Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sid Meier's Civilization series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2010, 10:39 AM   #1
double-z
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
CIV4 manual?

Hi,

I've just bought the CIV4 complete set, does it come with a manual?

Thanks.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 04:59 PM   #2
Neon Kitten
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 17
Posts: 365
Yes - click on the "Manual" link on the game's info screen in Steam. Both Civ4 and Beyond The Sword have PDF manuals.

However, the CIV4 manual's PDF does not display properly in Acrobat 9 and is reported by Acrobat as being damaged. Any chance of a fix, Steam peoples?
Neon Kitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 11:17 AM   #3
double-z
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you for the answer. It's a shame that they don't all have an instruction manual. I am playing Warlords, and there is no indication of what is new. That's not awesome.

PDF? Well, I refuse to have Acrobat on my machine, so I won't be reading the manual. I don't want a 120 mb install, a new tooltray icon and automatic updates.

I know. It's my choice to have this stupid attitude.

I do appreciate your reply though.

Valve, how about all the games coming with a manual?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 12:57 PM   #4
AnonymousX
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2005
Reputation: 19
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by double-z View Post
Thank you for the answer. It's a shame that they don't all have an instruction manual. I am playing Warlords, and there is no indication of what is new. That's not awesome.

PDF? Well, I refuse to have Acrobat on my machine, so I won't be reading the manual. I don't want a 120 mb install, a new tooltray icon and automatic updates.

I know. It's my choice to have this stupid attitude.

I do appreciate your reply though.

Valve, how about all the games coming with a manual?
You can always try alternative lightweight PDF readers such as Foxit Reader - http://www.foxitsoftware.com/pdf/reader/

*Basic PDF reader (Foxit Reader) with basic functions is free.

Last edited by AnonymousX: 11-25-2011 at 04:33 PM.
AnonymousX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 01:42 PM   #5
Spykirby
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 935
Posts: 3,863
accually nearly all manuals at me give errors...
the only wai to open em for me is to first download em to my PC. I don't have this problem at any other site.
Spykirby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 12:21 PM   #6
geoelectric
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
The manuals for Warlords and Colonization are available on the store pages. No clue why they're not exposed through the Steam client.
geoelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 06:16 AM   #7
wexer9
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 118
Posts: 1,630
If it's reading as corrupted, you could always try downloading it from an alternative source. A quick Google search should be able to find it for you.
wexer9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sid Meier's Civilization series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.