Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2010, 02:54 PM   #1
SoulDestroy
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 16
Posts: 368
Reset Time Played

Is there any method to reset the time played for Steam games without asking Steam Support? Let's just say sharing with siblings suck.
SoulDestroy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 03:00 PM   #2
λce of Spades
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 37
Posts: 249
I don't believe there's a button you could press to reset the game time anywhere. You'll have to live with it. It's just aesthetic though, it doesn't seem like that big of a deal. If you have a huge amount of game time in Team Fortress 2, there's an option to reset your in-game stats.
λce of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 03:01 PM   #3
Nekomancer
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 3002
Posts: 16,420
But that won't reset the time played stat.
Nekomancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 03:06 PM   #4
SoulDestroy
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 16
Posts: 368
Well, hey, at least I have a new idea for the Steam UI . To the The Steam 2010 UI update section!
SoulDestroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 03:14 PM   #5
SpaceShifting
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 17
Posts: 193
There are no options to modify any Steam account time logged, unfortunately.
SpaceShifting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 10:53 AM   #6
Snyphurr
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 564
Posts: 2,895
It's unfortunate, really. Can steam support reset it?
Snyphurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 11:08 AM   #7
james_2k
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 195
Posts: 3,271
so you have lots of hours played on some games.. thats a problem how?
james_2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 11:48 AM   #8
Pheace
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 909
Posts: 2,690
probably cause mom and daddy learned how to tell when he's lying about time played ^^
Pheace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 03:47 PM   #9
Snyphurr
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 564
Posts: 2,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_2k View Post
so you have lots of hours played on some games.. thats a problem how?
A preference maybe?
Snyphurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 03:52 PM   #10
SpaceShifting
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 17
Posts: 193
Unfortunately, no.
SpaceShifting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 06:34 PM   #11
HD1215
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 240
Posts: 890
Time played doesn't always work. A few games don't report the time correctly for me:

Nexus - The Jupiter Incident
Star Wars Force Unleashed
Overlord
HD1215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 06:50 PM   #12
Cronq
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 136
Posts: 583
Account sharing ftw?
Cronq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:58 PM   #13
blaze9241
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoulDestroy View Post
Is there any method to reset the time played for Steam games without asking Steam Support? Let's just say sharing with siblings suck.
i hope for this future. i hate how the games i don't play have 0.2 hours or like my tf2 i use to leave it on sometimes and I've only played about half of what it really says.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 11:48 PM   #14
Microshocky
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 2587
Posts: 1,050
Does it really matter though? People really check your game pages and check how long you've played everything and most importantly, CARE?

Not a big deal man.
Microshocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 08:56 PM   #15
QuintSakugarne
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 30
Posts: 209
I got a real use for it here.

I've played DEFCON for 1274 hours.

No, actually, I've only played it for barely more than an hour. But I had to change the date on my computer clock in order for the tutorial to work. When I changed it back...well, instead of 87 minutes played, I had 1274 hours played.

Edit: I think I may have discovered a solution. Maybe this was because I fixed the clock before the game was properly closed, so it was still open. I reopened the game, went back in time, then closed the game and readjusted the date. Now it looks right.

The solution therefore seems to be some sort of manipulating things with your computer clock.
QuintSakugarne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.