Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2011, 06:29 PM   #1
xXTHeEddYXx
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 17
Posts: 308
How do consoles compare to PC's with Crysis?

Are they the equivalent of running the game on "high" ?
xXTHeEddYXx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 06:31 PM   #2
TimM
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 981
Posts: 1,819
A mix between low and medium I'd guess, although it is only a guess and nothing more. In fact, I'd be willing to even say, console is all low.
TimM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 06:32 PM   #3
ledbelly
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Reputation: 2812
Posts: 11,789
i believe they weren't even able to port crysis to console. they did show an area of crysis 1 on console in a tech demo for cryengine 3 though. nowhere near as good looking as it is on PC.
ledbelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 06:34 PM   #4
TimM
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 981
Posts: 1,819
Ah... I was talking about Crysis 2 myself... but Crysis... demands a heck of a lot more than the second do to all the foliage and plantlife.
TimM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 06:42 PM   #5
ledbelly
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Reputation: 2812
Posts: 11,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimM View Post
Ah... I was talking about Crysis 2 myself... but Crysis... demands a heck of a lot more than the second do to all the foliage and plantlife.
well it may be possible with cryengine 3. cryengine 2 was just too demanding for the consoles. i think perhaps memory constraints played a big part in that. you also have to consider the overall presentation. if it ends up looking lke total , then it isn't worth porting it anyway.
ledbelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 08:43 PM   #6
UberMudkipz
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 140
Posts: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by ledbelly View Post
well it may be possible with cryengine 3. cryengine 2 was just too demanding for the consoles. i think perhaps memory constraints played a big part in that. you also have to consider the overall presentation. if it ends up looking lke total , then it isn't worth porting it anyway.
I like how in the Crysis 2 interview, someone said somthing like:

"Crysis wasn't supposed to be a game based solely on graphics, but on a combanation of creative gameplay and good visuals."

But when you look back at it, Crysis wouldnt be much more than a future-type Call of Duty without its revolutinary graphics. Now with Crysis 2 going to New York style setting, it wont have the charm it will, but its a comprimise Crytek is gonna have to make to get the game on console, and in the process, losing much of its PC fanbase.
UberMudkipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 08:58 PM   #7
OmegaXtreme420
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Reputation: 279
Posts: 7,212
bc2 or crysis ? graphics wise i mean
OmegaXtreme420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 09:02 PM   #8
Haydenfoot
 
Join Date: May 2004
Reputation: 554
Posts: 5,009
OP you can ignore a lot of the negative posts here. It obviously wont look as sharp as the PC, but it's still going to look damn good. The only problems are visual popins, lower res, DX 9 effects, and lower res textures. But sitting back on the couch away from the TV is going to diminish a lot of those graphical reductions, so the game will still look fine.

I'd still recommend the PC version if your computer can handle it. Not only will it look better but think of how much better it will look after the modding community tweaks it. Vanilla Crysis looks noticeably uglier than Crysis with high-res configs and TOD mods.
Haydenfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 10:20 PM   #9
=UAL=Shock&Awe
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 188
Posts: 1,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaXtreme420 View Post
bc2 or crysis ? graphics wise i mean
Crysis > BC2 in terms of graphics.

BC2 > Crysis in terms of audio.
=UAL=Shock&Awe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 10:22 PM   #10
Teron16
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 50
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by =UAL=Shock&Awe View Post
Crysis > BC2 in terms of graphics.

BC2 > Crysis in terms of audio.
Id say even graphics wise their pretty close.
Teron16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 10:29 PM   #11
Blackops
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 1356
Posts: 4,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by =UAL=Shock&Awe View Post
Crysis > BC2 in terms of graphics.

BC2 > Crysis in terms of audio.
I was very impressed with BC2's audio. I recently just saw a demo of them working on sounds for BF3 and its rather stunning.


Consoles run Crysis pretty well. If you use a 1080p TV, the game is probably about the same as PC's high settings. Give or take a few settings, they would probably look very close.

This would be a great thing for a review website to do. Compare the games on the same size screens and see what settings on the PC make the game look as close to the console version.
Blackops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 10:46 PM   #12
PhamousVegas
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 262
Posts: 3,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackops View Post
If you use a 1080p TV, the game is probably about the same as PC's high settings.
lol Except consoles are just <720p resolutions scaled up to fit the screen.
PhamousVegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Off Topic


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.