Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fantasy Wars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2010, 03:44 PM   #1
Artki
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 8
Posts: 70
There's a demo at the pubs web site.

Under Downloads, Demo in the left column.

All I know is the title is close enough to Fantasy General that I have to give the demo a look!

----------

Huh. Many Amazon reviews call this more-or-less a newer version of Fantasy General. They say if you liked FG, you'll like FW. I liked FG a lot!

Last edited by Artki: 08-06-2010 at 03:55 PM. Reason: new info
Artki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:09 AM   #2
Steg*RTF*
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
demo's .exe flags as malware on avira for some reason
Steg*RTF* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 10:44 AM   #3
Artki
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 8
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steg*RTF* View Post
demo's .exe flags as malware on avira for some reason
Spybot doesn't find anything. Neither does Avast anti-virus.
Artki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 06:43 AM   #4
frenchy35
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 58
I bought this game a couple years ago, or whenever it was first released. It's quite good, but really tough. Also the virus should be a false positive.
frenchy35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 11:06 PM   #5
Artki
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 8
Posts: 70
I got around to installing the demo today. After installation, when you try and run the game, the first thing it does is try and install some obnoxious DRM copy protection thing called TAGES.

Harrumph.

Back to Battle for Wesnoth!

(I have no idea if TAGES is part of the STEAM full version. It appears that TAGES is part of the package when you buy FW on disc.)
Artki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 09:46 AM   #6
madmarten
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 280
Posts: 1,022
Retail version uses Tages. Steam version doesn't.
madmarten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 06:09 PM   #7
DrakenLord
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 34
Posts: 1,347
Why DRM a fracking demo, it is a promotional tool, you WANT people to copy and spread it around!

The world is run by idiots I swear.
DrakenLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 05:05 AM   #8
madmarten
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 280
Posts: 1,022
Because unprotected demo executable could help those who are trying to crack the full game.
madmarten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fantasy Wars


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.