Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Recettear

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2011, 09:06 AM   #1
goku454545
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
can't use controller

Does this game not support Logitech controllers? The game doesn't react to any input from the controller except for the d-pad on the main menu, and it doesn't respond to any input when I try to remap the buttons.
goku454545 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 07:40 PM   #2
Pierre
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 17
Posts: 53
After having the same problem with other games I had to suck it up and buy an Xbox pad. Yes, it's bad that they're the only pads to have full support but I recommend you do the same (it works fine for Recettear, btw).
Pierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 05:23 PM   #3
madmarten
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 280
Posts: 1,022
The game supports my non-360 controller, unlike most other games. No idea what's the problem.
madmarten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 05:35 PM   #4
BarryWeen
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 16
Posts: 138
Logitech F710 Wireless workin' fine here.
BarryWeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 08:09 PM   #5
jgtg32a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 24
Posts: 100
I'm guessing that only XInput is supported, and your controller is using the older standard, DirectInput.

As other have said, just suck it up and buy an xbox pad. I would also suggest getting the wireless version, because you get a standard xbox pad and a wireless dongle which can support up to 4 xbox controllers. Which is very nice for games with local multiplayer. You'll also eventually get used to the ty dpad ... more or less.
jgtg32a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 10:06 PM   #6
Zefar
 
Zefar's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Reputation: 4310
Posts: 28,121
You could always try Joy2Key or Xpadder and remap the keyboard keys to the gamepad.

For me I'm playing with a PS2 gamepad that is going through a gamepad converter.

__________________
Information on VAC and our Steam forum rules. Please follow the rules, it ain't hard.
Zefar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 08:26 AM   #7
SpaceDrake
 
SpaceDrake's Avatar
 
Capitalism Ho!
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 76
Posts: 125
goku, what brand/model/make of controller are you using, out of curiosity? We've tested a number of controllers with Recettear and they all worked perfectly, including (afaik) DirectInput controllers.

__________________
Andrew Dice, Project Director & Lead Editor, Carpe Fulgur LLC

Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale - Indie Shop Simulator/RPG from Japan. Try it today!
SpaceDrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 07:07 PM   #8
Kamiyama01
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 15
Posts: 152
I have an old Logitech Rumblepad 2 and I use the profiler software to map the buttons to the z, x, c, escape, and arrow keys to play Recettear, and it works great!

The newer Logitech Gamepads "F310", "F510", and "F710" all have a switch that changes the gamepad from X-Input mode to DirectInput mode for wider compatibility. They also include the same profiler software.

I don't want to sound like a salesman, but they are nice gamepads. I have owned my Rumblepad for almost 10 years now? (can't remember - have had it too long)
Kamiyama01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Recettear


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.