Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fallout series > Fallout 3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2010, 05:09 AM   #1
Amander
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 561
Posts: 8,142
How to skip the launcher?

Sure, it's nice for video settings and game content, but after I've set everything, the launcher is just an additional useless click. Is there a way to skip the launcher?
Amander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 06:25 AM   #2
Teraku
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 121
Posts: 2,150
No, sorry.
Teraku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 06:52 AM   #3
SoulsCollective
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 48
If running FOSE the launcher is avoided. Alternatively, you could create a shortcut to just point straight to Fallout3.exe in the steamapps/common/fallout 3 goty folder
SoulsCollective is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 12:42 PM   #4
asdfzxc920
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 151
Posts: 3,302
Make a shortcut to Fallout3.exe/fose_loader.exe/fomm.exe and don't bother trying to launch normally through Steam.
asdfzxc920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 12:48 PM   #5
Kailieann
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 892
Posts: 6,350
rename fose_loader.exe/fomm.exe to FalloutLauncher.exe and launch it normally through Steam.
Kailieann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 02:39 PM   #6
asdfzxc920
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 151
Posts: 3,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kailieann View Post
rename fose_loader.exe/fomm.exe to FalloutLauncher.exe and launch it normally through Steam.
That would almost definitely give you problems. Much safer to just click that "Add non-Steam game" button and select Fallout3/fose_loader.exe that way. As long as it starts the actual game exe it'll work fine 99% of the time.
asdfzxc920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 04:13 PM   #7
waramp19
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 51
Posts: 1,053
steam > steam apps > common > fallout 3 > Fallout3.exe

make a desktop shortcut to that and you'll skip the launcher. you don't even need to be logged into steam to play the game this way either
waramp19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 05:18 PM   #8
Kailieann
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 892
Posts: 6,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdfzxc920 View Post
That would almost definitely give you problems.
If by "almost definitely" you mean "not at all", then, yes.
It works perfectly.
Kailieann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 02:42 AM   #9
Amander
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 561
Posts: 8,142
Well, I'd like to use the games list. I thought that there's maybe a launch parameter.
Amander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 12:41 PM   #10
waramp19
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 51
Posts: 1,053
maybe switch the names of "Fallout3.exe" and "FalloutLauncher.exe" ?
waramp19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 01:35 PM   #11
asdfzxc920
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 151
Posts: 3,302
Safest way is to just add FOSE/FOMM as non-Steam games. Steam support works fine as long as Fallout3.exe gets launched in the end. Just don't mess with the important stuff (actual files, the main shortcut, etc).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kailieann View Post
If by "almost definitely" you mean "not at all", then, yes.
It works perfectly.
I'm just going to stop now before we start a flamewar
asdfzxc920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:54 PM   #12
dubzilla
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
I couldn't find fose/fomm so I just switched the names of Fallout3 and FalloutLauncher.

This method works, however Fallout will not load Games for Windows LIVE if you do it. You can even click on the LIVE option in the main menu, but it'll do nothing.

This is only a minor inconvenience in cases where you already have a savegame going, or you want to log achievements.

I just wanted steam to say how many hours I've been playing... Maybe I can make a junction...
dubzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 10:27 PM   #13
derpburp
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 551
Posts: 2,243
I don't think he has fomm.
derpburp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fallout series > Fallout 3


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.