Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2010, 09:15 PM   #1
JAYDENxs
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
too many indices for index buffer..tell a programmer(75129>9593)

Ok when i start up source sdk to try and work on my map, when i load my map up it doesn't load its comes with an error as "too many indices for index buffer..tell a programmer(75129>9593)".It just closes afterwards.

Please reply back,
JAYDENxs
JAYDENxs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 11:20 PM   #2
Mangr0v3
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 4313
Posts: 13,608
Tell a programmer then, not us.
Mangr0v3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 11:27 PM   #3
Slayer00
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 1139
Posts: 5,510
Is it only the one map what causes this?

Are these relevant/helpful?
Failed to lock index buffer in CMeshDX8::LockIndexBuffer
Engine Error - Too many verts for a Dynamic Vertex Buffer
Slayer00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 02:44 PM   #4
JAYDENxs
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Yes its only one map and my map is really big so is it happening because its to big?
JAYDENxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 04:52 AM   #5
Slayer00
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 1139
Posts: 5,510
Big or corrupted or broken.

I don't use Source SDK so I don't know.
Slayer00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 10:06 AM   #6
Dr. Headcrab
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
This was an error left over from the development of Half-Life 2. To fix it you have to divide your map up some and use a few areaportals so it isn't so much of a strain on the video card. Just make it so less things have to be rendered all at the same time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 05:13 AM   #7
shadowmancer471
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 75
Posts: 1,263
This happened with my map. It happened when I had LOADS of vertices visible to the player in a single visleaf. It overloaded the system and caused the exact same error. It was my fault I guess, using the maximum amount of faces for every goddam curve.
shadowmancer471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 08:01 PM   #8
shadow7483147
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 15
Posts: 272
Last I remember, this was always caused by a func_precipitation that was too large, it's helped for tons of people to remove/shrink them. Maybe you can do as that guy said? (Cut the level in 2 halves)

Edit: Sorry for the bump <_>
shadow7483147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 02:27 AM   #9
michael89
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 256
Posts: 3,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Headcrab View Post
This was an error left over from the development of Half-Life 2.
Oh the irony.
michael89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 10:36 AM   #10
zombie@computer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 416
Posts: 908
can be caused by too big func_precipitation (sp?)
zombie@computer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.