Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Wolfenstein series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2009, 09:23 AM   #1
LTCHIPS
 
Banned
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 397
RTCW not running on XP

Hey all, I have a problem with RTCW. When I try to run the game, it goes to the grayish screen (I know that's supposed to happen, with most Quake 3 engine games) then it just crashes to desktop. I can run the multiplayer part of the game, but not the single player game. The game is fully updated, and it is the retail version, (not the game of the year edition). If anyone can help, please do so.

My specs:
Intel Pentium D dual core processor 3.0ghz
BFG Geforce 9800 GT with 1GB of video memory
3GB of Ram

Game ran when I had a 8500GT, so I wonder if it is the fact that its my graphics card that refuses to run the game, or its my drivers... which are fully updated.
LTCHIPS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 01:53 PM   #2
rfc
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 4
Posts: 78
Same here, whereas I had a working steam installation a few months back.
rfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 05:32 PM   #3
haternet
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Have you added your own custom settings to autoexec.cfg (in "Main") for MP? If so, then it can hose your SP. See my P.S. in this post for the fix.

It's OK to have a custom autoexec, and in fact you ought to for MP, to be sure your settings are loaded for various mods you might play online, but unfortunately it's also loaded for SP and MP/SP settings don't always play nice together.

If all else fails you can do "\cvar_restart" then "\vid_restart" and SP should load (with default settings!). If not, you can delete wolfconfig.cfg (no need to delete the _mp one) and give your customized autoexec a .bak extension before playing SP, or move it temporarily to the desktop. It's an annoyance, I know.

Last edited by haternet: 02-03-2010 at 05:37 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 10:04 PM   #4
Phantombadger
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 22
Posts: 409
on xp? really? I cant run cuz im on 64 bit W7. Sux cuz I wanna play it too.
Phantombadger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Wolfenstein series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.