes are very, very rare.

I also opened a thread for that, --> GPU accelerated Water causing crashes
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 03:03 PM   #5
BickeringEntree
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
culmor30 -
I tried running that tool but it said my processor is not supported. I don't think this is the reason though otherwise I would've seen it happen with other games, though that be more me hoping it's not over-heating since I can't check.

I turned off V-sync when I started to play this game, as I had problems with that with the demo.

cmoe -
I can't find any options for GPU accelerated water or bokeh filter, I can turn the water effects down lower but that hasn't helped. Plus it does not crash per se, the graphics lock up but the game and OS are perfectly fine (I can alt tab out, windows runs as normal with no graphical glicthes). It's done this graphical lock up at random times not just near water and the game runs perfectly until it decides to lock up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 03:59 PM   #6
cmoe
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
@BickeringEntree: Bokeh Filter and GPU accelerated water are NVidia-exclusive features. Although your problem sounds similar, I guess it might also be a driver issue. Try to set all graphic options to minimum, then test for awhile; then start cranking single options back up to max and check if they influence stability. If one of the options causes the freezes, report back please!

Check on the Nvidia Water around Youtube to know what youre missing out on :P
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 04:29 AM   #7
MASTAN
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 71
Posts: 374
Sleagle, what driver do you have? Old ones have problems with JC2: http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...7#post14090217
MASTAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 06:34 AM   #8
BickeringEntree
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Oh don't worry cmoe I will be constantly trying things out to see if they work and if I find the cause or a fix I'll report back here. Though because of how randomly it happens it'll take a while as there's no sure way of testing apart from playing until it locks up.

Looking around on other forums it does seem to be a graphics driver issue with the game, mainly ATI cards / drivers but there are a few reports of Nvidia cards doing the same. ( http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?t=104984 ).
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 05:11 PM   #9
BickeringEntree
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I believe I've fixed what was causing my graphics to lock up. I turned disabled visual themes when running JC2. Incase you don't know how to do this go to your JC2 directory;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\just cause 2
right click the just cause 2 exe > select compatability > disable visual themes

That's so far stop any crashing since I did that today, so I hope it helps anyone else with this problem.

EDIT -
If your still having any issues here are some links to other threads I've found on the subject (maybe it will help shed some more light on the problem) -
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1202124
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1205137
http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?t=104627
http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?t=104984
And if you have an ATI card -
http://forums.amd.com/game/messagevi...&enterthread=y

Last edited by BickeringEntree: 03-28-2010 at 05:20 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 08:38 AM   #10
dryfeld
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
You will be my hero if that works, BickeringEntree.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 09:13 AM   #11
Korn1699
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 11
Posts: 490
When this issue happens for me, I lower the resolution, and then increase it again. It isn't a long term solution or anything, but it may help if you get it in game.
Korn1699 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Just Cause series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.